Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
73
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2014
I first watched this film about 20 years ago and it was great, a real contrast of gangsters the first half of the film, then, enter Mick Jagger and hippies the second half of the film. I did have to watch it a couple of times back then to understand Turner's Demons, but overall it's well worth watching. A cult film
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Weird film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Very good film, sound quality of original film would be better if made now,but very good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Please be aware the above rating is for the Blu Ray release and NOT the film itself!

I was really excited when I saw this was available on Blu Ray and immediately ordered it. Imagine my disappointment when I discovered that Warners have used the US master that features some truly awful dubbing that completely wrecks the early part of the movie.

The UK DVD had the correct audio track that kept Johnny Shannons', John Bindons' and Stanley Meadows' proper voices. This Blu Ray does not and its painfully obvious. Even more curiously, in a later scene in the bedroom of Harry Flowers (Shannons' character) it appears to revert back to the correct audio!

This is a big disappointment as the picture and sound are both very good on this release and of course the film is one that if you're a fan of classic British movies you have to see. Its certainly a film that divides opinion, eliciting either gushing praise or downright hatred depending on who you speak to. Personally I love it because it challenges you with every viewing.

I would advise, however, that you read up on the movie first. There are so many subliminal references and flash frames hidden in the film that coming to it cold is not recommended.

Of course, you may still find it pretentious and too pleased with its own cleverness or you will relish the unconventional nature and strange atmosphere that pervades the entire movie, right down to the head-scratching ending. Make sure you get the right version though.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2007
Well I am delighted to say that this version is a DVD master from the 2005 BFI print of the movie with all the original cast dialogue intact. Johnny Shannon (Harry Flowers), John Bindon (Moody), Laraine Wickens (Lorraine) whose original voices had all been dubbed in the only commercially available video versions up to now (even those broadcast by all the major TV networks in the past 20 years) have been restored. I would like to thank Warner Brothers Home Video team in London with whom I have been campaigning since 2005, for making sure that Warner Bros in Burbank didn't just release the US VHS version on DVD which was what was going to happen. Also for adding the very informative documentary feature included on the disc. For everyone who has been waiting for this, here it is. For those of you who haven't seen it but love film, buy it. This is probably the best British movie ever made. And now down to under a fiver. Criminally cheap. Every English film lover should own this so buy it for someone you love!
22 Comments| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2004
Its almost easier to define this film negatively - that is by what it is not: It's not a gangster film; it's not a film about rock stars in the London of the 'swinging sixties'; it's not social realism and it's not a vehicle for any of the 'celebrities' who just happen to appear in it's cast.
This film is a beautifully constructed work of art that transcends narrow classification, with a narrative that challenges our very perception of ourselves as unitary beings in a space-time universe; it forces us to ask questions about our psychic continuity and questions our 'common sense' notions of self/other.
How does it do this? well Performance achieves it's goals through a dazzling display of psychedelic and mythical symbolism - the sheer creative power of which carries the film beyond it's genre, and the veiwer beyond the limitataions of his or hers rational mind.
When we compare this visionary work to the current productions from Hollywood and elsewhere it is like receiving a message from another universe! There is no comparison. This is a unique work. Just don't expect a hollywood ending. This film is an enigma.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2014
Timeless and unique.disturbing.wierd,bizzare and my interpretation of it changes each time I watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2017
its not all bad but came very qwick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
Good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)