Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2008
In a layman's term, this D-SLR camera is almost identical (in term of features and picture quality) to any other Nikon Mid/professional D-SLR camera so I am not sure why Nikons are selling them so cheap - i am baffled! Unbelivebly, it's under £300.00 pounds and you can also claim £40.00 pounds cash back directly from Nikon.

The other most important thing about this camera is that you can upgrade to an enhanced newer Nikkor AF lens later when your ready. so it's future proof by default.

The camera kit does not contain SD card so you'll need to buy one prior to receiving the camera. just get a 2GB SD from ebay or amazon for £5 (correct on Aug 2008). Also don't worry about SDHC as this camera uses an internal memory buffer to store the images before presisting it on the SD card. i managed 2.6 pics per/sec with continuous shooting.

The flash sync system used in this camera is same the pro Nikon (£1500 >) DSLR camera.

The battery seems to lasts for ever. well literally. i think it's like 700 pics but i've been using for nearly 3 weeks and the charge is still full.

good luck.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
First slr in my life.Appeared to be really great,easy to use, intuitive even without reading manual. Good quality pictures and low price.Delivery was pretty quick too.Strongly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Great camera for the price, use it in my work as an Architectural Building Surveyor

Keith Jenkinson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2009
Does all what you may want as a beginner to strart practicing with reflex features. One of the few camera having flash sync 1/500 (other usually 1/250): it means you can take a picture of somebody with the sun behind the subject using a flash up to that speed (with lower flash sync you would have either a burn background or a dark subject). Lowest ISO is 200, but it has to do with the size of the sensor. It does not give any problems of noise (the loss of fine detail you can see in low light pics without flash where you have to increase the ISO to avoid blurry images). The 6.1 Mpixel... it is true that usual people seldom print on very large size (so they don't need much more than 6.1M), but if you like cropping a lot be carefull that they could not be enought! You cannot use the flash of the d40 as a master unless you buy As I think that the most important feature to take good pictures is the photographer and then the lens, I preferred to save money on the body to get a better lens than the opposite.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Quality camera, now sold and upgraded to the latest version, well worth buying if you are a beginner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2006
I recently purchased a Nikon D40 in Hong kong for over £[...] less than the current Amazon price, and have been very pleased with the product. This is is my first Digital SLR and I have found if I could remember all 50 pages of the manual that I'm sure it could do most of the things I require.

Like a moden SLR it has a very good 'point and shoot' setting which will do to get you started and once you get the hang of it it is capabale of doing almost anyting you can do with a SLR set to fully manual

I would recomend the product, just shop around for the best price
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2016
I am very pleased with my purchase except the camera lacked a body shield and the lens a rear cap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2009
I also got 2 years warranty and 3 years accidental damage coverage for 50 pounds.
Satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2017
Magic piece of kit. Photo's come out perfect, the camera making it hard to make mistakes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
a very great camera at the right price for my daughters photography course
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)