Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
54
4.4 out of 5 stars
Sound Of Silver
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 21 March 2007
I liked LCD Soundsystem, aka James Murphy, before it was "cool" to like them/him. Their debut album was a superb effort and this is an "almost-as-superb-as-the-first-album" effort.

Yes, I said ALMOST.

The main "problem" I have with Sound Of Silver is that it lacks the absolute killer track that would set it apart. It's got nothing that matches the majesty of old LCD singles Losing My Edge or Yeah, or even Tribulations.

On the plus side, almost everything on the album is very good indeed. As ever it's nigh on impossible to pin down a definition of their sound from track to track, never mind over a full album.

Recent single North American Scum would perhaps best be described as punk-funk; All My Friends sounds very "New Order"; Get Innocuous channels the spirit of Talking Heads...Hell Murphy even delves into ballad territory for album closer New York I Love You.

Of course some will label the genre-hopping as desperate and will suggest that all it shows is that James Murphy has a large record collection from which to gain "inspiration." To me though, listening for the influences is as much fun in itself as listening to the record in it's own right. And if it doesn't quite match up to the visceral power of the debut, it's not far off it and is still a fantastic album in it's own right.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2007
This is one of the greatest albums of the last few years, and certainly will be the best album of 2007. It DOES live up to the amazing reviews it picked up in the press, and DOESN'T have a bad track on it. LCD are SO much more than a dance act - they are one of the bands of the moment and this is the album of the year. It doesn't disappoint on any level and if you liked the first album, you will love this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Great LP
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2009
Cheap album and better than their debut. Go buy now loads of catchy electro choonage to keep you entertain for weeks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2016
Aye!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2007
I found James Murphy's first album a complete turn-off: the studied cool, the nods and winks to oblique musical references, the 'tongue-in-cheek' lyrics. LCD Soundsystem has even been described as dance-punk nostalgia for music journalists. The in-jokery and general calculated irony seemed like cold artifice, dispassionate. The Sound of Silver is a more refined beast that finds Murphy honing his sound into something with greater permanence and sincerity, but still tops its predecessor for funk and inventiveness.

The opener, Get Innocuous, is a fantastic piece of electro house in the mold of Underworld, embellished with Bowie-esque vocal contortions. My favourite track on the album, it out-does labelmate The Juan MaClean at his own game. 'Time to Get Away' recalls the agitated white funk of Talking Heads while single 'North American Scum' is punk flavoured disco, all angular riffs and poke-in-the-eye lyrics. Both are sublimely catchy are give evidence to Murphy's growing stature as a songwriter. 'Someone Great' is hypnotic electro-pop not dissimilar to some Junior Boys or Hot Chip, but poignant in its evocation of lonely city life. 'All My Friends' builds on layered Philip Glass-style piano loops into something as epic and grandiose as classic U2 and as bittersweet as New Order. Here James Murphy sounds more impassioned and intense than ever before, roaring like Julian Casablancas over Peter Hook-esque basslines. The album's centrepiece, it finds Murphy full of regret: "you spend the first five years trying to get with the plan, and the next five years trying to be with your friends again."

'Us Vs Them' starts engagingly with its cowbells, reminiscent of the last album highlight 'Too Much Love', before outstaying its welcome at the seven minute mark. 'Watch the Tapes' opens with some abrasive in-studio sloganeering, before the call and response shouting subsides into a Velvet Underground-cum-motorik disco hyrbrid. The title track is a gorgeous drift of come-down electro in the mold of The Juan McClean's 'Dance with Me', while the Hot Chip-esque closer 'New York I Love You' is bitter-sweet poem to the city that affords Murphy a cathartic rocking-out at the climax. With more hooks and heart than its predecessor, the Sound of Silver is shaping up to be one of the best albums of the year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2007
Yes, it's true. There simply isn't a weak track on SOS. The title track alone is a seven minute wonder that elegantly morphs from ice cold melo-delicious wonder to electronic experimentation delivered with such humour/pathos and downright ingenuity you wonder how you ever survived without LCD Soundsystem. All My Friends begins with a piano riff akin to a speeding train rolling speedily downhill into a carriage full of un-lit fireworks.

This is heady, heady stuff that almost instantly achieves classic status as soon as the CD starts turning. Will it stand the test of time? Surely so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2007
Why the previous reviewer feels the need to refer to a 40 year old album is beyond me. There is no Beatles influence here, New Order, Heaven 17 maybe, to my ears anyway. This is a strong album throughout, as is their debut, both are worth purchasing. Why do some people have to compare everyting to the Beatles. Don't get me wrong I like a number of their tracks, but they are not my benchmark to everything. This is music worth listening to, unlike anything Macca has churned out in the last 30 plus years.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

American Dream
£8.99
45:33
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)