Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
31
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 12 March 2017
Shame that the BBC didn't include this in the box set that claims to include every episode of One Foot in the Grave, but at least it was still available
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
WELL PACKED GREAT GIFT VERY FUNNY
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2009
Although they are Christmas specials,there are no festive plotlines
or any sight of turkey or xmas decorations.
What we do have instead are two extended episodes of the dark and
surreal suburban set comedy with the melodramatic moaner himself Mr
Victor Meldrew and his long suffering wife Margaret.
They both follow the same format which has already been set in stone
itself by the TV series.Hilarious,sad and in turns quite dark,which
most fans of this show come to expect.
Even if your not too familiar with the programme itself,and want a
quick taster then this is a good place to start.
"Starbound" the 1996 special is in my opinion the better of the two
as it features a guest appearence by Ray Winstone,and it contains more
of the show's core regulars-Patrick and Pippa the former neighbours who
just recently moved,mother's boy and overgrown boy scout Nick Swainey
and family friend Mrs Warboys,who without doubt is one of the funniest
characters in the show besides Victor,the bane of most of Victor's
frustrations and completely tactless.I defy anyone to watch the scene
where she apparently rehomes a late friend's pet dog at the Meldrews
and observe Victor's utter disbelief without laughing.Sheer comedy gold.
The 1997 special "Endgame" is still consistently good as one of the show's
stars is put in to a life and death situation and we have a new couple
who move in next door who are oblivious to Mr Meldrew's irrascible
behaviour.
All in all a superb funny package that is not just for Christmas.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 December 2012
This DVD contains two One Foot in the Grave Christmas specials (1996 and 1997). Together they run for just over two hours, which is longer than your average comedy film and I think you'll be guaranteed more laughs per minute than a typical Ben Stiller or Adam Sadler rom-com.

With Only Fools and Horses and One Foot in the Grave both gone, no Christmas is the same when it comes to TV. So, why not treat yourself to the next best thing and watch these two classics from yesteryear? They don't have an awful lot to do with Christmas itself, but they do feature all the great characters (i.e. Mrs Warboys, Partick and Pippa and Nick Swayney) whose lives intertwine with Victor and Margaret's, making things go more than a little astray.

Unlike Only Fools and Horses, which is more `light and fluffy' in its comedy, One Foot is dark and brooding, more black comedy with a hint of surrealism involved (although, being Christmas specials, they're not as dark as some of the episodes in other series).

Some may say that these two Christmas specials aren't up there with the very best in One Foot in the Graves. That may be true. People will always have their favourites in the regular series. They may not be the best, but they're a million times better than what's probably clogging up the TV schedule this Christmas and the next and the next and the next...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 November 2006
So after the disappointment of not having the two final Christmas specials on the series 6 DVD, they have arrived a month later on their own disc.

This release contains the 1996 "Starbound" and 1997 "Endgame" Christmas Specials. Both contain hilarious and classic Meldrew moments including the Meldrew Surgical Supplies Recycling Centre, The Man In the Shed, the Identity Parade scene and many more.

Also, in Endgame we get to see the one and only appearance of the new neighbours - the McVities. A shame they only appeared once but they play a superb part in the Endgame story.

A must for any fan and a great release to finish off the One Foot In the Grave story on DVD.
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2010
For the first time on DVD are the 1996 and 1997 christmas specials Endgame and Starbound. These episdodes are not included in the series DVDs and this brand new, wrapped DVD is great value for money. I had not heard of the episode called Starbound before I purchased this DVD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
One Foot In The Grave is one of the greatest British comedy series of all time. Like a comedy version of 'The Orient Express' events unfold that take you on a journey to a comedy twist that you didn't see coming. I just love brilliance behind these stories, and the way that Victor Meldrew's world becomes so chaotic just because he did something simple like open his front door. He is always in the wrong place, at the right time for disaster. These two Christmas Specials are two of the best examples of a normal week for Victor, and unfold fast, and furiously without stopping for a pause of breath between laughs. The only reason not to buy them is that you may die from laughter!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
What can you say about this superb series? It's so funny that I put the first disc in and before I knew it I'd watched the entire first series back to back. The Victor Meldrew character is absolutely fantastic and some of the things he experiences are so close to real life and humorous, brilliant box set and easily worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I now have all of the DVD's ever made in this series and enjoy watching them all. This is a series that you can watch several times and still get a great laugh. Margaret is a great 'foil' for Victor and the last series when he died was very sad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
Excellent service. I already knew what I was getting and it was all I expected. Funny as all the series are but be warned - they are not all about Christmas although they are Christmas specials.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)