Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Christmas with Elvis Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Cirque Du Soleil: Saltimbanco [DVD] [2004]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 January 2014
This was such fun to watch and reminded me of the time we saw them at The Royal Albert Hall in London. I would recomment this DVD to friends and family
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2014
Very pleased with video. Pleased with efficient and prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2016
in a word - disappointing.

i bought this as a top up Christmas stocking filler. this dvd was released in 2004 but of a 1987 show, this is an hours worth of Cirque Du Soleil when they were starting out and the footage here is of basically a circus high wire act in all its incarnations but crucially NOT for most of us what i would suspect the state of the art big stadium big show extravaganza spectacle that this troupe have now become. La Circue Reinvente does offer some impressive circus style balancing , high wire feats certainly ,but all with pretty limited small, not even big top show accoutrements of the mega show they now are. high on physical performance close up , low on the later much more entertaining big stadium experience that Cirque are now.

like i said - disappointing and go for the more recent dvd s of this world class spectacular show. not here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2016
Visually stunning,
the magic of "cirque de soleil" is captured in this amazing show

Today there is no other way to really experience Saltimbanco other than on DVD/ BlueRay
Satimbanco ran from 1992 to 2006, performed under a traditional Circus tent.
From 2007 it was adapted for performances in alternative venues as well as to meet the expectations of a totally new audience.
The final performance of Saltimbanco was in 2012.

From a personal viewpoint, I was lucky enough to see Saltimbanco on its world tour, when it was performing in Birmingham, UK in 2005. It was a birthday present from my wife, what an amazing magical expereince that night was!

A night to remember

That night I bought the whole "Cirque de Soleil" DVD collection, which this DVD is part of that set.
I can highly recommend this video.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2003
I was lucky enough to have front row seats for an actual performance of this and this video captures the essence of the show well. The clown sections, which do not bear much repetition, are cut right down, but other areas are enhanced by unusual camera angles, e.g. seeing the juggler from a camera below the podium. With a blend of beauty, skill and mesmerising colour and music, this show will appeal across the generations.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2001
For those who have not had a chance to see this wonderful show live and for those who want a souvenir of a brilliant performance, this is a video to keep. The abilities of these performers are amazing and both the costumes and music are beautiful. This is a unique experience.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2003
Absolutely took my breath away - if your stomach isn't in your throat when you see the Russian Swing then boy - you're just not alive....... Spectacular performances from artists who when Cirque du Soleil started were street performers, but with an edge that I found amazing. I loved the performance so much so that I just had to buy the video to recreate such memories. BTW - if you do get to see the live performance - do not get seats near the front..... It's a circus remember and they LOVE audience participation!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
This was our introduction to the world of cirque de soleil and we have now been bitten with the desire for more - amazing, awesome entertainment - beautiful. Acrobats, juggling, clowns, dance, mime, trapeze, high wire, strength, beautiful costumes - really inspiring stuff. My daughter (13) and I loved it. We want to see it live ... hmmm have looked at ticket prices - maybe we'll buy more DVDs!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
Excellent quality reproduction, it reminded me so much of seeing the show live at The Royal Albert Hall. Also brilliant service from Amazon to deliver so quickly. Worth every penny!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
We have just found the Cirque du soleil shows and can thoroughly recommend them to those who wish to see amazing physical prowess
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)