Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
680
4.7 out of 5 stars
Style Name: Heavy Duty|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2016
A useless seed feeder. I do not know how much the birds get out of it but I am fully aware of how much is spilled onto the ground as they try to feed.
So yesterday pm I fill the thing for the first time and today am there is barely a quarter remaining. The rest is on the ground where it will feed the creatures I do not want to encourage.
review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2016
Works. Feeder are a love/hate thing - some are expensive rubbish and some cheap ones work well but get decimated by Mr and Mrs O'Squirrel. These work, seem to have enough drainage, the feed flows fairly well (sunflower/sunflower heart mix) and, most importantly, my local population of birds like them. I now have five of the things and none have yet been damaged by the aforementioned vermin. They are fairly easy to dismantle and clean (just don't lose the allen key) and I'd recommend a little vaseline or vegetable oil on the threads now and again during reassembly to prevent corrosion.
My one further tip is to check prices - they were cheap and quickly delivered from this supplier but I've seen them for an extortionate amount more in garden centers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Quite a heavy substantial feeder with thicker plastic tube than some of the other feeders on offer. The metal parts are all polished die cast alloy and this gives added weight when nearly empty, making it more stable in strong winds and therefore hopefully less likely to blow off the hooks I suspend them from. The wire handle attachment is much better than others and does not pop out of its holes when you hinge the lid back like those where the hooked wire ends go straight into the wall of the plastic tube. An allen key is supplied to tighten or remove the perches when dismantling to clean, however, it does not fit the screws holding the two halves of the feeding hole castings together as one reviewer said. As usual with these feeders the manufacturers use Phillips/posidrive headed screws that are so easy to damage, especially if you screw driver is a bit worn. On all this type of feeder, I have extra so some are in use and others are drying off after cleaning, I replaced the screws with the allen socket headed type and nyloc insert nuts, with washers behind the screw head and nut. M4 X 16mm is the size that fits the orginal holes and the 3mm allen key supplied fits the replacement screw head. A 7mm socket or box spanner fits the nut, don't use the original nuts on M4 screws as the thread is a different pitch and won't fit. These small changes make such a difference to ease of maintenance and the self locking nuts stop them coming loose, it is amazing how little birds swinging on the perches can shake them loose otherwise. I did notice a few sharp flashings from the die casting process on inside edges where the birds poke their heads in to reach the seed and it is best to carefully check for and remove these before using, the metal is quite soft so even a sharp knife will do the trick.
For some reason the birds seem prefer these feeders to the other tubular seed feeders we have. They will completely clear two of these by lunchtime whilst the other two make are still a half to two thirds full in the same time period. The same preference happens every day and the sunflower seeds have come out of the same bag.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
This item is very good quality. It arrived quickly and was well packed. Hopefully it will stop the squirrels chewing the port holes which they did with a similar one in plastic.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2016
I was pleased with the feeder, but twice i have found blue tits trapped by their head in the feeder section. One was dead.
The second was flapping about on the outside of feeder with head stuck inside & i couldn't manage to release the poor bird.
So the feeders been removed & replaced with plastic ones.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 November 2016
It's a bit difficult to "love" a bird feeder but this one is definitely better than the plasticy one (that decomposed) it replaced. The only problem I had with it was that the the pigeons learned to hold on to a perch with one foot and hover while hoovering up the bird seed. Reducing the length of them solved that problem
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
When this arrived the allen key (which is for dismantling the feeder for cleaning) was jammed in the bottom of the feeder. No big deal as it would only take a few moments to dismantle the base, or so I thought. Then I discovered that the design and manufacture is very poor. Firstly, each perch should fit through the food dispenser and screw into the base. In fact the perch was jammed in the food dispenser (because the hole was not properly drilled) and the threaded hole in the base was not properly cut. Secondly, in every other bird feeder I've had the two halves of each food dispenser are secured to each other in the centre of the tube by a screw that either screws into a threaded hole or into a nut which is retained in place by a shaped recess. In this product there is just a simple nut and bolt - fine, except that with no finger room and little space for pliers it is an irritatingly fiddly job to get the nut and bolt to meet. So, half an hour with a screwdriver, socket set, file and pliers later I was ready to go! Ease of disassembly and reassembly for cleaning should be a virtue of a good quality feeder. This is very far from it.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2014
What a piece of crud this is! Half the seed ends up on the floor!
I've studied the birds feeding from it and the seeds drop out everywhere! To the extent that we now have some not so fury friends in the garden! I've had to stop feeding the birds now until the rats can be eliminated! There are far better bird feeders about, look for one with a tray at the very least then it can collect the seeds when they are dislodged.
Otherwise you too may end up with bird seed on the floor and rodents galore!
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
This product was an excellent buy because the birds just keep flocking to the feeders every day!!! I would highly recommmend this product for anyone wishing to buy feeders for their garden.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
The birds love this product which I fill with sunflower hearts, even the non-clingers can stand on the wire perches. The weak point however is the perspex holes at the bottom of the feeder which eventually split and the perches fall away. I have had to buy a new one every 6 months or so.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 19 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)