Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2007
This is a great TV show and I was really excited to find out it would be released over here on DVD. What a disappointment, not in the show itself which I must add is brilliant but in the picture and sound department.

The picture quality is shocking, the compression is some of the worst I have seen in a long time it is worse the VHS. Shame on Network and Granada for not giving this a good re-master it deserves.

I have movies and TV series that have been released on DVD which were made over 30 years ago and they look great as they have been digitally restored in all their glory so they have no excuse to release a great TV show like this in this state.

The annoying thing is the menu and open sequences have better picture quality then the main feature, truly shocking.

Overall a very great series that deserves a better release I am very disappointed with this!

someone please release a digital re-master so it can be enjoyed as it was meant to be instead of this rubbish that has had no love or attention and could have been easily transferred from some old video tape.
22 comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2007
This is defiantly from the early days, and is often over looked. It has some classic lines in it and it's graced by some great actors and guest stars. For those who aren't in the know, there are four women of very different back grounds sharing an apartment and chaos regions supreme. Jenifer Saunders (Jennifer Marsh) is on top form as ever and Dawn French (Amanda Ripley) plays her part well and provides much of the energy.

Amanda Ripley has a little problem. She's managed to find herself a flat, but there's just not as much money in being a ultra-feminist protester as there used to be. So, she's had to open up her new apartment to several sub-lets. They include Shelley DuPont , Jennifer Marsh and Candice Valentine . DuPont is an unnervingly annoying American actress who just doesn't have a clue about her craft. Marsh is a rather slow childhood friend of Ripley's and she has been taken in almost as a charity rather than out of financial need. Valentine is just a flirt who just needs a place to lay her head when its not on some strange man's pillow (needless to say this goes over well with the feminist views held by Ripley). Together they get themselves into a whole mess of trouble.

If you are reading this chances are you'll know the series (short as it was), it's not Vicar of Dibley, Ab.Fab, but worth a look! This has been long awaited and myself have ran periodic searches for these DVD's and I for one am very pleased to finally own them (especially at Amazon's prices!!!!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Great casting saves this from being just another luke warm itv comedy. Dawn French, Jennifer Saunders, Tracey Ullman, Ruby Wax and, of course, Joan Greenwood, make this ridiculous 'Young Ones' knock-off into something you will want to see again. 3 stars because of poor synching of the soundtrack, four otherwise.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2010
Hilarious, well worth watching again after all these years, but the quality is a little poor, but I think that's how it was broadcast
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
i bought this despite some of the "grumpyesque" reviews and was prepared for the worst ............

very pleasantly surprised that picture quality and sound is not half as bad as made out in some of the reviews

i usually wanna do damage to my television when confronted with poor quality dvds so have certain standards.......... but this for me was more than acceptable

in this day of HD quality and all the rest methinks some people get far too fussy

take a chance on this as it is a great prelude to all those comedians long careers in comedy
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2013
I remember Taping a few episodes of this when it was on TV .
It was my 1st experience of French and Saunders - and still has me in Stitches (13 ep on 2 Discs).
I also found Joan Greenwood (Importance of being Earnest , Father Brown , etc..) amazingly funny as a Comedy Actress , as I had only ever seen her in "Straight Acting " Roles before.
I am not a great fan of Ruby wax normally , but she is superb in this . Classic French and Saunders , with some amazing one-liners.......!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
This series from the TV back in the 90s is hilarious. The actresses are some of the funniest of their time. My favourites in this series were Ruby wax, and Jennifer Saunders who are very funny characters.
The recording is very poor quality (especially the sound) but probably due to age of the show. Well worth a watch and purchase. Very good value for some great laughs. I would recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
I had this on video many years ago, and now finally have it on DVD. It is a great colaberation of the old classics. Sends you back to the good times of the 80s. If you love things like Ab Fab then you should get this to see where that all started.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
80's classic TV series that doesn't seem to get a rerun, possibly because it was on ITV?
If you liked The Young Ones, Friday/Saturday Live, Filthy Rich & Catflap The Comic Strip, it will probably be for you?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
Great trip back to my youth, good times!! Shared with my old friends, was a great trip back to the good old days!.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)