Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
22
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 23 November 2006
And to think that just a few short years ago, Thunder were shutting up shop and yet,here we are with what I think will turn out to be one of my favourite no frills rock album of this year.

I have to say though that when I first put this in my player and I listened to the opening (and title) track that my heart sank - it just did not seem possible that after the blustering performance of "Magnificent Seventh" that we could have descended into this little number as a precursor of their eighth studio session - but, then we launched into Dirty Dream and everything was uphill from thereon in to the end of this magnificent disc!

What you see is certainly what you get with Thunder and, as one other reviewer succinctly put it - "everything is destined for live shows" and one would certainly hope so - never setting the world alight with brilliance, but for rock solid riffs and rythmn, superbly clear vocals and workmanlike guitar playing, you'd go a long way to top these guys.

Just buy this ear candy and immerse yourself in some good, old fashioned rock music - you will NOT regret it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
This is one of their best albums .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2006
Since Thunder reconvened in 2002, they have steadily been rebuilding their profile with extensive touring of the UK, Europe and Japan, alongside some prestigious festival appearances. 'Robert Johnson's Tombstone', Thunder's third album since their reunion and their eighth in all, sees the guys once again deliver a solid set of rockers and power ballads which (mostly) is exactly what their utterly devoted fans would expect.

This time around however, the band and specifically writer Luke Morley have tried a few new things out; the title track which leads this album off has a distinctly bluesier feel - appropriate, considering the subject of the song is celebrated bluesman Robert Johnson, around whose legend the album artwork is themed, with extrovert drummer Harry James suitably attired in 'devil' horns, suit and face paint.

Following the title track, 'Dirty Dream' keeps things bubbling; a mid-paced rocker typical of the band's style, and the lyrical theme concerns those fantasies people keep secret about those colleagues they see regularly. 'A Million Faces' comes next, a power ballad that treads a familiar 'light and shade' path; In the style of the début album's 'Love Walked In', Luke Morley's acoustic starts things off, before the band kick in all guns blazing for the second chorus. The band pull this trick off time and again thanks to the incredible vocals of singer Danny Bowes; he doesn't just sing these songs, he FEELS them and the effect never fails to startle the listener. 'Don't Wanna Talk About Love'; a rock track built on a Morley riff chunkier than an entire warehouse filled with Yorkie bars, follows before the track chosen as their single: 'The Devil Made Me Do It'. An upbeat track whose lyric is written from the viewpoint of an easily-tempted indvidual who blames 'the devil' for his misdeeds, this song has a particularly witty lyric from Morley. I was especially amused by the 'tissues and tension' line in the first verse!

This song has scraped into the UK charts thanks to a co-ordinated campaign by the band's loyal fans, and they were rewarded with a valuable piece of airplay on Radio One's chart show.

Things take a darker turn lyrically with 'Last Man Standing'; dealing with the 'war on terror' this song is a biting rebuke to Messrs Bush and Blair for the way they have handled the crisis (example line: 'How can you say... Shock And Awe will win the day?') Reminiscent of the more serious tone on much of the band's third album, 'Behind Closed Doors', it is a rare politically-inspired lyric but no less incisive.

'My Darkest Hour' is probably the biggest departure from the typical 'Thunder Sound' on the whole album. This song is a melancholy tune, just acoustic guitar, cello and vocal, once again delivered magnificently by Danny Bowes.

The lads get back to rocking out with 'Andy Warhol Said'; another witty lyric from Luke Morley lamenting the sudden rise of 'celebrities' with no discernable talent. As the song succinctly puts it: 'Everyone gets a shot, if you're any good or not!' 'What a Beautiful Day' is next, an uplifiting pop/rock track sung in the first-person; about a man so cheered up by the sight of an attractive girl, that he forgets the fact that the weather is in fact, awful! Contrasting this is 'It's all About You', a slower piano-led song where the person in the song is contemplating whether to end his relationship, as he has noticed her interest in him diminish markedly. Not a million miles away from 'Numb' from the 'Giving The Game Away' album, though this song is not quite as Beatle-esque.

Rounding the album off, another relationship song; 'Stubborn Kinda Love. A rousing rocker to end the album, this concerns a more love/hate type of relationship.

To conclude: another strong set of songs excellently played and produced, and yet again a stellar vocal performance from Danny Bowes. Although there are a few welcome variations this time around, it is nothing drastic and Thunder's fans will be very happy with this album.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2006
From the opening track to the last note; Thunder exhibit the qualities that have kept fans loyal for 10 years. Always incredible live, Thunder have not always captured their live exuberance on disc. The last two albums however have done much to put matters right. Strong hooks, excellent musicianship and Danny Bowes incredibly soulful voice all combine to make this a fine album. Dirty Dream is already one of my favourite Thunder songs and I can't wait to hear them perform it live. Luke Morley again proves he is an excellent song writer and I am amazed that his material hasn't been used by far bigger bands with far less song writing talent.

