Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
13
4.9 out of 5 stars
Steptoe & Son - Series Six [1970] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 3 October 2017
Enjoyed this DVD loads, brought back memories from my childhood. Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
The sixth series of the classic sitcom features the first episodes to be shown in colour as all of the episodes from series 5 and 6 were originally shot in colour but all but two episodes were lost and were therefore broadcast using black and white copies.

This sixth series features more great episodes including 'Tea for Two' where Harold and Alberts political beliefs clash once again, 'Pot Black' which sees Harold purchase a snooker table and challenges his father to a game, and 'Cuckoo in the Nest' where Harold discovers he's not the only offspring of the 'dirty old man.'
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 January 2007
So once again a DVD of that classic comedy Steptoe and Son has been released, in this case season 6.
And once again it won't be long before all the negative reviews of the quality of the black and white episodes start to come in (just look at the season 5 reviews). Everyone is entitled to their own opinion of course, but this is a view point with which I cannot understand.
These black and white episodes are the only remaining copies of missing colour versions and were themselves missing for years, and the simple fact is that I, and I'm sure the vast majority of people, would prefer B/W versions of lost colour episodes than nothing at all.
At least they are there for us to see, which is a damn sight better than most programmes from the same period, e.g Doctor Who, The Likely Lads, Hancock's Half Hour etc, etc. We must be thankful that we've got them.

As for the episodes themselves, well they are a mixed batch as you would expect, all good to brilliant. The chemistry between the two leads is outstanding, all the more remarkable considering that the two actors hated each other's guts.

It's ironic but I actually think that the B/W episodes more invoke the feel of Steptoe and Son to me than the two colour episodes on the disc. I've always felt that something is lost in the colour episodes as the yard and the house just look too clean, with B/W you don't get that feeling, it looks filthy as Steptoe and Son should.

I recommend this release, not just to Steptoe fans who will probably buy it anyway, but to the general public that like a classic comedy from a classic age of television.

Buy it now and show it to the kids and tell them that this is how great comedy was made and should be made like this today, I can assure you that they will watch, quality tells no matter how old the material is. Roll on seasons 7 & 8 and the two Christmas specials.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2007
With 8 full episodes I think this dvd is excellent value. In Robbery With Violence Albert accidentally breaks Harold's porcelain collection, frightened of the consequences he invents a violent robbery, his description of the 6 men is hilarious...one was a Pakistani, one was a skinhead, he's quite certain of this even though he says they all had stockings over their heads, also three of them called each other by name, Tom, Dick & Harry, then there's the one where Albert teaches Harold ballroom dancing so he can enter a comp with his new girlfriend, only trouble is his dad has taught him all the ladies steps, another cracking helping of vintage sitcom, the like of which we will probably never see again.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
Brilliant! British comedy at its best. Grew up laughing at the antics of this father & son rag & bone team. Why cant we make this kind of simpe gentle comedy anymore?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
Brilliant I am so happy that I can what my favorite sitcom. 5 star excellent and I high recommend this product
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
Bought this as a gift for a gentlemen who watched it on television when it first came round and he loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Excellent Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
great programme
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Classic comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)