Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 15 March 2013
I like gypsy tears, very much.
a conundrum for you, I hate sacha baron Cohen acting in anything, but with this movie, his only watchable role, it actually worked, and it was funny while it lasted.
He developed this characters on his tv show, and managed to extend it for a movie release.
Borat, a tv news reporter from the real life Kazikstan ,suited his actual real world professional talents, that of youth tv interviewer , probably taking the piss out of the kids no doubt.
That being the secret of His success, and it is indeed a trick and a conundrum, as
sacha is not able to act anything else convincingly, in fact he is dire , worse than any amatuer .
Yet he believed in Borat so much that he pulled it this one thing off masterfully .
politics drove him , was his motivation, and is the key to his comedy.

He thrives on and relishes making fools of people who have stupid political and are morally judgemental, yet he managed to not only trick the supposed real life cast he confronted with his zany crazy Jew hating boffoon, Borat, he also fooled the cinema going public worldwide into thinking he was not being racist himself, when he chose to label everyone in Kazakstan a antisemite .
Because SAcha really believed in the serious satirical points he was making, and because he wanted his character to be believed by his unsuspecting dumb AMerican victims, he had to place his character of BORAT as coming from a real world , identifiable country.
Much to the outrage of the Kazikstani people and government, originally, but who seem to have learned there is nothing you can do about it, especially when the us army has recently invaded your near neighbours. bUt that is the power of Hollywood, they can sometimes convince you comedy is funny even when politics is not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2017
Seen this film a few times now but couldn't not buy it for the ridiculous low price , it's one of those films that makes you cringe days after you watch it , side splitting is an understatement, still it would only appeal to those those with a warped sense of humour
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 7 December 2007
The free-running sequence in Casino Royale may be breathtaking, but it doesn't quite manage to provide the best fight scene of 2006 - that honor goes to the notorious one in Borat which, like Casino Royale, also involves testicles in an example of dedication by an actor that makes Christian Bale's weight loss in The Machinist look like phoning it in. You have to admire Cohen's cajones (which are on view in more ways than one) as he goes above and beyond the call of duty in his determination to stay in character no matter how hostile the environment he's helped to create. It's pretty easy to spot the faked or partialy faked sequences - the friendly Jewish couple who rent them a room, the children at the ice cream truck, the Pamela Anderson finale - and most of the victims that aren't faked are more than deserving of their fate (the racist rodeo impresario, the frat boys) or handle themselves well (the feminists). Even the villagers currently suing can't really have much of a case: the moment an extra agrees to put a d***o on as a prosthetic arm, it's pretty obvious they're not participating in a documentary. (Hell, they're not even real Kazaks, so it's not as if they're playing themselves!) And yes, it is very funny even if, like most comedies, it does run out of steam in the `serious' last act.

Although there's been some criticism of the exras on the DVD (and it's a shame the great trailer is missing), it's a decent enough package.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2013
I gave this DVD this rating because I find this type of humour funny.

I like the way he has no qualms about asking stupid questions somewhat like Jonathan Routh, of the Candid Camera TV show, and also most time seemingly getting an answer.

However, I did feel that Sasha Baron Cohen occasionally bordered on the edge of stupidity.

I would recommend this to anyone who has a somewhat simple humour without any one getting hurt in the process, unlike some who appear on the “You’ve been Framed” show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2017
A great laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2017
Great dvd and fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2014
Somebody recommended it me and to be honest I'm a bit 50/50 on whether I liked it or not. I found some things funny, but some times I just didn't get it or found it funny at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2016
quite funny but not my type of film .
But the firm provided a great service thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2017
great dvd
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)