Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2006
After the monumental success of The Finn Brother's most recent album 'Everyone is Here' and the subsequent tour It's good to see Tim Finn back to work so quickly. It's testament to a man clearly in love with music and one who still has the drive after all these years.

I think it's fair to say that Tim's career was in danger of ending after his voice deteriorated during the late 90's, but he persevered and by embracing a new, gruff style both 'Say it is so' and particularly 'Feeding the Gods were excellent. In 'Imaginary Kingdom' however I think he has lost his inhibitions about his voice and has written songs as he always would have, which is both rewarding and slightly damaging.

On the plus side there's a greater variety of songs, from the catchy 'Couldn't be Done', to the wonderfully melodic 'Midnight Coma', though I must admit to thinking the vocals are at times poor, and having gone to see him in concert not too long ago I know he can still perform the higher pitched songs better - perhaps he was a little impatient with laying down a couple of tracks.

Ultimately though the songwriting shines through and this is still an album very much worth listening to - like 'Time and Tide' all those years ago I believe this is an album Tim wrote for himself, and as such it holds a particularly personal glow that reverberates through the songs.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2006
do not read other half-baked reviews - this album is outstanding, a real grower demanding repeated listens until it hooks you in and unveils its charm to you!!!!

one reviewer states it is too short - nonsense! Aren't some of the best albums of our time, punchy and to the point!!

Anyone who really appreciates the split enz, tim finn, crowded house, finn brothers & neil finn songline will love this CD!

Highly recommended.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2006
Although Tim Finn's post-Split Enz exploits are inextricably linked to his brother Neil and the success of their three subsequent collaborations (1991's Woodface (as part of Crowded House), 1995's Finn and 2004's Everyone is Here), he has ploughed a separate furrow as an energetic, passionate and melodic songster himself. 1992's Before and After seemed to suggest consolidated world-wide success and we all awaited the next big thing. Unfortunately, though loved by his fans, Say It Is So made no impression and was only originally available in the UK on import. Feeding the Gods, however, in spite of no official release in the UK, saw a return to a brasher, more hard hitting style, ending with the rousing Phil Judd collaboration, Incognito in California and the recent Finn Brothers world tour has not dimmed his energy.

Imaginary Kingdom kicks off with Couldn't Be Done, a song already getting Radio 2 airplay, and reminiscent of his very first solo album, 1984's Escapade, in its jaunty, bouncy feel. From then on we're presented with a variety of styles ranging from the mid-paced singalong (Still the Song) - like an updated 'Good Together' from Say It Is So to the rousing blues of Show Yourself. Beyond that the album entertains without wholly engaging. Ballads like Astounding Moon threaten to enrapture, but somehow don't quite make it and Precious appears no more than a filler. However, in Dead Flowers and Resting Your Hand, there is much to love - and the best is kept until last. Unsinkable appears to commemorate his young family, perhaps the driving force behind his recent newly found creativity. An incessant drumbeat, whispered vocals, the sweetest melody and orchestration reminiscent of Massive Attack's Unfinished Sympathy, it leaves you wanting more as the drums fill the song and rush it away.

The album grows on you with each listen, and while it doesn't stir as much as his work with brother Neil, it should bring Tim Finn some overdue recognition as a strong performer in his own right.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2006
Tim Finn has explored many areas of his personality in his music from his relationships to his very raw (but well considered) emotional response to life. This album takes him deeper into introspection and by so doing, takes us along for our own personal reflections. If you ask "What is a songwriter's job?" it is answered with this set of recordings. This music grows with every listening, like most good music, and takes you deeper into how each of us thinks. As an artist Tim Finn continues to amaze and impress and grow.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2006
The album starts of with the excellent and quirky song "Couldn't be done" which is very reminiscent of Split Enz. The production sounds a lot like "Real Love" and "Free as a Bird" (Beatles), very slick and with some nice slide guitar.
I was impressed and immediately taken with the first 4 tracks. After that ... I can't really say that anything stands out. Which is a shame.

Sorry Tim. Thought you were great in Bristol on the last Finn bros concert. Shame you aren't coming to Wales to promote your new album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2006
Tim Finn holds a special place for me. He is the man behind one of my absolute favorite bands, Split Enz. His solo work was often been marred in my ears by sounding too much like the 80's, even for the time. But there are some great tunes over the years, like Fraction Too Much Friction and Underwater Mountain. His last two albums were really good, with an edge I haven't heard from Tim since the Split Enz days. After those came a Finn Brothers album verging on the divine if that's an apropriate word. And now, Tim, being inspired and more prolific than his brother it seems, is here again with Imaginary Kingdom.

I gave this album 5 stars, despite 2 songs that I just can't feign interest in. In spite of that, this is just such a great pop album. There's this feeling of it being a married couple, who have been around for a while, and now have fallen in love all over, and walk hand in hand on the beach and can't get enough of eachother. Then there's the pacific wibe on some of the tracks, like catnip for a Norwegian stuck in a dark and cold November Oslo.

I wish he could have brought Split Enz with him to Scandinavia for a continuation of the re-union tour, but this album goes a long way to soothe the pain!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2007
I agree with one of the other reviews,the first 4 songs are great the rest are fillers.

After having this for abit it`s still not grown on me,which is in itself something that I`d never thought I`d have to try and do with a Tim Finn CD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
Tim had a hard act to follow after the perfect Finn Brothers Everyone is Here but he has done it with style. This compares to the best of Crowded House, Split Enz and the Finn Brothers. Buy it, sit back and enjoy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
I love crowded house and bought the finn brothers Cd which I enjoyed alot took the plunge and bought Tim finns CDs that are not imports. Found this worderfull CD with catchy thought provoking tunes. Astounding moon is worth the money it .......especially at this price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2008
What a pleasant surprise this was - Imaginary Kingdom had passed me by when it was first released, and I only came across it on Amazon. It's treasures really make themselves known after 3-4 listens. There are quite a few real gems here, that would have fit comfortably onto the Finn Brothers' classic Everyone is Here, or even onto Woodface - yes, they're that good.

Very clever lyrics and infectious melodies - my favourites are Horizon, Midnight Coma, both catchy bass driven songs, and the beautiful Winter Light, which like quite a few Finn brothers' songs, walks a fine line between melancholy and revelation.

Thank God for Tim and Neil Finn, they're the kind of songwriters who improve our time on earth.

You won't be disappointed, especially if you get this CD for under a fiver!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)