Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2011
I am biased as I do love Wilkie Collins, it is super being able to dicover so many of his works that I was not familiar with - with thanks to kindle!!!

This is a fairly short tale - but with the romance and intrigue that we have come to expect from Wilkie Collins, well written and easy to read. I loved it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2000
this is vintage collins, with everything you expect from one of his novellas; sensation, passion, thwarted love, murder, all very intense and melodramatic. it would be a nice introduction to his work: readable in one sitting. but then, do move on to his excellent novels, moonstone, woman in white, no name, and of course, armadale.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
This is my second Wilkie Collins book and it certainly didn't disappoint. The story started quickly and kept me hooked throughout. There were an awful lot of exaggerated coincidences throughout but that's where the humour comes in.

In true Wilkie style, there are also some astute observations on genders and society.

Go on...just try it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
The story is typical Wilkie Collins-interesting characters and storyline. For anyone who has not read any of Wilkie Collins's work before, this would be an excellent book to start with. For those who know the author, you can rest assured that this is one to enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Who wouldn't be delighted to find the public domain list of FREE classic literature. This is fantastic. All the titles I've always wanted to read and for free - this is my kind of kindle heaven. I love the way they arrive on your kindle, they're so quick, it's like magic. Thank you public domain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2011
Another good read from Wilkie Collins, although I feel not quite as good as "Moonstone" etc. it is nonetheless an entertaining and in places addictive book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2013
If you've read anything by Collins before then you'll know what to expect from Miss or Mrs? This gothic horror, verging on the farcical, has a nasty aftertaste when you realise that the heroine is only fifteen years old.
Collins was, I think, trying to impress the reader with the central character's innocence, but by placing her age so very young, and in not telling the reader her age until very near the conclusion of the story, I felt was completely wrong.
Other than that, the tale was typically Wilkie Collins; gothic horror and good fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
A short and hilarious Wilkie Collins, written almost in play form it has a faintly farce like quality. There are even references to the miscreant habits of bankers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Cracking plot with the odd sly twist woven in. Well up to his usual standard, albeit shorter and more focussed than many of his works. I enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2015
Never received it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here