Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
27
4.4 out of 5 stars
Join Hands
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 February 2013
I was never a fan of S&TB in the early years, being rather anti-punk at the time. In fact I was a bit of a hippy/prog rock purist or 'Boring old fart' as they used to say then,at the ripe old age of 19. However I eventually got into this band in the 80's,by first listening to mid-period albums such as Hyeana and Kiss in the Dreamhouse. More recently I had started to work my way back through the early albums and found them to be a bit of a mixed bag. There are a few good tracks on here such as Icon and Playground Twist, but The Lords Prayer, which I am told was an intrinsic part of their live act at the time, is a little difficult to stomach at around 15 minutes long and I tend to skip this one when playing the album. My lady friend loves it as despite being in her 50's she still has goth/punk blood running through her veins! Still i'm not complaining because from my point of view even just one good track on an album makes it worth buying, not like in the old days when albums were relatively expensive. I am sure that die-hard S&TB fans would rate this as a masterpiece.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Another excellent album. Good Packaging. Slightly less accesable than the Scream but very much hard core punk (when punk was not all about looking the same and sounding like Oi) The CD includes Infantry which was intended to be on the origional release. Its ok. Its an instrumental.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2017
Follow up to Scream isn't as strong but is made up of the same sort of material heard on the brilliant debut. Strong vocals and a great guitars and drums. Icon Playground Twist & Premature Burial being the strongest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
another one of my all time favourite bands and I love eveything they have done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
I prefer this album to The Scream and thats a tough choice to make !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2007
This second album from the punk legends was not universally acclaimed when it appeared in 1979, as their debut was so devastating and unsettling. The introduction, Poppy Day (lyrics from a poem by John McCrae) sets the gothic tone for Join Hands, extending the boundaries of The Banshees' unique punk strain. The album does prove that slow, melodic songs can be equally effective in evoking a sense of menace and unease.

Playground Twist is classic early Siouxsie, but it gets even better on Mother/Oh Mein Papa, a successful experiment where the juxtaposed words of the lullaby medley create a sinister feel by the eerie buildup of the music. Other songs like Regal Zone and Placebo Effect are more reminiscent of the debut album, with blistering guitar and Siouxsie's piercing vocals. Icon and Premature Burial are quite dark and melancholy, probably serving as inspiration for later Goth bands like Bauhaus.

The original album ended in a cacophonic bang with The Lord's Prayer medley which includes phrases of O Claire de la Lune/Mon Ami Pierrot, the chilling Tomorrow Belongs To Me (from the movie Cabaret) and sundry other sources. This re-release includes two new tracks, of which the classic Love In A Void is by far the best. Join Hands is more varied than their debut album and a worthy follow-up, and definitely one of their more underrated works.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 May 2007
Sophomore effort for this excellent after-punk band. More sombre and goth-tinged than their debut, The Scream, yet retaining a lot of its punk edge, this record sounds less cohesive and more ¨jammed¨ than their first. Massive tribal drumming and experimental sounds and a highly hypnotic atmosphere will capture your attention for the whole of the 42'+. This jap edition features 2 songs culled from singles as bonus tracks. Get the remastered version for top notch sound, though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2006
This 2nd album from the punk legends was not universally acclaimed when it appeared in 1979. The short intro Poppy Day (lyrics from a poem by John McCrae) sets the gothic tone for Join Hands, extending the boundaries of The Banshees' unique punk strain. Here they prove that slow, melodic songs can be equally effective in evoking a sense of menace.

Playground Twist is classic early Siouxsie, but it gets even better on Mother/Oh Mein Papa, a successful experiment where the juxtaposed words of the lullaby medley create a sinister feel by the eerie buildup of the music. Other songs like Regal Zone and Placebo Effect are more reminiscent of the debut album, with powerful guitar and Siouxsie's piercing vocals. Icon and Premature Burial are quite dark and gothic and probably served as inspiration for later Goth bans like Bauhaus.

