Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Original Packaging|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2009
It does exactly what it says on the tin opener. It's a nice, robust, aesthetically pleasing piece of kit. The only drawbacks are that on completion of the tin opening cycle a small sliver of tin lid keeps it attached to the rest of the tin making the magnetic capture feature rather ineffective and making it a bit messy (and potentially dangerous)to remove the lid by hand.

It is now 2013 and we're still using this opener. It is robust and has lasted very well and works very well. The drawback issue I mentioned in the first review is easily overcome by turning the the opener a fraction of a turn in the opposite direction to begin with and then opening the tin as normal. using this technique it works fine and the lid is easily removed with the inbuilt magnet.
33 comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
What distinguishes this can opener from others is not only the lock, which operates with a soft click to open and lock the handles, but also the lack of effort it requires to open a can. The handlebars have a soft grip, making this ideal for people with small hands or people with arthritis in their hands. I've been looking for an electric can opener for a long time, but reluctant to get one because of the lack of space on my work top, luckily I've found the perfect solution with this tool.
review image
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2008
As with all Zyliss products, this is a thoughtfully designed device that works perfectly and should last forever. It is quite large, and the broad handles mean you can comfortably open the toughest tins without bruising the palms of your hands. It has a clever device for locking the handles together once you have made the first cut into the tin - this means you don't need to keep squeezing the handles together while you finish opening the tin. It's great for everyday family use, but I imagine it would also be excellent for older people or those who find traditional tin-openers something of a struggle. Looks nice, works well, should last many years - highly recommended.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is one of the best can openers I have tried, and I've owned dozens over the years.
I was slightly puzzled by the reviewer who gave it one star and referred to it opening at the side of the can. He got it wrong.
I hope he reads further reviews as it isn't a side opener (like a Magican, my previous opener-of-choice.)
You press the red unlock button to open the arms of the device vertically. Position the opener in place with the cutting wheel inside the rim of the can and press down.
The large oval knob to move the turning wheel turns the can round easily under very little pressure. When the can is fully open and the lid detached, you then use the integral magnet to lift the lid. Pressing the little red lever underneath the can opener levers the lid away from the magnet and drops it in to the bin, without risking a cut from sharp edges.
I find it much easier to use than the Magican as it can be really difficult to prise open that opener to release the lid - which sometimes gets jammed.
I do recommend this for users with arthritis, it is significantly easier to use than any other I have tried.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2016
For me this tin opener is a big letdown. I find the locking device unnecessary, and often this opener will not lock successfully on to the can. I have often had to hack the lid off with any other implement I can find as the opener only partially cuts round the lid. This can be dangerous at the very least. I would not buy it again and think the price is high and not justified. I thought it would be an item of quality, but for me it is something of a "gadget."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The big advantages of this can opener are that it is very much easier and more comfortable to use than a basic hardware store can opener, and that on most cans it is highly effective in cutting the lid off - no messing, as you might say. Also, how to use it is fairly obvious to anyone who ever used a can opener before. There is the lock to be released - but it opens up as soon as you put a thumb on it; and the magnetic lid lifter might take a moment to work out, but that too is fairly obvious - and anyway you don't have to use it; you can lift the lid with the edge of a knife if you prefer.

So it's streets ahead of the old hurts-your-hands-if-you-open-more-than-one-can-at-once can openers, but in some respects actually not as good as Zyliss's Safety Can Opener. This one leaves a dangerously sharp edge around the lid. Amazing as it may seem, the Safety Can Opener does not. Once you get the hang of it, the Safety Can Opener is effective every time in lifting off the lid, this one is not. Yes, there's the snag, 'once you get the hang of it'; the Safety Can Opener really needs a demonstrator to introduce you to how it works, this one does not. In both cases, the card on which the can opener is mounted when new is multilingual, but Zyliss are not good at explaining how to operate their products.

And neither this nor the Safety Can Opener will open a sardine or similar 'rounded-rectangle' can. So you will still need to keep your old hardware store can opener at the back of your kitchen drawer for the times when their pull ring pulls off without opening the can.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
If I can buy an item made by zyliss I always do as their products are always excellent. This tin opener its, strong well made and easy to use. very aesthetic too. does not leave any sharp edges and does no need strength to use it. :) They also make the best ever garlic crusher no need to peel ^^^^ holds the skin inside securely which is easy to remove. I Love garlic but Cats/dogs hate the smell on your hands! Zyliss Susi 3 Garlic Press "No Need To Peel" - Built in Cleaner - Crusher, Mincer and Peeler, Cast Aluminium :) produces very fine beautifully crushed garlic. If you need a good hardwearing tin opener buy this one you will not be disappointed .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
My wife purchase the Zyliss safe edge can opener, but could not make it work. I took a look and at first I could not figure out how it was supposed to cut into the can. I realized it cuts into the edge of the can seal instead of the top. However, all it would do on any can I tried was put a groove in it, it never actually cut all the way through. Also, the groove itself was sharp and left metal spurs sticking out. Not very safe in my opinion. Could be I got a defective one, or it doesn't work on all types of cans.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
Sometimes the can opener 'misses' when opening, needing to go round again to open the lid fully. The magnet which lifts the detached lid (if it opens properly) should protrude further forward as you have to dip it into the can with its liquid contents. The red plastic lever to release the lid from the magnet is completely unnecessary as you can take the lid off the opener by hand!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
A really effective can opener. It was for my 87 year old mother because the powered ones 'run away' on her and so I've been searching for one that she can handle. This one fits the bill. She's found it easy to use, easy to clean and is very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)