Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
4.5 out of 5 stars
King of Queens - Season 1 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 July 2017
Fantastic very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Fast Delivery. Brilliant show & gave me a belly laugh. Ended up buying the whole series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2003
This is a value packed, well-priced, three disc DVD set that has the entire first season of this very funny show, including the pilot and two bonus shows for a total of twenty seven hilarious shows. Fans of Kevin James , Leah Remini, and Jerry Stiller will be in seventh heaven with this first season set. The show is sort of an updated "Honeymooners" and an absolute laugh riot. It is definitely a keeper and well worth having in one's collection.
Kevin James plays the role of the role of the portly, but adorable, Doug Heffernan, an International Parcel Service delivery guy and husband to the earthy and sexy Carrie (Leah Remini), who clearly rules the roost. They live in a modest house in Queens, one of the outer boroughs of New York City. Carrie's father, the idiosyncratic Arthur Spooner (Jerry Stiller), for reasons made clear in the pilot episode, also joins their household. His living with them adds to the many comedic moments of this popular television series. There is a funny group of friends, odd neighbors, and other assorted characters that drift in and out of the Heffernans' daily lives, adding to the comedic zest of this comedy series about middle class life in one of the outer boroughs of New York City.
The casting is perfect. The series is very funny with well written scripts and excellent performances by its very talented cast. What more can a viewer ask for? This is an excellent, value laden, three disc DVD set, replete with a pilot episode commentary by Kevin James and the show's creator, Executive Producer Michael Weithorn. This DVD set also has a feature in which the cast of the series takes the viewer behind the scenes, as they look back on and reminisce about the show's first season. All in all, this is a value priced DVD set with crisp, clear visuals and audio. It is absolutely one of my favorite comedies, and I am happy to have the entire first season. I look forward to getting the succeeding seasons, as they become available.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2007
Well here we have it, nearly 5 years after the release of the American Region of The King of Queens Season 1, it arrives on our shores with exactly the same content only as a region 2. When I purchased the region 1 set back in 2003, I bought this series blindly without ever watching an episode, I was not dissapointed.

Leah Remini is a hugely talented comedic actor who has starred in bit parts in major sitcoms and even had a role in another good NBC sitcom, 'Fired up', sadly that was shortlived. Kevin James, who plays Doug in this show I was less familiar with but combined they make the perfect couple made for TV with interesting and often hilarious banter bouncing off of each other.

Last but not least the star of the show and comic legend Jerry Stiller, from Seinfeld fame dusts off his classic eccentric father routine once more, this time not for George Costanza but for Carrie Herffernan (Leah). Needless to say the scenes he is in are absolutely terrific.

Now that the series has wrapped for the last time, looking back at the last 6 seasons after this, the earlier episodes are not quite as funny as later ones but this should not deter you from grabbing a copy of it. Classic episodes in this season are 'Supermarket Story' and 'Wheres Poppa', plus many more.

This show, like many others is unfortunately a well kept secret and has not been given a terrestrial primetime airing so unless you have Paramount Comedy Channel, or been up early enough in the mornings when channel 4 have aired it, you've probably never heard of it.

The only difference between this release and the US one is like always the price. Why UK retailers think they have the right to list this in most outlets as 25 quid as opposed to 18 quid, who knows, picture quality is no different, but some customers believe otherwise when it comes to the Region 1 Vs Region 2 debate.

So anyway I strongly urge you to purchase a copy of this classic to be show today!

Enjoy
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 March 2009
Doug and Carrie Heffernan are the King Of Queens, a couple that really love each other, and have only just got married. They have their ups and downs with family life, and both have busy lives at work, Doug delivering packages for a parcel company, and Carrie being a secretary for a legal firm.

Doug has some funny friends, Deacon, he's his colleague at work and a cool guy, Richie, the typical tough guy from Queens, he's a little dim, but him and "moose" get on - and then there's insecure, single living with mum Spence, who has all sorts of problems including allergies and hates peanuts. They all hang out in the garage with Doug.

Carrie has friends at work, but doesn't really bring them home to her home life. She mainly likes spending time with Doug and having a go at people who she thinks are annoying. She does have great character though.

This series we see Arthur - her father, move into their home since Tessie has died and he burns down the house. Doug finds his aunt is divorcing his uncle Hank and there's the softball team Doug plays for.

This is great comedy, both Kevin and Leah make great lovers on screen, and have that great rapport that makes this series work. I especially like Arthur (Jerry Stiller - was Frank Costanza in Seinfeld) - he's very funny and in some ways really makes the show what it is. He will just say something to Doug and you'll be rolling around laughing. One thing that does annoy me is the canned laughter. Otherwise there are some great storylines and Doug is always guaranteed to make you laugh.

This DVD is poor, and is not what we wanted really, no extras and all the episodes are crowded onto 4 disks. At least with the region 1 DVDs you don't have as many languages so you get a bit less compression, but these disks are quite heavily compressed. I think CBS are a bit cheeky to do this, plus the fact it's taken nearly 4 years to get out up to season 4, when you can get the entire set from the USA now.

Need to do better CBS.

The program - 5/5, the DVD 2/5
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2006
The King of Queens is the best show on TV. Kevin James is hillarious, even better than Seinfeld and Raymond. Then there is the legendary Jerry Stiller, the reason why I started watching this show in the first place. The special features on this season are excellent, buy it today...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
I have three favourite sitcoms... Two and half men, Everybody Loves Raymond, and of course The King of Queens. Doug is a hapless chubby, funny endearing kind of guy that you simply cannot help liking.

His life revolves around food (as much of it), working (as little of it), hanging around with his mates in front of a TV, and generally goofing off his wife with his antics.... sounds like me! What's there that is not to like?

The quality of the packaging is excellent. Really top-notch, and of course, brilliant recording. The first series is not in widescreen, but that is only natural, because series1 was made when widescreen tvs were not around.

Excellent qualiy, excellent pricing and brilliant service!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2007
I realy enjoy the series King of Queens it is enjoyable and funny, the only problem is I could not find it on DVD on the same region as my DVD player. I looked everywhere on the internet for them and was tempted to buy them on region 1 and just buy a special DVD player, but finaly (four years after america) I find them on DVD. I will buy this soon but wish I could of brought them a couple years back.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2007
This is brilliant show that in my opinion has not received the credit it deserves, however, by putting the entire series 1 on just four disks CBS has really created a major problem. The compression ratio is far too high and after trying to play episodes 16 - 18 on no less than five different machines and exchanging the disks three times, I am left disappointed with the fact that after having waited 4 years for CBS to release the PAL Region 2 version to the UK I still can't watch it.

Only way I can think of to rectify this problem is to start buying DVD players until I find one that can actually play this disk, so if you have a player that is over 1 year old you can forget about buying this relese.
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
This is a great sitcom. Definitely one of the funniest i have ever seen. The plot is great and each episode while have you chocking from laughter. When i first got this i had only seen a few episodes and thought it was funny but when i got this season i become hooked. It is a great season and i recommend it to any fans of show or any newcomers looking for a hilarious sitcom.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)