Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 23 October 2017
I read the book that the film is based on and was looking forward to seeing the film version. But very disappointing. Too much about the frivolity and not enough context setting. Plus it stops before the main climax in the story (warning - plot spoiler) - the be-headings. Either they ran out of money towards the end or they just got bored with the whole thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2017
Interesting take on the historical biopic, Feels more like a teen movie than a period drama. Dunst somehow makes Marie likeable and the use of modern music fits the story superbly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2017
Excellent film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2017
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2017
I have seen better films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2018
Good film for history buffs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2013
I think the reason this film is so often bashed and panned by critics and public alike is because they expect far too much of it. Many don't seem to realize that this film is supposed to appeal to the senses, most importantly sound and sight. Its not trying to be some complete cinematic masterpiece, its simply trying to tell a story about a teenage girl married beyond her will and thrown into situations which mostly were not of her making. The most poignant thing about the film is the way in which towards the end her beautiful, carefree world fall apart as her child dies and the revolution looms over her family. Visually, it is one of the most beautiful films I have ever seen. The sumptuous costumes and the outstanding use of the palace of Versailles really are a feast for the eyes. The use of 1980's and modern indie music is a bold move but i think it works very well in line with the teenage queen gliding through the palace and its grounds. Do i think that Marie Antoinette's story could do with a proper all out cinematic retelling? Yes, but that doesn't stop me from enjoying this film. If you want an evocative drama then look elsewhere but if you want to escape into another time and place for a couple of hours then look no further than this film.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2015
Lavishly shot on location, Versailles has never looked better but why the modern sound track. Ruins the film when period music would have added so much. Costumes, locations, acting, all excellent if maybe abit skimming on the Queens story but all ruined by aloud out of context musical score.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2017
It's the ocular equivalent of looking into a cake shop window. If you're expecting a movie that gives a historically accurate insight into pre Revolution France in the palaces, or a look into the latter half of 18th century life that has the detail and quality of say, Kubrick's Barry Lyndon, I'm afraid you've come to the wrong place. Just suspend your disbelief and enjoy it. I've always liked this movie for the visuals and as one other reviewer mentioned, it's a fun diversion on a grey weekend afternoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2016
This is fast-paced and energetic film telling the Queen's story against a backdrop of fabulous costumes, sumptuous interiors and exteriors, handsome characters and a modern soundtrack. What's not to like? Many famous faces take on quite modest roles and the story largely sticks to the facts. It portrays a very insular and indulged Court cut off from the lives of French men and women as France descends into chaos and ultimately, for our heroine, tragedy. I've watched this a couple of times and no doubt I will watch it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)