Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2010
I bought this boxset after receiving The Essential Steve McQueen Collection (The Essential Steve McQueen Collection : Bullitt / Getaway / Cincinnati Kid / Tom Horn / Never So Few (6 Disc Box Set) [DVD]) as a gift. Whilst the Essential Collection contains arguably his more notable films, I was intrigued to find out more about the dark, mysterious actor.

Though I have seen The Great Escape and The Magnificent Seven numerous times on the TV over the years (and I'd suggest anyone who hasn't seen them to add them to their film repertoire), The Thomas Crown Affair and The Sand Pebbles eluded me. I was expecting something different from The Thomas Crown affair, but that isn't to say the film wasn't great. The interplay and subtle glances between McQueen and Dunaway are in my opinion one of the best pairings of the time.

Aside from buying into McQueen, you're buying a piece of film history and I strongly recommend this boxset.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
A fine collection of some of the best Steve McQueen films. Considered one of the finest actors in his time and his life taken far to soon, its good to see great films like this collection to remind us of a great legend.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Good DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2017
great collection of Steve Mcqueen films
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2010
steve mcqueen at his best,just a pity 'bullit' is not included ....nonetheless a great little box set,and good value for money
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2009
Sure, it might not be quite the "essential" Steve McQueen, as a couple of his biggest hits are missing (you can rectify the situation by buying the other box set with The Great Evasion, Magnificent Seven and Thomas Crown affair). What this box set does though (unlike that other, more "greatest hits" type compilation) is give a nice overview of McQueen's career by telling the story behind it. "Never So Few" sees him at the beginning of his career as the freshfaced brash scenestealer, stealing the film from under Sinatra's nose as best he can. Cincinnati Kid finds him in his prime as a cocky upstart, reflecting his status in Hollywood at the time. Bullit finds him at his most iconic, even if the film has dated badly (and the pacing is still laborious). Getaway sees him entering the autumn of his career, giving him and Peckinpah a nice comeback and showing that both still 'had it' in 1973. "Tom Horn" is a flawed but often beautiful Western that sees McQueen at the end of his career and his life, as worn out as his character in this film.

Special features are mostly limited to the excellent docs on the Bullit bonus disc. Cinicinnati kid has a short featurette from the epoch, Getaway an audio commentary by the "Peckinpah posse" and a first reel "virtual" commentary by Peck, McQueen and MacGraw, which is essentially a fancy way of cobbling together some interview soundbites (as nothing is screen specific). The trailer advertised on the Tom Horn disc couldn't be found anywhere, though. Picture and sound quality is good.

For the price this is an absolute steal. You get a set without any true clunkers and some terrific films that convey the notion of what made McQueen the "king of cool".
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
all 4 films kept my interest throughout each one, even the ones I had seen previously. the selection of

films within the box set was an excellent choice in my opinion films which most film viewers would also

find very enjoyable. the slection comprises a war film, a western, a commercial bank robbery and a

between the world wars tale of suspense. I feel this wide range of diversity showed fully

steve mcqueen's acting talent.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2010
A good cross section of his work, as a long time admirer, this is a worthwhile addition to any collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)