Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
66
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2006
...it's great; best western movies ever, from director Sam Peckinpah in one box. Includes: 2 Disc Special Editions of "The Wild Bunch" and "Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid"( which has two versions) and single disc editions of "The Ballad of Cable Hogue" and "Ride the High Country." Box set is filled with good extras ( such as documentaries, featurettes, trailers and audio commentaries for each movie); there is something on each disc to explore. Buy!!!!
11 comment| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2006
Wow this is a great price for some of the best Westerns made, Sam Peckinpah was a geat Director & this Boxset is Proof of that, Ride The High Country is 1 of the best Old Westerns with 2 great turns form Scott & McCrea. The Wild Bunch, so much as been said about film dont know what to say, just the BEST Western ever! The Ballard Of Cable Hogue is lovely little unseen {shame} film with a nice little turn from Jason Robards and a change of mood for Peckinpah. Pat Garrett And Billy The Kid is James Coburns best film & a real Gem for fans, with the 2 versions of the film, the new 1 with the missing Garrett/wife home scene & a few cuts here & there, Im still very glad that you have the Turner Preview as well, i think its just a little better. All in all NO Western fan should be without this Set

Sam
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2007
I first saw this western on the TV several years ago and since then I have been trying to find a copy. It's a slighty off beat western with both humour and pathos. The song "Butterfly Morning" sung by Stella Stevens and Jason Robards togeter with the film images that accompany it can only be described as beautiful.

Jason Robards performace is outstanding portraying the character with both charm and honesty, Stella Stevens is bewitching as the whore with a heart, David Hemmings as the randy preacher is superb. In fact all the casting is outstanding.

Buy it and I'm sure like me you'll watch it over and over again.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 January 2009
Although Cross of Iron is my favourite Peckinpah movie none of these disappoint. From Ride the High Country through to Pat Garrett and Bily the Kid Peckinpah stamps his own distinctive mark on the western genre.

The themes that runs through Ride the High Country are present in The Wild Bunch and for that matter in Bring me the head of Alfredo Garcia as well. Take the classic wedding sequence in RTHC. Elsa has runaway to spite her father and commits to marrying Billy Hammond. Hammond it turns out is one five brothers who are borderline nutcases, reminding me vaguely of a 'Hills have Eyes' like group. So a squalid group of brothers whose attitude to women is, well, backward. Elsa is torn between backing out of the wedding, because she realises the nature of the men, but she is either too scared or still wants to spite her father. This theme of squalidness is ever an present theme in Peckinpahs movies. Fortunately for Elsa there is another way out.

The Wild Bunch takes another theme used in RTHK; that of aging cowboys who want to make one last stand for what they believe to be right in the dying west. There are some marvellous set pieces in this film, noteably two epic gunfights. The boxed set has two editions of the film, both of which attempt to restore the film to Peckinpah's original vision. This is a film which improves with every viewing.

Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid and The Ballad of Cable Hogue are both quality films as well. Only time prevents me from writing another couple of paragraphs on these as well.

Overall a great boxed set, with many interesting extras as well.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2007
Directed by Sam Peckinpah, The Ballad of Cable Hogue is a brilliant little gem of a movie that somehow never made it onto the national radar screen when it was released. A major departure for Peckinpah, whose forte back then was the ultra violent epic-movies like The Wild Bunch and the highly acclaimed Straw Dogs-The Ballad of Cable Hoague tells the tail of a fellow abandoned for dead out in the western desert who is lucky enough to find the equivalent of an oasis and converts the spot into a way station for the pony express and the stage coach runs of the time. Wonderfully acted by Robards as Hoague and Stella Stevens as the nearby town's "working girl" as his romantic interest, the story is in essence a depiction of western life and the characters of the time.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMEon 27 October 2002
I was pleased when The Ballad of Cable Hogue was reissued, having only read about in it in If They Move Kill 'Em & John Cale's song Cable Hogue. As with some Peckinpah films (most notably Bring Me the Head of Alfredo Garcia) it has been rarely shown on TV and had been impossible to locate on VHS.
It is quite odd and comic compared to Pecknipah's more famous The Wild Bunch and certainly has an oddball, abusurd element that featured to a lesser degree in Pat Garrett & Billy the Kid. Jason Robards is excellent in the lead role, his grizzled Cable Hogue not unrelated to the character he portrayed in Sergio Leone's Once Upon a Time in the West (something to do with death?). It is quite odd and almost Beckettian in parts, while there are homoerotic elements unusual to the Western genre. It does feel of it's time, largely to the split-screen shots- which are very of its time and place it next to films like The Thomas Crown Affair, Head, Valley of the Dolls & The Boston Strangler.
Great that this is available again, and at budget price- this film is well placed in Peckinpah's genre and has a lot more emotional feeling than later films (such as the over-rated Straw Dogs or the messy Osterman Weekend). A curio maybe, but a film that aids the critical reassessment of Peckinpah's oeuvre.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
I originally wanted "The Ballad of Cable Hogue", which I knew was a very good film, in spite of being directed by Peckinpah - a man who traded on violence to sell his pictures - didn't he? However, the only version of Hogue available cost more than the price of this set, so I went for the set, anticipating giving most of it away. After all, "Ride the High Country" was just a vehicle for those ageing '50s diehards Scott and McCrae to retire on, "Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid" I'd seen on telly and it was a mess, and "The Wild Bunch" was just gratuitous violence - everyone knew that - moreover, I'd seen that on telly too and it was also a disjointed mess. Still, before giving them away, I thought I'd watch the DVD versions of these films - after all, I'd paid for them.

