Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 16 May 2017
Love the film and love the soundtrack, nice to have all the songs, best version!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
enjoyed movie !!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
Great album....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Great the remix amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 February 2007
Dreamgirls is a fictional story of a 60s/early 70s girl group, based very loosely on The Supremes.

Dreamgirls was a show on Broadway in the early 80s, which was very successful. It took another 25 years for them to make it into a film. The music is a mixture of 60s sweet soul and Broadway razzle dazzle, brought up to date with modern arrangements. It all really works for me.

Highlights are anything Jennifer Hudson sings, especially "And I'm Telling You I'm Not Going", a desperate and heart rending plea from someone about to lose everything. Her namesake Jennifer Holliday closed the first act with it on Broadway, and brought the house down every night for hundreds of performances. Ms Hudson is up to the challenge and richly deserves the praise the critics are lavishing upon her.

Beyonce also gives some top vocal performances. If she gets topped by Jennifer, that is what the story calls for. Who knew Eddie Murphy could sing? He's not half bad you know. Jamie Foxx is great here too.

As well as the songs The group and various solos sing, music is used to advance the narrative in places, with the characters singing to each other like an R&B opera! Those sequences are mostly on the CDs too.

Some critics have said that there is too much music in the film. I just don't get that. It is like saying that there is too much chocolate and ice cream in a choc ice

This deluxe 2 disc version is 110 minutes long and has some dance remixes, including a six minute version of "...Telling....". There is a 36 page insert with all the lyrics, and some great photos.

For anybody really into Dreamgirls, the recording of the music by the original Broadway cast is available on CD. Also there is a double CD called 'Dreamgirls In Concert', a recording of a charity revival of the show from 2002. That one has the music and all the dialogue from the show, most of which ended up in the film.

This disc is dead centre me, and I'll be playing it for a long time. Expect a bright future for Jennifer Hudson.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2007
Well, I have seen the movie and thought it was fantastic! The Actors and Singers are amazing. The Songs are brilliant and very catchy. I never thought i would like this kind of music but it was great, so i highly recommend the film and soundtrack as they are both great!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2001
There is a lot of argument whether this is the story of the Supreme's. I do not actually care it is a worthy musical in its own right without this supposed complication. However for many track 8 will settle the deal. The monumemtal voice of Jennifer Holiday forces home the real meaning of this song and will leave many in awe. Just where does she get the air from.
As for the rest of the album a good collection of pop/soul show music in its finest, also including a further show stopper from Ms Holiday (track 11).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2007
Wow! What a soundtrack! The music perfectly captures a mixture of the old and the new, on the one hand is the soul sounds of the 60's and then on the other hand, there's Jennifer Hudson and Beyonce's massive voices which hold a contemporary tune perfectly!

Some powerful numbers in here; if you had a tear in your eye when Hudson belted out 'And I Am Telling You I'm Not Going', chances are you will again listening to it!

Turn it up loud to hear the amazing arrangement; the bass is ridiculously good. And those percussions! So exciting!

Excellent, moving, catchy soundtrack which will no be leaving my computer for the next few weeks!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2009
If you loves 60's Music, if you love a good time, if you appreciate good music... and the voices of both Beyonce Knowles and Jennifer Hudson then this album is for you. Its different, hippy and makes you want to jump out of your seat and dance. There is nothing introductory about Jennifer in this album or movie... from the day she opened her mouth and sang her first note she was labled a DIVA! Her amazing voice sings out to anyone who just loves music or loves to dance. "I love you I do", "Move" and "I am changing" are fantastic songs. An unusual part for Eddie Murphy having never heard him sing before, but I was very pleasantly surprised; supporting vocals from Keith Robinson, Jamie Foxx shows that the girls are fully supported and balanced by a male infulence making this a very diverse album. In a word "Brilliant"!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2006
Got this while on honeymoon in New York ...from the long awaited film....OMG wow!! Tho loosely based on The story of The Supremes ..this is awesome....LOVE IT!! Jen Hudson nails it as Effie and I am telling You i am Not going and her solo of One Night only are to die for.

also includes a wicked dance version of One Night only AND 'curtain call' mmmmmmmmm :) Can't wait for this to open in the UK.

Rick giantos is also working on a Dreamgirls dance project featuring dance versions of the songs featured here including former 70's Supreme Scherrie Payne amongst others which the samples on his website sound just as wicked.BUY IT!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)