Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
35
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2017
The film abounds with humor from misunderstandings.
Plus lines like (son played by Amitabh Bachchan), "What did you have (to eat)?" Reply (father played by Bachchan senior) " Can't remember her name". He promised his dying wife he would live the life he never lived whilst she was alive!

Against this backdrop two marriages are failing apart. Both have run their course. Maya's through lack of passion on her part, she loves her husband, but is not in love with him, unlike him.

There is no point in continuing a marriage, when it doesn't meet the needs of both partners.
At least the ending is more honest, than the pretense a marriage must be preserved, at all costs, to preserve the facade, what will others think. Or for the sake of the child, as if children were so stupid as not to notice something amiss.
The breakup is painful. Things that need saying are said. The errant couple thrown out by their respective spouses, thinking they are doing the other a favor, lie to each other, over the phone. Believing the others marriage intact, they never see each other again.

Three years later, at her ex-husbands (who has forgiven her) wedding, Maya learns the truth, from her old lovers ex-wife. Upon his confession, she couldn't forgive Dev and they divorced. The ex-wife says to Maya "punishment is living with Dev".
She too her someone who is keen on her, "well you know I'm waiting" . It's just she's not ready, not yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
amazing dvd, a must watch
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2006
This is an emotionally gripping and controversial film about two married people who fall in love with each other. I know it has attracted a lot of criticism because of that but it's quality will outlast the controversy. Fantastic acting, beautiful sets, a dialogue that crackles with tension and sensational music (it doesn't get any better than 'Rock and Roll Soniye')will make this movie a classic. The dinner table confrontation between SRK and Amitabh Bachchan was worth the entrance fee alone. My asian girlfriend loved the first part but hated the ending - you'll have to make your own mind up about it - but don't let others make it up before you've even seen it!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2007
Karan's name equates with quality and the director and polished script writer has an attention to detail and KANK is another testimony of his ability to grasp human relationships. What makes relationship work/break but at the same time the fine line between friendship and more than friends between the opposite sexes! KANK is a movie which combines a lot of emotion and looks at the bonding of mariage which is supposed to be a holy institution but then people change and when like the weather after the storm there is the sun which pops out. KANK is just like that - detailing the relationship of 2 mariages which are hitting the rocks blended by some memorable tunes, MITWA! This movie deserves to be seen and one does not see how it lasts just above 3 hours!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2008
This film takes some challenging issues (for Bollywood) and gives them the sumptuous Karan Johar treatment. It follows two flawed (ie wounded) people on their journey to healing and redemption. The setting is not classic Bollywood, dealing as it does with the angst and preoccupations of contemporary, affluent young people in a modern New York setting, more Hollywood in flavour (although being Bollywood there IS melodrama and of course fabulous music numbers!). Once I got over that and realised that it was not going to deliver the classic Bollywood wish fulfilment within the traditional social framework of `punishment' for the transgressors and 'happy ever after' for the morally upright, I was able to enjoy it in its own right.

I know a lot of people have got hung up on the infidelity, but for me the film was about different kinds of love, trying to be authentic in how that love is expressed, and how the pain of unhealed wounds prevents people from being true to themselves. The two leads have each made an error in choosing to marry for 'the wrong type of love'. Dev (SRK) & Rhea (Preity) were essentially college sweethearts, each with their own driven ambitions. From their opening conversation, it is clear that it is a childish, fun-times type of love and they should have remained as old college buddies. Thus, when tragedy strikes at the height of Dev's career, there is not enough in the relationship to sustain him and support his healing.

Maya (Rani) has more of a sibling type of love for Rishi (Abishek), since Rishi's father, Sam(Amitabh) raised them both. She also has wounds (orphaned herself and unable to have children) which together with gratitude and perhaps loneliness have led her to marry but again her wounds are not being healed within her marriage either.

The initial mistake of marrying these partners put fault lines through the foundations of their respective marriages, which over time have become cracks. The more Dev and Maya try to 'conform' and pretend, in order to patch up these cracks the more their pain intensifies and these cracks grow into ever widening chasms. The big difference when they meet each other is that from the very beginning, even before their emotions are involved, their interaction is honest. They can be themselves, making an authentic, intimate connection and thus, at last, their healing begins. This process is brought out further in the deleted scenes, explicitly exploring Maya's obsessive compulsive cleanliness issues for example.

Interestingly, when things finally come to a head, the 'authentic' characters, Rishi and Rhea, have an honest reaction, end their marriages, heal and move on most quickly. Maya and Dev have a final lesson to learn and are, at this critical juncture not able to be honest with each other, both pretending to have patched up their marriages and THIS is the reason why they suffer a further 3 years in the wilderness, not because they have been `unfaithful'. I think Karan Johar is trying to say the real act of unfaithfulness is in marrying and tying up another person to you when you know in your heart of hearts that you can not give them real authentic love from the heart and soul. It is obvious that Amitabh's character totally 'gets' this and whilst his behaviour is supposedly scandalous, he never wavers in his honesty and the joie de vivre that this has liberated.

This is a bold message for a Bollywood movie, but since divorce is on the rise and arranged marriages are being increasingly supplanted by love marriages among the movie-going audience, the classic Bollywood themes of Duty and Honour need to also make room for dialogue about emotional maturity and authenticity in choosing your life-partner. For this alone, I applaud this film. When this is put together with all the Karan Johar hallmarks -superb cinematography, lavish production and costume design, exquisite music, beautiful A-list cast, genuine comedy and deep emotion it earns every one of its 5 stars.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
I loved it...saw it when it first came out, and absolutely loved it.
I know that's not much help as a review, but i thought Abishek was incredible, the emotional scenes were handled well and with dignity, the love scenes were everything a love scene should be, and some of the comedy was cheesy almost but they really pulled it off....
certainly one of my all-time favourites

 Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna [DVD]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2010
Very slow moving it took about 2 hours of patiently watching this movie before it started heading anywhere. A couple of nice songs and picked up towards the end but not as good as my asian friend recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2016
I haven't seen many Bollywood films, OK a few, OK a couple, unfortunately I can't rate this any higher than three stars because it just wasn't as good as Kal No Haa Ho. I did enjoy this, it made me laugh, go a little teary, care and want a happy ending for the characters, but not as much as Kal Ho Naa Ho, also since I have watched Kal Ho Naa Ho I have been listening to the songs a lot which are fantastic, I won't be able to say the same for this, I don't really remember the songs in this, let alone liking them, so it was a bit of a let down.
However (spoiler here) I'm so glad Shah Rukh Khan got a happy ending!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
This HIndi Film comes with english subtitles and concerns two couples living in USA who are married to the wrong people and how they divorce and re-marry or continue life. The productions standards are high as are the quality of the songs with Shah Rukh Khan and Rani Mukerji acting to their usual high standards and careful nuances of emotions as we watch their voyage towards happiness interrupted by rocks on their path ably supported by other titans of India cinema
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)