Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 29 August 2010
this was a great soap opera from down under, with good storylines that keep you glued right the way through to the end, good stars perform well, shame they never repeated it over here, sure viewers would like to see it again, lots of thrill's and action, good suspense aswell keeps you hanging on, well worth watching , a good series i recommend you watch it.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Was a present
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
Great drama.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2013
i liked this series when it was on tv and i have not watched it yet but i am hoping i have got the beginning of the story where stephenie gets attacked by the crocodile
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2009
Brilliant 80`s series about Stephanie Harper, but be aware, it doesn`t include the "conclusion" of the series.
It was originally ment to be a follow up, but unfortunately it wasn`t popular enought in Australia, so they ended
it with a 5 minutes conclusion, which is not included on this dvd. It it possible to see it on you tube though
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2007
How wonderful for this rare but (ironically) perennially popular 22-part spin-off from the cult hit miniseries to be released on DVD.

Yes, the plots are absurd as is the fashion and the cast revel in camp excess, but that is precisely what makes it fun, and the show actually had a sense of humour about itself that would have - if it had continued - distinguished it from "Sons and Daughters", the only show with which it is vaguely comparable. It was unfortunately marketed as "Dallas Down Under" or the "Aussie Dynasty", but it was far wittier than either of those shows.

The show was apparently very successful overseas and it was initially planned to have a 5 year run, but its high budget precluded further series. That is a pity. Whilst it is doubtful that it could have sustained its camp wit for 5 years, it probably could have run for 3.

The one shame about this release - as of course has been noted by other reviwers - is that it does not include the wrap-up ending that was filmed after the cancellation, featuring radically new hairstyles for Rebecca Gilling and Peter Cousins, and which was shown to European audiences (it has also been used for all the Australian reruns, so I'm not sure why it is not included on the DVD). But really, we ought to be grateful that it was released on DVD at all!
33 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2007
I enjoyed this mini-series, finding it quite addictive to watch, despite the shoulder pads, perms, bizarre now-dated fashions and the way all the women woke each morning and exited the swimming pool with their make up perfectly in place! As with the previous reviews I agree it a pain that the final episode ends with "loose ends" but if you go to "en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Return_to_Eden " you will find out how they tied these up by re-shooting the final episode which wasn't included on this DVD. Well worth a watch in my opinion.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
I'd remembered the TV series through 'sentimental eyes' of youth - I
now realise, just a bit of time wasting so-called entertainment. Australia does so much better films....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
I have been looking for some time now for this series. It is very old but remember it from child. Very good story. The only thing is there are some more have to find them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
There is nothing to say about the serie itself. Epic. Be prepared to be very frustrated when the last DVD abruptly ends .... That's right, there is no "ending". I remember having seen it on tv though. Why it is not on the DVD is a mystery I guess.
This spoils it. The image / sound quality is not always good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)