Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 April 2017
does the job, thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Very giod except the orice increase since we purchased these last time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2009
WILL NOT WORK WITH PHONE OR BATTERY CHARGERS!

While this adapter works for most items with a standard US/European plug, it won't work in all cases - this is because of the large circular protrusion on the front, which for most large electrical items is fine e.g. TV, etc.

Note that most of these items are only rated at 1 or 2 amps (equates to 240-480W Max), so they may blow fuses if you use more current E.g. if you plug in something like a washing machine, or in my case a Nintendo Wii that was bought in Germany. (Although the wii only uses about 65W in operation it draws a large surge when you turn it on, blowing the fuse)

Most likely though you'll be using it because, like me you'll have a friend visiting from Europe, or have bought some cheap consumer electronics in the US. Here lies the problem: your friend from Europe will want to charge his/her phone or digital camera battery. However, because a phone charger is a different shape it won't fit because of the large round protrusion at the front.

There are other items on amazon with a flush front for inserting a US/European plug. These are better, and you should be able to charge your electrical devices no matter what shape the plug is.
-------------------------
TIP: my favourite adapters for US/European to UK plugs are the shaver sockets you get in Tesco/Asda for 75p approx.

Not all shaver sockets (2 socket to 3 pin plug) will do as the pins on European 2 pin plugs are spaced further apart than a UK shaver plug, and US plugs are two flat vertical prongs.

The key to identifying shaver sockets that work with European and US plugs is that the holes in the socket are "D" shaped (not round) with the flat edge of the "D"s facing towards the centre.

E.g. MSA133 Shaver adaptor - bulk

(but cheaper in tesco/asda)

As you can tell I've spent a lot of time researching this as I own several electrical items that were bought in USA and in Germany. Anyway, I hope this is of help to someone.
55 Comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
A quick call to Amazon allowed us to obtain an adapter which converted an Australian plug to an english version. It was cheap and arrived quickly. All round excellent service.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
During the last three years on several visits to Australia I have returned with several electrical items all with Australian plugs . The universal adapter means I can use all of them easily in this country. Most useful!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
Having bought a real bargain camera in Auckland airport, got home to discover battery charger had NZ plug so this very reasonable converter, delivered on time, has solved my problem and the camera remains a bargain.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
when the item arrived had brought a camera with charger which needed adapting to UK when the adapter arrived found that the plug did not fit correctly so was us have tried to contact the seller but no reply
bad fit would not recomend
after contacting the seller gave full refund as could not explain why it did not fit as no feedback from supplier
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
States it's WORLDWIDE, it's not. Bought this for a USA plug, and it doesn't fit. Only fits EU plugs. Spend ya money on another plug. Unless you want a EU. If you want a USA one, look away
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I bought this to fit an Australian input plug, but it doesn't fit it at all. The input pins are too small. Not sure if it works for the other countries listed.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 October 2013
My mother has language students from all over the world and this is the only type of adapter that fits all the demands. Usually they bring something only capable of powering an electric toothbrush or shaver and girls immediately blow the fuse with a hairdryer.
I must confess that I have replaced most of the two amp fuses with five amp substitutes as laptops and hairdryers prefer a heavier fuse. and as such they are maintenance and trouble free as long as the voltage is of no consideration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)