Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
39
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2010
I bought this box set solely for Please Turn Over which has the delectable Julia Lockwood as the lead. Truth be told, it's more of a Ted Ray film (who is very funny when drunk) but I would regard it as an ensemble piece. Everyone gets to play two characters and June Jago (why wasn't she in more Carry Ons?) is quite touching in it. It's become one of my favourite films.

As a brief guide: PLEASE TURN OVER is about a young girl who writes a book which suspiciously resembles her family. Leslie is a doctor in this who is a friend of the family.

NO KIDDING has Leslie and Geraldine McEwan setting up a holiday home for rich and jet-setting parents who seem to neglect their children

CROOKS ANNOYMOUS is about a group of roguish theives decide to go straight but resist the temptation to do so (with guest appearances from Arthur Askey and Hugh Paddick).

WATCH YOUR STERN has Leslie as an officer on a ship and could be seen as a film version of The Navy Lark.

These fims are great. You see so many regular faces (esp. Cyril Chamberlain and Marianne Stone) that it suggests that the film acting profession was like one big family at the time. I will say this: the box provides evidence that Leslie (or "Lovable Leslie" as he called himself in The Navy Lark) was not just the suave rakish cad he is portrayed nowadays.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Very enjoyable ,loved the films very clear voice "well pleased 😎
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
good collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Seem to be old 'B' type movies from around the same era. Leslie Phillips watchable as always, but not his best films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This just has to be one of the best ever 1950-1960's set of full length comic films.
All four are just outstanding proper comedy.
The best ?
Well all of them but if pushed Watch Your Stern is great!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2007
One unbeatable collection of early sixties black and white comedy feature films!

Leslie Phillips is augmented here with an excellent cast of familiar comedy actors and actresses from the era of fast direction and splendid close-up type of films.

Joan Hickson and Esma Cannon (A treasure) feature here in "No Kidding" an exceptional film, where the Adult actors here excel, especially Esma as the district nurse! Credit to underused June Jago as a prim Matron who battles with the inebriated cook (Joan Hickson).

Early sixties Pop hearthrob Mike Sarne ("Come Outside")has a cameo role here too.

Truly an awsome collection of long forgotten crisp comedy classics!

Excellent value that will keep the whole family entertained on a rainy Sunday afternoon.
0Comment| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
We've always loved the old black and white comedies starring Leslie Phillips, Alastair Sim etc. so when I saw this at a good price I couldn't resist the four films of gentle humour/farce that you can while a winter.afternoon away with. From 'Watch your stern' with its echoes of or precursor to the Carry On films through 'Crooks Anonymous' , 'No Kidding' and finally to 'Please Turn Over' which has possibly a bit more social comment than the others, these are enjoyable films that can be watched again. Leslie Phillips gentle humour draws you in and instantly makes you feel cosy for a couple of hours. A brilliant buy for any Phillips fan and sent quickly as usual. Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2010
Classic British Comedy with a great leading actor. Some super films with great supporting cast around Leslie Phillips. His characters are always great and I chuckle and laugh my way through all of these....a great Sunday afternoon with a cup of tea and a packet of biscuit!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
Leslie Phillips is one of my favourite actors. This collection is superb. My favourite film in this set has to be Crooks Anonymous. It's Leslie Phillips at his best. Playing a master safe breaker & opportunist thief he is placed by his girlfriend into the crooks anonymous organisation as she's fed up with his stealing. Great performances also from Stanley Baxter, Julie Christie & Wilfred Hyde White make this one of the true classics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)