Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
72
4.0 out of 5 stars
Flash Gordon: The Complete Series [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 October 2017
Elstree dvd box set release: Of course the 3 series of Flash Gordon are worthy of 4 stars. They had vim and vigor, constant bounce to the plots, and a nostalgic glow for the past can be had.. for Charles Middleton as Ming and a voice that could stop a planet, the lovely Dale Arden, the naughty Aura. The variety of strange areas of Mongo or Mars is pure unfettered pulp hurtling toward inevitable tragi-comic obstacles, yet compelling as cliffhangers taken in small doses. Buster Crabbe throwing stunt men about is legendary, worthy of Johnny Weismuller, to some extent the tussles and wrestling and ju-jitsu being almost constant they become hypnotic ballet. How anyone can overpower an Octo-sac or an Orangupoid is equally a mythos unto itself, but Buster Crabbe can outswim and outfence any nemesis. There is a fine line of dreamscape, nightmare, pantomime, camp and boys own derring-do. Subsequently there is a great line of fashion for those so inclined. If the death-defying doesn't compel you to watch then at the very least there is someone before you about to get the sharp end of a torture device whilst clothed in a wild array of armour and chiffon...

However...Elstree in the uk as dvd releaser- chose to release the worst copy of anything they could dig up from a deserted sewer. As per usual. When compared to the Image Entertainment release for example, from usa, the picture is almost the difference twixt blu ray and a vhs upon which someone has re-recorded something in longplay for the zillioneth time. Seek out superior fare. Indeed, public domain fodder can often be hit and miss (understatement). Elstree have a proven track record of scraping something off the back of roadkill in order to fill their quota of product. Try hunting down some labels that actually care about the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
Yes it's the complete set of all 3 series but the picture quality is not up to much. Agreed, the series are over 70 years old but I have seen MUCH better prints of "Mars" and "Universe" not all that long ago. The elements used seem to be 16mm prints made for the 1950s re-releases and some have clearly been through the projector many times. A pity then, that such mediocre source elements have been used in what could have been the definitive collection.

Specifically, the picture consistently has very poor contrast and is generally very bleached, losing a great deal of highlight detail across all episodes. For some reason it has also been cropped quite noticeably (pay attention to the opening titles to see what I mean). Elements are definitely still in existence with more of the original frame and a far superior picture.

There are actually free episodes on YouTube that are more pleasing to look at.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2010
Just when it was getting interesting they pull the plug. Was this one on Fox? The characters were interesting without taking themsleves too seriously. Being a fan of the OTT widescreen version this was a refreshing re-run of the now archaic and amusing for all the wrong reasons Buster Crabbe outing. The plot was building nicely - then oblivion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2008
So this wasn't the best sci-fi series ever to come on television but for some reason I began to like it more and more as the series progressed. And yes it is cheesy, but so what, just don't take it too seriously and I'm sure you'll like it. It was never intended to be up there with the likes of Battlestar or Farscape but it's still a good series with some fun characters.

When it first started off I wasn't to keen on the concept of a wormhole from Earth to Mongo but it worked out quite well in the end, even if it was kind of a rip off of the Sliders idea. Also, some people complained that the stories were always on Earth instead of Mongo, but as it went along, the storyline shifted more to Mongo and the story revolving around Ming and his daughter Aura (who is hot by the way). There was also a lot of great action too and gunfights. One of the best performing character's would probably have to be the Ming, the benevolent father (played by John Ralston). He made his character seperate to the other Ming I remembered and I appreciated that. The other actors did a good job but nothing too special.

Anyway I overall recommend this series but don't put it down until you've stayed until midway because it does improve. Also just wanted to mention something. It states here that there are 22 epsiodes but when I finished watching the series I noticed on tv.com that there are only 21 episodes so I'm notsure if there's an unaired ep or if the pilot was a double ep. I can't really remember. And I'm hoping that when the region 1 version comes out they will include some good extras like a few commetary tracks or something.
22 Comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2008
This is one of those wooden Sc-Fi series that just grows on you and before you know it you can't wait to see the next episode.

It is filled with Hot Chicks who spend far to many hours in the gym (look out for Ming's daughter), which can also be said about actor who plays Flash Gordon instead of those all important acting lessons! In fact: you'll find yourself rooting for "Ming the Merciless" (not to be confused with the ex-Lib Dem Leader) played by John Ralston who clearly can act!

This series is closer to Lexx than the tiresomely serious Battlestar Glactica series, which I also own. Of course, its no where near the Stargate franchise, but if you can appreciate a less full on version of Lexx with bigger budget then you'll like this series. I do also own the compulsory Firefly series and movie for Sc-Fi fans.

Worth a buy at only £26 with the knowledge it's closer to the Lexx series than Battlestar Glactica(very boring in its 3rd season). Enjoy the ham acting with an open minded.
11 Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2016
If you look closely this handsome box reveals a terrfying truth..it's an Elstree Hill release which means terrible,snowy,hissing with flickers sometimes with little streaks of colour on your 3rd generation VHS print they have transfered on a disc with no regaurd just like the other Elstree Hill DVDs I have reviewed,most perplexing given that these discs are public domain now and have been restored on region 1,this included in a glossy red"book edition",contains all 3 stores in a far better transfer,visual and audio than this,yet another hopeless no excuses awful release from the folk who couldn't care less folk at Elstree Hill,and no excuses,as I say there are available on reg 1 ,Elstree Hill are the worst DVD label in the UK!!!
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 January 2013
I first saw this series (and the original Buck Rogers) Christmas 1979 in Scotland on my brand new Black and White portable TV while snowed in for three days.
Watching it again brings back those 'happy days' memories. It has not lost any of its charm, even though we are now conditioned to expect amazing special effects. I still think the rockets look like the old Fairy liquid bottles, modified by Blue Peter and then set on fire.
To me it's lost none of the magic when I first saw it, and my son is a new convert, though he did ask why the world was only in black and white and not colourful like now in the olden days.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Got this as a presant ' He loves it - nice box as well.. I beleave value for money '' and came in couple days ''~*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Great old time Saturday morning films
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
so cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)