Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
63
3.6 out of 5 stars
Silverline 224516 Wire Wheel, 150 mm
Size: 150 x 20 mm|Change
Price:£5.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 29 October 2017
As described by others the wheel is a bit wide for replacing a carborundum wheel, although my grinder has just about enough room. The diameters of the spacer kit are in inches rather than millimetres, so a lot of metric spindles will be the wrong size. You can't really trim the 1/2 inch spacer to 16mm and remain safe as the wheel will be unbalanced. I was lucky in that the old carborundum wheel had spacers of the right size. I would emphasise that the fact that the wires touch the sides of the grinder housing means they will shed occasionally. and being radial in construction are ideal for lancing your eye, so do not under any circumstances omit eye protection. The plastic guards that should be mounted on your grinder are also needed, and not as an alternative. The wires are fairly hard, so brass, aluminium and copper will be abraded. I'd advise use only on steel and iron, do not exceed the rotational speed limit and stand a bit to one side. This, as they say, is not a toy, though to be fair there are many products which if mis-used, worn or unbalanced can be dangerous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
Needs a good bit of spacing so that all the brush clears the tool rest....seems to hold together well and is capable of cleaning off heavy paint layers or rust although far to harsh for just regular polish finish where you would need something far less abrasive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
Good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
The problem is that the wires were too spread out at the outer diameter of the wheel. I had to do a lot of trimming so that the wheel would run correctly in the grinder. I know that wire wheels will spread over time, this is not my first however, this one was spread too far to run before I'd even used it. The balancing is not too great, even before I'd trimmed it. I guess that it's an OK budget model.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2017
Very good wire-brush.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Excellent transaction but was suggested with the bench grinder but did not fit
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Wheel is fine, scrapes in the Silverline machine a bit. Oh and the plastic hubs x6 for different spindle sizes are awful. Really could do with being metal or nylon at least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
first class for the price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
Great value.Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)