Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
10
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2007
Long overdue cd issue of John's 5th and last l.p which was released in 1982.Unlike some of John's other album's which were accapella poem's such as "Kung fu international",mixed with poem's/song's set to music,this l.p is the same as John's 4th l.p "Snap,crackle,and bop" in which all of the song's/poem's here have The Invisible Girls' musical accompinament but still have great poetical content.If you enjoyed John's 2nd and 4th album's "Disguise in love",and "Snap,crackle+bop" you will like this as well so buy it!.What all the fan's then need is a cd issue of John's 3rd l.p "Walking back to happiness" to complete the set.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
John Cooper Clarke brought poetry (and rap, if truth be known) to a whole new generation and this third collection from the early 1980's continues to show how influential he has been.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2007
The problem here is that the poems are often not appropriate for the music. Here we don't find songs that are as instantly likeable as, say, 36 Hours or Beasley Street, two highlights from the earlier Snap, Crackle and Bop offering. The spoken vocals appear disjointed, unconvincing in tracks like Heart Disease Called Love and Ninety Degrees in My Shades. They sound like he's struggling. It is an issue of matching the materials, and where it is wrong it is jarring. Still, all in all, not a disastrous third studio album, but much of a curate's egg. Midnight Shift, the opener, is however brilliant and moving.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
This was a good record, and is a good record of John Cooper Clark's work. I came back to this after many years of not listening to him. Very glad I did.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
How come JCC was not a mega star? He was, and remains an absolutely brilliant performer. Go and see him live whilst you still can.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2007
Anything JCC does is worth your time but that said, this album is a significant step down from the quality of his previous work. In fact the poems are still great but the marriage of poetry and music on this album

just doesn't work...well except maybe on "The Day My Pad Went Mad",

"Night People"and "Midnight Shift"...just... but the rest are let down by what sounds simply lazy,unconsidered electro gunge. Most unforgivable

though is the production that all but buries JCC's delivery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
brilliant funny love J,C.C
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2007
At last the final of Johns LP's is released, and with four fantastic bonus tracks.
This guy is the most under rated artist around, he was doing semi spoken poetry to quirky and beat driven music back in 1976.
This was his most mainstream album by comparison to Disguise or Oue est, but change is as good as a rest, and it is very different and had moved with the times.
"I travel in biscuits" is punchy and "the ghost of al Capone" catchy, and like all his work original, and only available on CD here, the recent best off CD missed them out???????
I met the Bard in 1996 at a gig, got him to autograph my copy of "Disguise" and I can confirm he is very funny, he made some funny comments about the lateness of the "Disguise" CD release and his profit margin.
He had is partner with him as well, was this Nico? I am not sure but she was nice.
I had interrupted there pre gig drink with what I guess was his manager, but he assured me "it was no problem" and made my whole week by inscribing "from your pal John Cooper Clarke" under my name.
NOW we NEED to get the 1982 documentary TEN YEARS IN AN OPEN NECKED SHIRT released on DVD.
It was a channel four production so lets get the pressure on them, a great mix of his poetry with visuals and vintage interviews.
33 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
If you like a man saying, "I had a nice wife; she was a stranger," over sadhappy music, you'll like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.41
£8.53
£22.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)