Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
56
3.3 out of 5 stars
Pulse [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 April 2017
Great hd quality
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
10 out of 10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
original and a great horror the best of the pulse series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
I just recently found out that this film is a remake (as a German, when I come to two realizations, namely: 1) the english speaking world's inability to dub movies and 2) the fact that they have so much money lying around that they simply decide to make a full english sequel instead, I know I dont want to live on this planet anymore, but that is a whole different issue. ANYWAY)

I came across this movie almost on happenstance, as it had just begun on tv, and thus, missed nothing. When the movie ended, I was deeply impressed. Let me explain my impressions:

I knew from the beginning that this was going to be a horror movie of some sorts, and so, was initially disappointed when it focussed too much on the concept of the modern world's increasing dependancy on communication devices, whether it be computers, tablets, mobile phones or what have you, and the one thing that connects them all, the internet. The cinematography was also quite depressing, with much of the movie almost shot in greyscale and a bleak environmental palette, run-down and shabby apartments, etc. Couple that with the mysterious suicides and a touch of an undead virus like thing and my disappointment turned to curiosity.

Soon, I was completely hooked. The film very slowly and very carefully builds up a really otherworldly atmosphere - this isn't a movie about aliens, zombies, elves or whatever product of fantasy-land may come to your mind - no, you find yourself looking almost at a mirror of the real world. And yet, it is so otherworldly, almost like you are looking into a parallel dimension where everything is so bleak and greyscale....I found this type of cinematography fascinating and it is probably the best part of the whole film.

As the film progresses, I began to feel as if whatever color was left was drained away more and more - just like the will to live is drained away from the protagonists by the creatures that have been unleashed. I also found the concept of these foes unleashed through the communication network and how suddenly this makes us very, very, very vulnerable in a city, to be very frightening.

The film gets better and better as it progresses, at one point even bringing about a post-apocalyptic cityscape and a desperate race to the heart of darkness to destroy the foe...but the ending "aka Plan B", somehow makes the previous efforts of our heroes questionable at the end of the day, because it is left in the dark whether they were fruitful or not, and I think they could have gone with Plan B from the beginning itself.

The film throws up many questions at the confusing ending, but overall, I would definitely recommend it for people who like depressing atmospheres and suspense and want to watch something strangely familiar, yet otherworldly at the same time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2008
I bought this film a few months ago and can recommend it, good story to a technical film, it kinda puts you off using a computer lol, the special affects are quite cool and the acting not bad considering its people probably no one has heard of, worth a watch.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
I personally found this an excellent movie.

All the acting was up to the task without being exceptional. The story, while rather linear, was interesting enough to keep everything going, and I personally found the ending quite satisfying.

I'll fill in the gap in my knowledge by watching the original soon enough, but this IS a good movie.

It proves that horror does not merely have to need to have lots of gore, but can rely on an interesting premise. Guillermo del Toro (bet I spelt that wrong) does the interesting premise beautifully; Clive Barker movies can do both.

Well worth a watch.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2007
This is a creepy thriller/horror that tells the tale of how the internet (something we use to connect us to each other) ended up connecting us to other forces. It doesn't seems to become clear while watching the movie just what these forces are but they suck the life out of people leaving them with no will to survive, stripping them of their soul almost.

Eventually people who fall prey to these forces start killing themselves and there becomes a kind of hysteria in the town and people think it may be some kind of suicide chain. Mattie (Kristen Bell) witnesses her boyfriend go through these changes and then kill himself. His computer is sold and after receiving emails from her dead boyfriend she tracks the new owner of the computer down which brings her to Dex (Ian Somerhalder).

The pair become the main characters of the film while the others are picked off one by one by these forces which appear as ghost-like powerful visions. This means quite a few jumpy/tense moments with some rather good scenes. It's almost like a horror but more of a creepy thriller.

The film is filmed through a kind of blue filter and the buildings and scenery is very dark and hard. The acting isn't too bad here from all characters but there is nothing majorly special.

If you like horror-style movies without gore and lots of shocks then you'll probably enjoy this film. It only made me jump maybe a couple of times and I do scare quite easily. Personally it went on a little too long and didn't have a great ending, it kind of dissapointed and looked all set up for a sequel. I'd give it a 3/5.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
I almost avoided this picture due to all the negative reviews but I found it to be a stylish, creepy and well crafted horror based on an interesting premise. Perhaps not seeing the original first made a difference but I liked it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2013
PULSE is the Hollywood remake of the Japanese horror film, KAIRO, and is relatively faithful to the source material. (The original was shot after RINGU but before JU-ON: THE GRUDGE, although here there is an absence of crawling, long-haired ghosts!)

The plot is relatively simple. Research into the use of super-wide band communications frequencies has allowed dead monstrosities to enter our world through electronic devices such as cell-phones and computers. Their desire is to regain what they have lost - life! Contact with these creatures turns ordinary people into lifeless shells who, over time, are reduced to piles of ashes. Beforehand victims suffer excruciating pain as bruises appear on their bodies and many turn to suicide to end their agony. Nobody is safe and as the terrible phenomenon spreads rapidly around the globe, travelling on the airwaves, society deteriorates and order collapses.

Although by no means a bad film, the problem with PULSE is that it offers nothing new to the horror genre and is pretty standard fare. Influences seem to have come from other works including THE DAY OF THE TRIFFIDS (especially the bleak ending!), THE INVASION OF THE BODYSNATCHERS and the more recent Michael Keaton film on a similar subject, WHITE NOISE.

To the film's credit, the (mainly) young cast do well and the special effects are very good, even if not unique. There are a couple of jump-out-of-your-seat moments, too, and the film is entertaining - just do not expect it to revolutionise the celluloid horror scene.

Special Features on the disc include the original theatrical trailer plus a documentary with the Director, special makeup effects designer and two producers. There are also three short but interesting featurettes and numerous deleted scenes as well as an alternate ending, all of which add nicely to the overall viewing experience.

To sum up, PULSE may not be an essential purchase but at least it proves that not every Hollywood remake is a complete disaster if handled correctly!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
Never heard of this film before I saw it in my local DVD store, but was interested by the synopsis on the back. Its basically your regular horror movie at first, with the twist being the ghosts get you through electronic gadgetry (mobile phones, laptops etc). But half-way through turns into a completely different film, instead of generic killing the cast of one by one, it morphs into an apocalyptic film and much better for it. I started off being bored and wondering why I had wasted £12 but ended up at the end of the movie utterly thrilled.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)