The original album ended in a cacophonic bang with The Lord's Prayer medley which includes phrases of O Claire de la Lune/Mon Ami Pierrot, the chilling Tomorrow Belongs To Me (from the movie Cabaret) and sundry other sources. This re-release includes two new tracks, of which the classic Love In A Void is by far the best. Join Hands is more varied than their debut album The Scream, therefore a worthy follow-up, and perhaps one of their more underrated works.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2011
This was the Banshee's second album, released in 1979 and featuring the original (well, more or less) cast of players.

It is, for me, a painfully nostalgic journey. I was a little to young to be influenced by the earliest years of the punk movement but I caught up as best I could in the late 70's/early 80's and Playground Twist is a track that recalls so many meomories from my teen years.

But I digress.

This is not by any means a commercial or even accessible album (a charge that could almost equally be levelled at The Scream, their first album). McKay's harsh screeching guitar work is fingernails down a blackboard (he manages much the same effect with his sax work - quite an accomplishment) and Kenny Morris and Steve Severin churn out a simple, rythmic drum and bass line to keep it moving along at a slow, jerky and inexorable pace. Over all of this are Siouxsie's shrill, robotic vocals.

Stand-out tracks? It's hard to choose any in such a strange album, but Icons has to be deserving of special mention, switching unexpectedly from a restrained but apocalyptic church chant to a faster moving diatribe. There's Playgorund Twist, of course, which charted at number 28 with its sinister, almost perverted take on childhood nursery rhymes (what must my parents have thought!). I have to say though, that The Lord's Prayer is still the one that literally sends shivers down my spine. Fourteen minutes or more of loosely structured jamming around the prayer? Doesn't sound promising does it? but the raw power that drips from every squeek, screech, gasp and scream as Siouxsie sings in tongues is truly something to hear. Played live, this must have been something really special.

It's not an archetypal punk album but it is so undeniably "of the era" that it should be and if I could go back in time and attend one music concert, 1979 and the Banshees would probably be it.

"Those words hang like vicious spittle, dribbling from that tongue. Close your eyes to your lies, force feed more pious meat."
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
For their debut album, the Banshees had a very tight, almost professional sound to their records while still managing to maintain the spontaniety and power of the punk aesthetic. On this album however, they seem to strip all of that away, returning to the primitive punk sound they began with. The problem with that is that the amaturish, fragmented punk sound lends itself to singles and EP's rather than albums and so Join Hands suffers because of this.

Now that doesn't mean that there aren't any noteworthy songs on the album, because there are some tracks here that rank as Banshee classics. Icon for example, is a stunningly powerful work and perhaps the centrepiece of the album. Also is the onslaught of Playground Twist, another wonderful Banshee single with Siouxsie's voice powerful as ever and the Banshees exploding behind her.

However the album is marred by several other tracks. 'Premature Burial' is an overlong durge of a track that grates after a few listens; 'Mother,' is pure novelty and kind of clichéd with it's music box accompanyment. Poppy Day has a nice intro, but doesn't go anywhere and the worst offender, 'The Lord's Prayer' is an extremely difficult listen. Important though it is for the history of the band, it really doesn't come off well and the band sound very amaturish and juvinile, not at all like they did on the Debut.

The reamining tracks, being 'Regal Zone' and 'Placebo Effect' are not bad, particularly the latter and this version does contain a Banshee Classic 'Love in a Void.' Unfortunately it also contains a dud track, 'Infantry' and why they chose to include it here I cannot fathom.

This might have made a better debut for the Banshees, because the album would have shown some promise. Unfortunately, being their sophmore album it shows a slump, most likely because of tensions at the time, but still the band had proven themselves worthy of more than this. I would recommened this only to those familiar with the Banshees work and interested in either completing their collection, or just exploring the lesser rated albums. But if you are looking for an underrated masterpiece, you won't find it here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Scream
£7.11
Kaleidoscope
£5.69
Ju Ju
£5.99
Hyaena
£5.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)