Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2009
In a fit of nostalgia, I decided to buy the Age of Empires collectors' edition. I'd played both AoE 1 and 2 (but not the expansion packs) when they came out, but over the years sort of forgot about them.

First thing's first: they are worth buying. Considering how ridiculously cheap they are, they are definitely worth the money.

The games give a nice mix of both historical details and fun gameplay.

As someone who is generally not very good at games, I found I had to use the "easy" difficulty level, which was still quite taxing, especially for Age of Empires 2. However, my more proficient friends tell me that the harder levels are at the right sort of level, too. There are more than enough campaigns in this box set to keep you occupied, and of course there's also random maps, too.

Two words of caution: I couldn't make the Conquerors work properly with Vista (it works fine with older versions of Windows), and it is really quite difficult to get the multiplayer working over LAN.

These flaws aside, AoE is a great little series of games, much more engrossing than it should be. I'd definitely suggest you buy it.
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
Age of Empires II is a really excellent, absorbing real-time strategy game. Resource management is challenging without being overpoweringly complicated and there's a huge range of military units you can create and send into battle. Combat is usually fairly short-lived, but at higher difficulty settings you will find the constant attacks from your enemies require you to think fast and act strategically. At this price, this game is a bargain. My copy arrived on a single disc, which seems to have all four games on it, although I haven't tried to install the other three.

Years ago, I used to run this on my old P200 Win 98 machine and was frustrated by the fact that I could only ever use the lowest settings for population and map size. On the beast of a machine I now have it runs beautifully - very pretty graphics and smooth motion even with maxed out populations and huge maps.

A useful tip if you do buy this: under Windows XP, some people may experience problems installing the game. I did - the install process hung when trying to install a particular file. If this happens to you, you need to go into Windows Explorer and right-click on the AoE setup icon, then choose Properties and select a compatibility mode. I chose the Windows 98 compatibility mode, and after that everything worked perfectly.

I highly recommend this game but be warned - it may take over your life.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2007
Me and over three friends have encountered the same problem with this. All games offered on the front cover are excellent and well worth your time, however in this edition the first Age of Empires and its expansion do not appear. There are three discs, one for the first and its expansion, one for AoEII, and one for the AoEII expansion. The latter two work fine, but the former contains only another copy of AoEII.

I bought this for the second game, which I hadn't played in a long time, so wasn't overly disappointed for the low price. But if you're looking for the first AoE, look elsewhere.
33 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I should have better, more exciting things to do than revisit games of my youth, but nevertheless I bought this set of the four Age of Empires games. I had previously owned only the original version, and so the three other games were wholly new to me. I have no regrets whatsoever about buying this product. The games are, yes, a little bit tired compared to some of the later output, but no less fun for that. The Age of Kings is a sensible advance from the original, and The Conquerors allows for far more variety in the terrain you can select to play Standard Games (or Death Matches) on. I would recommend this to anyone, a thoroughly enjoyable, easy to learn and master game that still provides a gentle few hours of fun.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2008
These games are so fun!
Bought a few copies for friends and family.

AOE1 is For people who have time, it isn't the quickest of games
and the graphics seem o.k., but this is an old game.
I have played less on AOE1 than AOE2 / AOE2 Conquerors:

AOE2 has quite good graphics, not as good as the new AOE3, but it 'looks' 3D. The campaigns and different scenarios are really fun and good plots.
The scenario editors have lots of options, most of which are shown in the editor - BUT you must know what you are doing - if you can't get your head around the triggers etc. it's difficult to make your own scenario/campaingns.
The gameplay is quite addictive, good ideas and ways of collecting different recources to build with - eg. different maps have fish, sheep, boar or turkeys which can be used for food, and the different trees change to different places e.g. Black forest and Yucatan.
Many different units and technologies, and unique technologies and bonuses to civilisations - which creates many tactics and ways of trying to crush your opponent, and counterattacking.

All in all, it's definitely 5-star
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2008
awesome your game alone spans 12,500 years of history from the very start at the egyptian empire to the start of the re-birth of europe. excellent game im addicted (No Really i am!!) the story line drags you in with great gameplay and the customized options available are out of the this world. really deep in game cutomising abilities.

Overall Any age of empires game is worth getting :-)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2007
I'm sure that the game which was made from 1996 to 2000 is a great game. The great soundtrack, SFX, interface, graphics, technology tree, units, diplomacy and menus made the game the greatest historical RTS. Everybody who likes the Real-Time Strategy games, MUST buy it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
The title doesn't lie. I got this game and it consumed me for months. I rebought it because of how much I missed the series.

Age of Empires the first was a revolution! Adding realism and action to a bland genre of RTS games. Game is fairly simple get resources by using villagers to gather, build more stuff then expand and advance your culture. The first was based in the roman times and things were samey despite the nations you picked every sprite was identical. In addition an army of 25 feels lame. Despite that at the time there was no game like it.

Then Age of Empires II was released and it broke records! Game was drizzled in historical accuracy and historicaly inacurate gameplay (not that im complaining). The game broke the mold every nation has a unique layout, unique units and advantages. From the furthest reaches of europe all the way to the islands of japan every nation had its mention in this game. They even journey to the americanas allowing to play as the mighty aztecs themselves! The core of the game doesn't change but the flow and challange of it does. Every battle makes you feel small and helpless and forces you to think fast. The enemy is smart and doesn't mess around the moment they can crush you they do. The online mode alone is worth it shame its died now.

Bottom line if you love a classic get this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2009
The product by Xplosiv as advertised by Amazon is excellent. However, that is not the product that is being supplied. The Ubisoft product is rubbish and does not play on PC CD ROM. It only plays on DVD and there is no music during the game. A big disappointment.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2008
american conquest is a great game but age of empires is an either play as the greeks,romasns,persians or enyone you like.there is also scenario editor where you can create your own map with hundreds of units,and animals.

when i played american conquest and american conquest fight back they were a little different from AOE.because of its rather fast gameplay and small amount of units you can use for wars.there are also age of empires 2 which has cut out many units from the first row of games replacing them with knights and age of emires one and the expansion pack you can choose from hoplities,broad swordsman and loads more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)