Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
196
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Maltese Falcon (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 July 2015
I watched this last night for the first time in many years and it is still as enjoyable as when I last saw it some thirty years ago. Great cast and I still want to slap Peter Lorre hard!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
A classic that I wanted to see again having recently discovered a copy of the book. It compares very well and the refreshed memory was a pleasant experience. Well worth seeing again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Prompt delivery and in good condition, which after all are the main requirements of a customer. Good film too. Happy. I liked it so any comment I make on a film is purely personal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
The film,of course, is superb, but on top of that you get a whole raft of extras, including a bunch of cartoon shorts, news reels and period trailers you can watch before the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 January 2007
If I see a better film on DVD this year (2007), it's going to have to be quite something to beat this. Based on the novel by Dashell Hammett Bogart plays Sam Spade (Private Detective), a role he was born to play. He and his partner are hired by a woman who claims a man is keeping her and her sister separated. Soon after this things spiral out of control.

The screenplay by John Huston is magnificent. The dialog is sharp and there isn't a wasted breath. Mind you Huston's direction is equally good and as for the the cast, well perfection is the only word I can think of. Peter Lorre as the oily Joel Cairo has never been better than he is in this film. Sdyney Greenstreet is fabulous as Kasper Gutman. Amazingly at the age of 62, and weighing close to 300lbs this was Greenstreet's debut film performance. Finally there is Bogart, an icon certainly, but also a great actor with a huge amount of screen presence. What surprised me watching the film again recently is how small Bogart seemed, but checking the records it turns out he was 5' 10.5".

The film is currently ranked 57th on the IMDB ([...]) all-time top 250 films, which for a film that is 66 years old is pretty amazing. However when you watch it you will find out why.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2007
Timeless cinema! Nearly seventy years old and still the greatest detective film by far. Listen to the dialogue, try not to miss a single word. It's not just a Bogart film, every actor/actress plays their part like they were the starring role. Dashiell Hammett wrote the book and John Huston put it on the big screen. I don't want to end this review with a cliche but I must; they just don't make movies like that anymore!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Really enjoyed watching this old black and white classic. I haven't seen this on t.v for years. They always seem to play Casablanca. This film I think is much better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2016
One of the all-time great noir detective films with dialogue, performances and cinematography that continue to delight. DVD arrived very quickly & in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
Humphrey Bogart was born to be Sam Spade and although the story is quite straight forward it still drawers you in. The dvd is really good quality as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Loved watching it again - hadn't seen it for at least 10 years & had forgotten parts & believed other bits were it that wasn't - if you know what I mean
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)