Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
63
Bastards
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 January 2016
Some tracks rather formulaic and display a certain running out of ideas. Others sensational and are amongst my Motorhead favourites - On Your Feet or On Your Knees - I am the Sword - Born To Raise Hell (an old style rocker showing Lemmy's roots). Sound quality so much better than the 70s classics but somehow the original trio can never be matched for an irresistible mix, tho there's nothing wrong with the 90s line-up either - all more than competent and fit the trademark sound. So, overall a bit hit & miss, but if you love Motorhead you'll love this ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2017
I'm 57 and have been a fan of the bold Lemmy,(RIP Big Fella) for decades, this is a belter of a album,buy it,.. good price,fast delivery, I have used this company loads of times,so you know what your getting..awright
.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2017
Decent enough album from Motorhead. Not their best , but also not their worst!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
Well, I bought this expecting a black platter in a card/paper sleave, and was utterly shocked it was the picture disc version. Awesome VFM, plays well, I'm exceedingly happy about it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2015
The titke says it all and with a minor classic in born to raise hell a damn fine motorhead album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2017
Great item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2017
Excellent service very happy customer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2011
Wow! Anybody who still thinks that Ace Of Spades was Motorhead's greatest achievement need to check this album out! The album still does what all their best albums do - loud, dirty rock n roll but this time everything has been pumped up right in your face. It sounds as though, for the first time in a long time, the 'Head have let some modern influences in on their sound. Be it thrash metal on 'Burner' or the Alice In Chains tune-down rifforama of 'Liar' and even closer 'Devils' whose venomous energy spirals magnificently as it closes the the album is great. Even the 12 bar blues songs - here represented by single 'Born To Raise Hell' and 'Bad Woman' seem to have somehow had a facelift to make them sound cutting edge. This is one of those magical albums where you go "What the f@%k was THAT??!!" Before playing it again and again. Motorhead proved they are still as deadly and relevant as ever, especially when you look at the musical landscape of the time - Metallica had gone soft and the World was waiting The Next Big Thing to come along after grunge had followed Cobain to the grave. Motorhead really could and should have stepped up and claimed it but alas, they once again failed again to make headway. Still, with the band currently doing well and finding their niche on the live circuit as legends everything worked out OK in the end! One of my favourite rock albums of all time, go buy it!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2016
Awsome album. The best Motorhead album i`ve ever heard and i just love it to bits so much, When it first came out i bought it it took it home put it on my stereo gave it a blast. From start to finish 12 tracks is an absolute killer, Playing LOUD FAST DIRTY ROCK N ROLL as Motorhead were meant to, Lemmy is great with the lyrics, growling and bass playing and Leemy is god. Excellent drumming from Mikkey Dee plus the roaring guitars from Phil Campbell and Wurzel you just can`t get a better Motorhead album than this. My favourites are I`am the sword Death or Glory Liar Burner and We Bring the shake, plus they`re all good tracks on there and not one bad one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2008
`Bastards' is Mikkey Dee's first and Würzel's last proper Motörhead album, so that's the nominal line up changes out of the way, so now for the important stuff. What exactly did Phil and Lemmy have for breakfast during the recording? Respectfully, Cider and Jack Daniels. Erm yeah. Anyway, `Bastards' is another brilliantly monikered album, somewhat of a lost classic for the band, not because the fans have forgotten it or the band just the standard record company bullpoo. Honestly, Motörhead should have been bigger than Metallica (mainly due to more quality songs, musicianship and live performances) but they had a insanely high amount of record company and managerial bullpoo to deal with instead, just typical!

`Bastards' is an album of two half's, I know all albums have two sides but this has somewhat of a clear divide in terms of musical direction. The A side is frighteningly good, the first 5 songs are just balls to the wall, be that balls to the wall speed metal or rock 'n' roll, its achingly heavy (barring the ballad `Don't Let Daddy Kiss Me' which is tender but I could be a prat and argue that lyrically it's still heavy). The second side still rocks but displays the bands more experimental side, and although less successful than the frankly stellar A side, its still rather good. The AC/DC of erm rock 'n' roll? (I was going to say metal but that's not strictly the case)...hardly. `Liar' displays a new sort of groove for the band, all mid tempo and angry! `Lost in the Ozone' is a power ballad (two ballads on a Motöralbum? It'll be MTV unplugged next!). `I'm the Man' is a weird sort of bluesy grunge that doesn't actually work, but it's the only one on the album, so we can overlook that. Oh crikey it's all experimental! But doth it rock? Aye, indeed.

Individual life affirming, hell raising and rocking tracks include. `On Your Feet Or On Your Knees' (which isn't about oral sex don't worry!) which is a riff onslaught with a nice foot stomping pace, a definite underrated Motörhead classic on a underrated Motörhead classic...bizarre that! `Burner' along with `Sacrifice' is as close to thrash metal as the band got. It's short, sharp and prickly (much like a hedgehog) with some eerie wahed guitar from Phil and one of his most unique solos. The lyrics here are particularly harrowing `I don't think you know your future yet...' well Mystic Meg does.
`Death or Glory' is the customary war themed song that has Lemmy indulging in one of his favourite past times, military history (well he's not saving the Nazi memorabilia for a rainy day or the second coming of the forth Reich). It features Würzel and Phil at their most ferocious and insane; frantic (not the Metallica song!) riff work ahoy, and Mikkey shows he's not been hired just for his uncanny resemblance to Joey from Friends. `I Am the Sword' again has some brilliant spidery riffs and Lemmy's most disturbing and vicious vocals ever. `Born to Raise Hell' again continues the theme of having loads of great songs all stuck together (which isn't actually a theme, but it feels like one). Now, if you don't like rock 'n' roll you won't like this, but this begs a bigger question...what the sweet baby Jesus were you listening to Motörhead for if you didn't like rock 'n' roll!? Did you want jazz? Eleven finger tapping? "Proto-speed-thrash-metal?"...I despair of you and if this album wasn't so good I'd take your life and mine! Anyway, `We Bring the Shake' is the best of the more experimental numbers here. It's quite reminiscent of Hawkwind, which is no bad thing. The verses have an ethereal droning quality to them which would fit just perfectly on `Space Ritual' and the chorus well rocks...I feel I need more adjectives to describe rocking. So all in all an excellent bunch of tightly crafted songs.

Production and performance wise, this is the band displaying their most aggressive tendencies which were somewhat lacking on `March or Die' (although that album is nowhere near the abomination others have made it out to be). The guitar sound is immense and everything's definitely in the red. Mikkey, as the new boy has something to prove and he does it in style. The drums on the album are killer especially in contrast to the drab and straight sounding Tommy Aldridge (who is good for Ozzy and Whitesnake but not Motorhead). Lyrically, Lemmy combines his typical rock 'n' roller themes with a more grizzly outlook on humanity and he does it with the class and flair of a man who's done it all, well by it all I mean your mum and sister (hell, he chatted up my mum when she was fourteen too...and that's all she disclosed, Jailbait?). Würzel and Phil deliver the goods once again on guitar, with some memorable moments.

`Bastards' is another masterpiece from the band who won't or more likely can't die. Ignore the negative review, the band and fans alike recognise `Bastards' as one of the bands finest and it's the best to feature Mikkey so far. Just another great album from an Englishman, Welshman, Scarecrow and a Swede.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here