Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.64+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2006
Another good F1 review DVD. Includes a build up for each GP as well as quali and race highlights. Both the quali and race highlights make good use of team radio and often include clips that were never shown on ITV- including a particularly amusing moment after a very bad pitstop for McLaren in Canada (I think??) where Ron Dennis goes off on one saying " ****! Why do we bother planning things if they don't work?". Also there are occasional insight pieces such as the breakdown of the many stages of fuelling of an F1 car by the Red Bull Racing team (see China GP coverage). And for the first time they have included some extras including a season preview and some interviews as well as a tribute to Michael Schumacher.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2006
Very pleased with this DVD. Easy to navigate around, contains special features including a tribute to Schumi. Didn't get it untill now after pre-ordering it which was a bit disappointing but the quality of the DVD made up for it. Here are some of the positives and negatives(if any)

Positives

-Everything you need from the 2006 season.

-Includes more action from qualifying.

-Better on-board shots.

-Ben Edwards commentary!!!!!

-Better all-round action.

Negatives

-Could have included more post race action.

So as you can see I really found this DVD a treat before christmas. Now all thats left is to buy the Formula One Yearbook. Buy this if you are a Schumi/Alonso whatever fan. Buy from Amazon for best price(when compared to grand prix legends, cdwow ect,)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2007
OK so the good stuff first, you get almost four hours of review and you get to watch Schumacher breaking down in Suzuka and lose his farewell title which makes me smile every time I watch it, as after years of his domination he finally has luck go against him at last and Alonso rightfully takes the title.

The bad news is considering the amount of time wasted on pointless features which do nothing but distract you from the action.

At Malaysia for example we waste a load of time learning about pitstops and talking to Renaults lollypop man.

At Imola we decide to take six minutes out to look at the career of Gerhard Berger and leave us only four minutes for the race, completely failing to capture any of the excitement and tension of the battle between Alonso and Schumacher.

At Monaco we spend longing learning the track with Tiago Monteiro than we do watching the race.

And by far the most irritating thing is the way we have to constantly look at the pit wall and the garages after EVERY single incident. I can now pick Nick Fry, Christian Horner, John Button and countless others from a crowd due to the amount of time spent watching them watch the race.

The upside of this is you get to play spot the mechanic, seeing if you can spot the Ferrari guy with the daft mustache becomes more fun than Where's Wally.

Some of the footage is entertaining watching Christian Horner jump into a swimming pool in a batman cape at Monaco is hilarious as is Keke Rosbergs reaction to Schumachers little parking trick at Monaco.

So its not bad but it could just be a lot better. Maybe next year.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2007
Hurrah! At last we have a really meaty season DVD! The problem I've found with previous season's are that we spend too long showing the pits or what the city of "insert track location here" is like and not enough race action. This dvd takes things back to reviews of the old early 1990's style showing battles up AND down the field, behind the scenes workings of the teams, some qualifying dramas (more would have been nice though) and even some bonus features such as interviews with Super Aguri Racing.

The review itself is over three hours long which is great and almost everything of importance is here. Ben Edwards is still a great commentator and does well to inject some excitment back into things too. Let's hope the seasons to come are treated the same way as this steller effort!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As with the previous DVDs, this review starts with a run down of the teams and drivers. There's a mentioning of any new rules and of course the new 'shoot out' style qualifying system.

It wasn't a great start to the season for McLaren and the DVD kicks off with some dramatic footage of Kimi Raikonnen spinning and driving away with just three wheels. Alonso and Renault were keen to keep hold of their championships whereas Ferrari and Schumacher had something to prove after a pretty poor showing in 2005 - ultimately the season turned into a cat-and-mouse chase between the two world champions and it came pretty close at times!

The DVD is not guilty of ignoring the rest of the action in order to just concentrate on the two main contenders; battles further back in the pack are covered and no matter who your favourite driver is, there'll be footage of their moments - be they awesome overtakes, spin-offs, or burning engines! You get a complete look at the season and as well as lots of racing footage there are interviews with drivers, clips of the after-race press conferences and as before, each circuit brings you a qualifying lap with commentary by a driver. Depending on the driver this can be either interesting or dull.

The DVD gives you the option to watch the full review or to watch individual races. There are some extra features too including a tribute to Michael Schumacher and an interview with Ron Dennis. However, the most interesting extras are already in the review. There are mini features between races, for example there is a look at pit stops, detailing what is involved, and how crucial they are.

This is the season which saw the retirement of Schumacher (later to return in 2010) and his 2006 season was typical of the German uber-driver containing both stunning driving, and also controversy.

If you forgot how tense and dramatic the season was then this will bring it all back!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2007
This was another great year for Formula One! To me, it is certainly getting better and with 24 cars next year, I cant not wait to see the start of a new season as it seems to get better each year! But the 06 was entertaining from start to finish with some great racing and some good battles, especially between Fernando and that German driver, forgot his name......nah Michael and it was tense til the last race, but Fernando Alonso proves that he is the new guy now at the top and he deserved the title for the 2nd year now!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2011
Being an avid F1 supporter these season review DVDs are not only excellent value for money but the perfect way to look back over an F1 season in a time frame that offers enough detail but doesn't overwhelm. Always paying great attention to detail ensuring all teams get fair coverage and allowing you to enjoy past race seasons for years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2009
This dvd is a brilliant buy.
As I am new to Formula 1 it definately gave me an insite into the sport and got me up to date with what was going on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Very badly made summary of the 2006 season. Will not be buying any more from the series, Not sellers fault, just badly filmed and edited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
As with the others in the series an excellant review of the years F1 season. Would highly recommend for any F1 fan.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)