Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
39
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2017
I watched it when it first came out and it left a good impression so I thought to watch it again. I didn't think it was that great this time round. The story is interesting but a bit poorly executed and the acting is kinda shoddy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Great little film , well worth the money .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
A very simple story nothing brilliant however a good movie to watch. The cast is well known and there is a chemistry but everything is on the surface nothing deep
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2007
This is just such a gorgeous, rich, delightful romantic comedy. A really fabulous feel-good movie which I thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend highly to anyone who loves such films as 'Imagine Me and You', and 'Love Actually'. It has plenty of laugh out loud scenes, as well as more tender, moving moments, and is just a thoroughly entertaining way to spend an hour and a half! Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2007
Nina's Heavenly Delights is a colourful cockle warming and entertaining love story. The acting from the two leads, Laura Fraser and Shelly Conn gives the film a depth amidst the lightheartedness and the soundtrack and Bollywood musical dashes are just plain fun.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 September 2016
In this 2006 fantasy RomCom drama, Nina Shah (Shelley Conn) returns home for her father's funeral only to discover the family are selling the restaurant to pay off his gambling debts. However, Nina wants to save the restaurant by winning the national "Best in the West Curry Competition" for a third time -a bet her father started, but things get complicated when she falls for Lisa (Laura Fraser) who also owns half of the restaurant.
The first things about this are the sharp picture and crisp sound. There’s also plenty of humour in the back of it all, [Art malik running the ‘Jewel in the Crown’] and lots of light hearted moments. The colours are vibrant and the music a quirky mix of pop and Indian. This also manages to mix ‘Bollywood’ and Britflix really well, introducing many believable and colourful characters into the mix.
The disc has no features other than basic play, scene selection and trailer. Rated PG there is little here to offend other than some mild cussing and lesbian kissing, but it cleverly avoids introducing sensationalist sex and nudity. This has a kind of ‘Strictly Ballroom’ feel but set in Scotland amongst the curry houses, but the humour is much the same, being about forbidden relationships, lots of hidden secrets and isn’t afraid of poking fun at itself. Truly entertaining and a fun ***** that’s massively underated.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2007
Just received this movie the other day and watched it right away. Oh wow. This is such a wonderful blend of comedy, drama, lush food and lighting, and beautiful scenery, combined with a sweet love story. There's a nice blend of cultures with the Scottish & Indian cultures, and it doesn't seem forced or stereotyped. All in all, great performances from Shelly Conn (Nina) and Laura Fraser (Lisa). Recommend it highly.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2007
Nina's Heavenly Delights(2006)is a cracking little gem. Laura Fraser and Shelly Conn provide a superb and believable preformance. I discovered this film by accident on a movie channel, and just got totally engrosed. It is a clever mix of Bollywod Meets Scotland. The soundtrack is clever too. Lots of well known songs amid unknown tracks with a clever asian influence. I am not at all a bollywd fan. Bride and Prejudice was so bad I could only watch 20 mins before turning it off. But this film is a good mix. Its also about time that more Asian gay folk are recognised in main stream and given a voice. The character 'Bobby' is entertaining. I just enjoyed it emencely.Its light hearted with an intense love story - infact a few love storys!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2008
Lovely film!

It is sweet and tender, funny, camp and just great. It has a Bollywood flavour but it is also firmly in the chick flick, rom-com mould too.

As has been said, if you liked "Imagine me and you" then you will love this too. Shelley Conn is just wonderful, I adored her in the BBC's recent "Mistresses" and she is simply gorgeous. Laura Fraser is good too and the two of them are excellent together.

The supporting cast are great. the younger sister is perfectly pitched, a funny character and Art Malik (why do I keep thinking Smeeta Smitten, Showbiz Kitten?) puts in a dignified performance.

It is a sweet fantasy, coming out is rarely as easy as this but there is one truth hidden away inside this film. Your Mum always does really know.

It is nice to see happy "girl gets girl" endings too, more positive lesbian images are just what we need.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2008
Firstly I want ot say that this is a good movie! The leads & supporting roles are likable.The story flows mostly very nicely.
What really annoyed me was the fact that whenever the two leads are at their sparkling best, the camera fades to black.CUT! Next day. No idea what happened. Generally not a bad idea to leave some things up to the viewers imagination, but well... not everything.
If you want a family friendly movie to watch with your parents before your coming out talk then go for it!
Otherwise, don't expect too much sweet lurve...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)