I'll start with "The Wild Bunch" - what a revelation! This is a great movie! The TV version had obviously been cut mercilessly and the Director's Cut on DVD is simply completely different. An excellent cast makes light work of an intelligent, exciting, and interesting plot set mostly in the Mexico of 1911 during the early days of Pancho Villa's revolt. Fair enough, it's violent, but then so were the times! However, the main things you come away with in this movie are an empathy with the main characters, developed with great skill by the director, and an understanding that the ending is absolutely right and inevitable. "Ride the High Country" has all the strengths of "The Wild Bunch" but is less dramatic, less violent, and more of a complex morality tale. The veteran actors are handled securely by the young director, producing a movie which most will remember with great fondness and want to see again. "Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid" was butchered by the producer for release, and if shows on the TV version. On this DVD set, the first attempt at a reconstruction is provided, together with a much later version that is claimed to be more complete. Believe me, it makes a world of difference, I don't think I will ever watch a movie on TV again! Again, this is a great film, treating a difficult subject with great understanding and compassion. And I've still got "The Ballad of Cable Hogue" to look forward to!

In summary, this set is worth it for the Director's cut of "The Wild Bunch" alone! When you consider you are getting three other fine movies, lots of excellent documentary material, plus an extra version of one of the movies, it's a steal! What are you waiting for, order it today!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2009
Audio, Subtitles and Ratio information for 4 movies in this box-set;

----------
----------

Ride The High Country;

Audio: English Dolby Digital 1.0 Mono
Subtitles: English and English HoH
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

----------

Pat Garrett & Billy the Kid;

Audio: English Dolby Digital 1.0 Mono
Subtitles: English and English HoH
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

----------

The Wild Bunch;

Audio: English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English and English HoH
Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

----------

The Ballad of Cable Hogue;

Audio: English Dolby Digital 1.0 Mono, French Dolby Digital 1.0 Mono ,Italian Dolby Digital 1.0 Mono
Subtitles: English, Arabic, French, Bulgarian, Dutch, Italian, English HoH and Italian HoH
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2001
A superb comic western with Robards giving a fine performance. Peckinpah is in lighter mood than usual though his themes of death in the west and a yearning for a simpler way of life are still present. Ignore the dodgy use of the split screen in the first few minutes and you have a touching, imaginative piece of work that you'll want to watch again and again.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2010
A bargain set to help you fill out your Peckinpah collection, which reveals the director's unsurpassed handling of the western genre, but also, in the case of "Pat Garrett..." reveals the studio's mistrust of his wayward talent. This box-within-a-box containing both the 1980's Turner restoration of the film, which was butchered by the studio when it was first released, and also a slightly longer anniversary reconstruction, is worth watching back to back so you can appreciate the differences in the 2 versions. The Turner version makes a complete shambles of the sequence at the lakeside where a shot Slim Pickens sits in the dusk with his wife Katy Jurado - the "Knocking on Heaven's Door" song on Bob Dylan's soundtrack is missing. But the anniversary version also omits material. What we still await is a definitive cut incorporating what Peckinpah shot. Others of course may argue that he was undisciplined and not the best judge of how to handle his own material.
"The Wild Bunch" special edition is a clean restoration in full wide screen, the less well known "Ride the Wild Country" is perhaps the weakest of the set though with some splendid moments, and "Cable Hogue" is glorious, a career high for Jason Robards Jr. Recommended.
Chris Gwilliam
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)