If you like classic rock in the vein of Free/Bad Co/Whitesnake etal but performed by a band who are not stuck in the past, this album is for you. Do yourself a favour; buy this and The Magnificent Seventh - you won't regret it. Do yourself another favour; see them live if you get the chance!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2006
A good, energetic album. Thunder really are a PROPER rock band - it's powerful, fun, doesn't need to be too clever, and its music made for a live show.

Over the years, Thunder have established a staying power which is great in an age of mass produced pop. They are certainly under-rated, sometimes overlooked.

This album has some great stand out tracks - bautiful day is a good'un for the car.

I've purchased this album on the back of the Bowes and Morley albums - offerings from Thunder's singer and guitarist which really are surprisely great CDs and also worth a try. Moving Swiftly along really is a five star album - every track a great one!

I've often felt that Thunder should experiment a little more. They're one of the great British rock bands and with one of the best vocals in the business. Sometime I sense their albums play safe a bit too much - although that said, this album is classic Thunder.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2006
Smokin'!

It is always deepdowndelicious to find bands that you've loved re-attain the pinnacle of their art. This is such a case. Thunder - arguably the greatest contemporary British rock band - hit their peak once again. Track after track surprises and delights as they both rework the classic seams of their repertoire and yet also develop in new directions.

Daniel Bowes proves once again that he has a CLASSIC rock voice and delivers with feeling and passion. Chris Childs and Harry James prove once again the sterling value of a rock solid bass line - but also manage to shine with surprising and inventive arpeggios. Luke Morley, the song writer and guitar virtuoso impresses once again by his ability to write interesting, provocative songs that avoid the cliches of the genre. He maintains that Thunder sense of self-mockery and nottakingoneselftooseriously that is essential to the nolonger18andstupid rock band. He also avoids the 'needtoshowoffoneverysong' pitfall that plagues many great guitarists.

Ben Matthews - for my money an underestimated part of the Thunder package - adds everything with subtle keyboards, guitar and the whole mastering/mixing process.

I particularly recommend the limited edition 2cd version with the acoustic cd of 4 songs. Very intersting to see the same raw song material re-worked in rock adn acoustic format.

I encourage you to strike a blow for people who can write songs, sing and play - support your local rock band - buy this cd NOW!!
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2006
Yes they've done it again, following on from last years "The Magnificant Seventh" Thunder have released "Robert Johnson's Tombstone" and its just that wonderful Thunder experience that we've come to expect from all their other albums. Well done lads keep up the good work

A must for all Thunder fans
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2006
Once again Thunder have produced an outstanding album full of memorable songs, including the absolutely cracking 'Dirty Dream', 'Don't Wanna Talk About Love' and 'What A Beautiful Day' (destined to be concert favourites?). After only a couple of listens I can safely say that there is not one mediocre track on this record. If you're already a Thunder fan there's a good chance you will buy this anyway - after all we know what we're going to get! To everyone else, give it a go and kick yourself for not discovering them sooner. Well done, lads, it's great to have you back!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
In these days of flash in the pan musical acts, it’s refreshing to be able to review a band’s eighth studio album; a band that have been together on and off for nearly two decades. Knowing the fickle nature of music fans, it does give me a little proud moment to be able to say that I’ve been a fan since the debut album, “Backstreet Symphony”, was released in 1989.

Always a pop-rock band with a blues edge, thanks to Luke Morley’s writing, this time the band have named the album after a legendary blues singer, who influenced both the Rolling Stones and Eric Clapton. Robert Johnson supposedly died after being poisoned and there is a legend that says he sold his soul to the devil in return for being able to play the guitar better. Regardless of whether this is true, it is his blues roots that give a clue towards the sound of this album.

Whilst this isn’t quite Thunder’s best album, it certainly stands up well next to any of their other releases. Whilst a little darker musically than some of their earlier albums, it’s full of the effective ballads and the stadium rock tunes that have helped them keep a strong and dedicated fan base for the best part of two decades. It’s an album any existing Thunder fan should own a copy of.

If you’re not a fan of the band, there is a greatest hits album which may be a better place to begin, although this is an album that will give a pretty indicative idea of their sound. Any fans of soft rock and stadium rock music could well enjoy this.

They may write songs about tombstones, but Thunder aren’t dead and aren’t ready to be buried yet. Their eighth studio album is nearly as good as anything they’ve produced and is a treat for any pop-rock fan.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of www.ciao.co.uk, www.thebookbag.co.uk, www.goodreads.com, www.amazon.co.uk and www.dooyoo.co.uk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2006
This new Thunder album is simply a revalation in music. It combines amazing voice of Danny Bowes with the awesome new guitar rhythms. This is why i rate this album EVEN higher than the others...and i give them 5 stars! The new songs on this album seem to contain much more fantastic tunes than the other albums in my opinion. Much like 'Loser' in the album 'Shooting at the Sun'. Thunder cant make rubbish! If you want sound clips, go to [...] unfortunatly none of these clips contain the FANTASTIC guitar solos, so you will all jsut have to buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse