Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Red Road [DVD] [2006]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 August 2017
Gritty, grim social realism set in contemporary Glasgow. Superbly paced thriller, persuasively acted. Remarkable artistic control from an outstanding new director. Maybe the bleakness becomes too oppressive, a kind of inverted sentimentality. Great art shows how beauty and ugliness usually exist alongside one another. There's a glimmer of something like deliverance here but if life were really so unrelentingly brutal, there'd be little point going on. There's a point at which a certain kind of verisimilitude tips over into misanthropy. Ken Loach gives us something to rejoice in even when we're sharing hideous deprivations.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2011
Set in Glasgow, a woman who watches closed circuit TV all day for the police gets obsessed with a
particular man she believes may be a criminal (shades of 'Rear Window'). She personally starts to
track him, wrapping us up in her voyeurism.

Gradually, piece by piece, the whys behind the story fall into place, and we are ultimately lead to some
very emotional territory. Perhaps the ending twists are a bit pat, or quick, but they worked for me. If
Mike Leigh made a Hitchcock film, it might be something like this. (An amazing version of `Love Will
Tear Us Apart' over the end credits gave me shivers).

Tremendously impressive for a first feature (or a 10th feature for that matter!).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2017
captivating!!!! frightening, very real,,!!! ,moving in the extreme,

[ a must watch.

too good a film to not watch!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2017
Filthy, deranged, typical scottish movie depicting the harsher side of society in this country.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2018
a superb but disturbing movie. portrayal of the Leading character is very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2011
I watched this recently when it was on late night tv. I wasn't expecting much but was absolutely glued to the screen. The excellent acting and a sense of impending doom throughout the film made for an entertaining couple of hours. Set in Glasgow and with a cast of wonderfully realistic dysfunctional characters it is not for the faint hearted but well worth a watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2018
Prompt delivery. Item as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2013
It's a pretty disturbing story set in one of Glasgow's less attractive areas but it's really well acted and the story grips you. It's not the fastest paced film ever but it's worth sticking with. It also raises some interesting questions about the role of CCTV in our daily lives not to mention the consequences of our stupid actions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 July 2013
Hello,
Because i live in the Netherlands i am not a native English speaker. Because of the accents and the noisy surroundings of the actors i need to much focus on trying top understand what they are saying. I think Amazon should indicate if there is some kind of subtitle available on the products they offer. It is okay if the subtitle is in english. I also did buy the first collection of Taggart with Macmanus. Easier to understand, maybe because they are using better actors? Hope my next shipment contains more movies with subtitles. Don't wanna ask previous buyers if there are subtitles available. Should be Amazon who provides this information. Kind greetings, Edward
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2017
A tough film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)