Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
60
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2016
Still one of the classics. Beautifully crafted, without sex or bad language. The tale is driven by script and a pair of veteran actors.

It is 1972 and the Smalleys have stayed in India 25 years after independence but still think about England as they last saw it before the war. Lost in time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2017
Appropriate for the current 70yr partition (mis)remembrance-fest.
Great performances & location
And a touching story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
A number of the reviewers here appear to have missed the point - or, at least, based their negative reviews upon preconceptions of what they wanted 'Staying On' to be. Written after the Raj Quartet, the novel is not a sequel, and indeed, tonally has a very different feel. The TV film was, however, made and broadcast before 'The Jewel in the Crown', as a kind of dry-run, testing the waters for what was going to be one of the UK's most ambitious TV series. As an adaptation, the film is remarkably faithful in both tone and plot. Yes, I would have preferred it if the performances of a couple of the Indian actors had been turned down a notch, however the tonal shifts between the different worlds works very well. But the heart of the book and film lies in the relationship between the Smalleys - Celia Johnson and Trevor Howard. Rarely have I seen a portrait of love (refracted through pain and bitterness developed over decades) portrayed as well. It has made me cry both times that I have watched it. And for anyone who knows and loves 'Brief Encounter' the pathos of seeing that film's leads reunited 35 years on - and imagining how their relationship might have developed - the pathos is almost unbearable. Shot on location in Shimla, the film of course looks great. The image quality is not what you'd expect of a feature film, however, as like much of TV of the time, it was shot on 16mm film.
11 Comment| 111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Scenery was spectacular, Trevor Howard & Celia Johnson were superb. In fact, all actors deserved much credit. Having worked & lived overseas as an expatriate in the 80's & 90's, many parts of this warm tale I can relate to. Thoroughly enjoyable throughout.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
I had read 'Staying On' by Paul Scott, which was the last book he wrote before he died. Paul Scott twice won the Booker Prize and is best known for 'The Raj Quartets.'
The film explores the problems of an elderly couple 'staying on' after the days of the Raj, when English customs are taken over by elite Indians.
The film is wonderful, poignant and the scenery is stunning. The storyline touched my heart.
The choice of 'Brief Encounter's' Celia Johnston and Trevor Howard as Tusker were inspired.
I know I will watch this film again and even though a film can never express the internal monologue in a book it is still one of the best and closest adaptions of a story I have seen. The fact that it was 'made for television' illustrates how mediocre current programmes are by comparison.
Please do watch it, I really appreciate it and I am sure others will too.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
My wife thoroughly enjoyed the dvd!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
It's a great shame that so many reviewers did not find this a production for them. Perhaps it's a matter of taste. Perhaps some expected a production closer to the magnificance of Jewel in the Crown. For us it was excellent and something to keep and watch probably several times again over the years. It's very sad, but not morbid, and the performance throughout of Celia Johnson in particular is something that stays with us long after seeing it. It's not five star in every respect - occasionally, reflecting its age, the production slips from film mode into stage mode, and of course 16mm film is adequate rather than brilliant. But such flaws detract very little indeed from a deep and moving story, excellently told.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
A sad story and a happy story all wrapped into one. The detail is true and the filming sublime for one who has spent time in India. Oh, and the acting is superb.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
Rating chosen as I totally enjoyed the DVD and could relate to the lives lead by the couple having known English men and women
who chose to remain in India after Independence.
I would highly recommend it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2012
I had seen this years ago on television. Although now it does seem old the story is good, setting superb and to see Trevor Howard and Celia Johnson acting together again after so many years was great. The story is about a couple who stayed on in India after the departure of the Raj. She would have liked to return to India but stayed on because it was what her husband wanted. It's slow but has lots of charm.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)