Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
80
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2007
A lot of Neil Young fans just seem to buy the odd one of his records these days. In so doing, it's easy to just assume he's gently losing his way, or isn't as vital as he used to be. That is just a mistake, and this film is the most potent evidence of this fact. I've been away from the music buying game for a while, and now I'm back I've been acquainting myself with Shakey's more recent output. On the whole, he is still magnificent.

This performance shows a performer reaching old age, reflecting on family and the state of the world, and producing some genuinely moving and relevant songs. Young has integrity in spades, and to quote the man himself, he is "as real as the day is long". I have not felt such sincerity in a performance... probably ever. It is absolute proof of Young's passion for music, and as such is beautiful and inspiring. I can think of no one else today producing such personal and yet universal music.

With it's country feel it's probably not for all Young's fans, but it's another fine addition to a remarkable body of work that, along with the recent "Lving With War" and "Performance" series hints at a great deal more vital work still to come - both new compositions and archive material.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
neil young performs brilliantly as usual.the songs from Prarie Wind and some old favourites.great interviews, background stories. a real feel-good factor to the dvd would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
Absolutely brilliant! It's Neil Young so what else would you expect? Destined to be remembered long after the vacuous Take That, Cheryl wot's 'er name, One direction, etc. ad nauseum are just a footnote in history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Excellent Movie set in the Old Ryman Theater.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
bought for family member...arrived on time and they are pleased with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2017
good D.V .D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
I really enjoyed watching this, some good stories and Neil Young playing live is always great to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
exellent, brilliant, moving, lovely melodies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2007
Although I recall buying Neil Young's albums 'Harvest' and 'After The Gold Rush' back in the 'seventies I still would'nt be his biggest fan.I bought this dvd on a whim after seeing it reduced on Amazon....and I am bowled over by it.

Recorded in Nashville its a gorgeous blend of easy going ballads and out and out rockers.Young is supported by Emmylou Harris and his wife Pegi and many other fine musicians.Its a showcase recording for his 'Prairie Wind' album but there are also reminders of the 'old' days.I particularly liked the superb 'Old Man' and the rocking 'Heart Of Gold'.'Needle And The Damage...' also gets an excellent airing.

Yes....I'm not a huge Neil Young fan but I still love beautiful music played with feeling by excellent musicians.

Now, where are those two old classic albums I know I keep somewhere?...
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2006
A superb, specially recorded concert film by Jonathan Demme. Heart Of Gold features Neil Young and the band of old friends with whom he recorded his recent Prairie Road album as well as a sparingly used gospel choir and small string and brass sections.

The first half of the concert film features pretty much all of the recent LP - pleasant, intimate, country-tinged songs, probably not classic NY but the new songs have their moments and show where the artists is now. Moving into old age, Young seems largely at peace with himself though there are still flashes of the old anger (his next project after this concert was the ferocious Living With War LP!).

Clearly grateful to his loving family and supportive friends, this sentimental, moving performance goes into the second half where Neil plays the classics. Uniformally brilliant, this includes a beautiful Harvest Moon, touching fingerpickin' Old King and classic, solo Old Laughing Lady. Other songs featured such as the superb I Am A Child and Old Man possibly owe their inclusion to the recent death of Neil's father to whom the film is dedicated.

Recorded at the legendary Ryman Auditorium at Nashville, Heart Of Gold is a exquisitely-made, intimate concert film by one of elder statesmen of rock whose singing and playing get better and better. It led to me playing all my old Neil Young albums again which must surely be the point. A brilliant, moving performance.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse