Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
27
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2017
This is one of the best comedies ever written. So funny at times it gives you sore sides from laughing so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 June 2008
The second season of Ideal, the best comedy from the BBC in years is here on DVD and is absolutely fantastic. Who would have guessed that a series staring Johnny Vegas playing a small time drug dealer in his Manchester flat while playing host could be so comical. The program is simple and easy to watch let still has hidden depth and meaning. Various plots and developments will keep you hooked and wanting to watch more. Ideal is unbelievably funny throughout, and a few scenes - such as Moz seriously tripping out on an overdose of magic mushrooms, will make you laugh till you choke. All of the characters are nothing less than genius. So perfectly acted, you'll begin to believe that your watching real people in their real lives. The silent Cartoon Head is my personal favorite character closely followed by Moz himself. The soundtrack is great and very fitting. You don't have to be on drugs to enjoy or appreciate Ideal as there is just something about the show that makes it very addictive to watch, and I recommend to all.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Really good serus to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Although Series 1 contains plot lines which make it essential viewing, it is Series 2 where it's as if the budget shoots up and the sombre ambience of the previous set makes way for professional, studio-quality lighting, with sparkling story lines to match. If you've watched the first series, you simply have to follow the entire tale to its conclusion, but it is this series where Graham Duff's imagination really lets fly. Put simply, herein are some of the finest moments of comedy ever to hit the TV screens, with superb performances from an outstanding cast. All this and no laughter track to ruin it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Over the last few weeks, while watching all 7 series, The roars of laughter echoing in the house where the unmistakable indication that "Dad's watching IDEAL again"

One or two episodes from series 1 where enough to get me hooked till the last episode of series 7.

If you've seen and enjoyed any of the episodes on any of the series - than don't bother with the separate boxsets, as you'll probably end up ordering all of them for more than the price of the Ideal: Complete Series 1-7 Box Set [DVD] that is now available.

Stories elegantly shift from surreal to routine to absurd and thus create fertile ground for humorous non-conventional situations, and even the more brutal / black humor scenes (all kinds of bizarre injuries and severed organs) where done in such a way that they where more amusing than repellent.

An ever expanding range of characters introduced to us include in this series Stemroach (David Bradley), the Rupanis and Carmel to name a few. It also brings a mixture of wacky costumes, make-up, CGI, props, special effects, sets and wild camera work, that all together become a hallmark of the series.

Regarding the sometimes extremely far-fetched situations - these may be difficult to accept when watching programs that take themselves very seriously, however in the case of IDEAL they simply lay the foundation for great original funny moments. It's almost as if Duff tells us not to bother with finding believable story lines and just let him take us on this cheerfully wild ride.

Extras on this boxset include the 2005 Christmas Special, deleted scenes, outtakes, Behind the Scenes featurette and commentary audio tracks on 4 out of 8 episodes , where Joanna Neary (Judith) and Ben Crompton (Colin) join Duff and Vegas.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2009
Well what can I say. I have watched the IDEAL series 1 to 4 and am still laughing from the content. The characters are amazing. The story lines are simple but spread throughout the whole characters to form an amazing web of comedy. This series was recommended to me and I was not disappointed. I cannot believe how much I laughed. I must say that this has got to be the best series I have watched in a long time. Well done Johnny Vegas spot on !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
I found out about this series purely by accident after booking Seymour Mace (one of the main characters in the programme) for a comedy gig. Ideal is one of the most innovative original comedy series I've seen in years and totally addictive. I have just finished series 3 and can't wait for the series 4 DVD to arrive. If you watch this you will definitely need to see more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2007
Ideal is ace, the writers of this comedy have obviously without doubt been stoned on many occasions, as this is the best most enticing comedy I have ever watched while being stoned, even the music is absolutely spot on, it kicks at just the right time, and drags you deeper into the program, its just quality trust me lol, if you have never watched ideal, you do not know what you have been missing its the funniest program on the bbc, and puts programs like little Britain to shame.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 November 2007
I have to say this is a funny but also depressingly accurate picture of a typical urban small time dealer. In my student days I seem to run across this kind of person and the people in the series all the time. they're all here... from the stereotypical cute girls looking for a free ride to the psycho who's done way to much and needs to be avoided. The moment I saw 'Moz' playing his PS2 and his dealer table set up I started to chuckle. Brought some old memories back and made me laugh too. Nostagic trip (no pun intended) for some of us I think. Simple Sit-Com humour for others :)

Enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
Hah.
See? There IS more to original UK comedy than Little Britain (yawn) and The (not-so) Mighty Boosh. Ideal had us hooked from the start, and the blend of slapstick and surreal humour - coupled with stoner situations we're all familiar with - make this the stand-out comedy from the entire last decade.

Added to which, Graham Duff is a really nice guy. Don't read this review - just buy the whole series on DVD!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)