Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
51
4.7 out of 5 stars
Innocent Voices [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 March 2017
I was glued to this film. What an awful situation for these kids they were always in a no win situation harrowing and even more so because it really did happen.the executions actually made me cry. This is a must see film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
Voces Innocentes [spanish, subtitled English] is one of those rare classics - a movie that could so easily be overlooked by the world, is relatively difficult to buy but is an absolutely amazing, and beautiful story. Although I had a few tearful moments, the film, which tells the story of Chava, a young boy, who, when is turns of the right age, is taken away from his family along with all the boys of his age to train to be a soldier - and the twists his life takes from there onwards. Innocent Voices is the most fitting title, and I would recommend this to all adults, perhaps not children. Well worth a watch certainly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2016
I was left wondering "we're they really innocent?" I still haven't made up my mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
The film narrates through a young boy's experience of war, his observations and feelings whilst growing up with his family - a single mother doing her best to protect her family and the young boy's efforts to have a normal childhood, it portrays the fear of young boys dreading turning 12 years of age as this is when soldiers randomly select boys and take them away to train them as soldiers. The story will make you reflect on how fortunate you are and how horrific it must be to live in a war zone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2007
The movie "Salvador" made a lasting impression; it was a movie about the political situation in El Salvador during years of civil war, about death-squads and human suffering."Innocent people" is about humans and humanity itself.

I embraced myself for the horrors to come in "Innocent voices" how can movie portray war without blood and terror done in the latest Hollywood fashion. But then again this isn't a Hollywood movie.

The film captures innocence, beauty, tranquility of forest scenario of rivers, in children's games and laughter. Yet the war is always present in uniformed soldiers, stray bullets in the middle of the night, tears of mothers and the inevitable abduction of young boys ear-marked for a grown up's war at the age of 12, a fact ever present in the film.

Stunning performances by young actors and older ones alike! I was at awe the whole time the film ever surprising me. A powerful story played out perfectly on a grand scale and worth every ones time.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2009
the film is a shocking view of the reality in the days of the salvadorian war. it shows how cruel war is and you won't believe what soldiers are able to do. there are scenes I am sure you can't hide your tears. but netherheless for each one who goes through life with open eyes it is a very important work to understand what is going on in the world. the little main actor is amazing playing his part as it really would happen.
also the rest of the actors crew. well directed. good quality in sound and vision. my advice: watch this film. kids under 16 better should watch
it with their parents.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2009
I have been reading through the reviews for this horrific story, yet stupendous film, most of which I thoroughly endorse, but I came upon one by `HAPPY TULIP'(!) which she posted in September 2007 and I could not disagree more with her when she says that you can't show it to children of twelve.
This film is, as she also says, quite brilliant. This is the sort of world cinema production that Hollywood would not even know how to begin to make. It is `brilliant' in that it, in a necessarily harsh and even callous way, defines the brutal reality that is war and the fact that it is very often the children who suffer the most.
There is far too much `cotton-woolling' of 'kiddies' in the UK and North America. That is why Americans were so shocked and surprised by the reality of life when they were attacked on 9/11. This was, after all, the kind of brutality which had hitherto only been perpetrated upon American citizens by other American citizens within their own country - think of the black struggle, as just one example!
`Innocent Voices' is a tragic story but can be a tremendous lesson in learning to abhor the hatred and violence meted out by human beings upon each other. It is therefore necessary that children should be exposed to this reality as early as possible and, in my belief, this film should be required viewing by all children of 11 years and up. By all means sit with them and explain what is happening and be ready to console them if they are distressed. But for goodness sake let them see it. In any case, they need to be distressed! This is, after all, what is happening to children of much younger than eleven all over the world still today.
So, ensure that the children understand clearly that the gratuitous violence of El Salvador, (not to mention the sort which comes out of Hollywood all the time), is totally unacceptable and, rightly directed, hopefully they will the sooner become firmly resolved to be a part of a worldwide movement to ensure that these kinds of vicious regimes cannot exist and they will become better adults for it.
The film is indeed brutal in places - but has its lighter moments, the beauty of the countryside, the relationships within the families - and we are left with a feeling of hope at the end of it all. The hope is actually in the plundered innocence of children themselves. By all means let us preserve the beauty of this childhood innocence as long as possible but there is no reason why it should not be `informed innocence'. I recommend this film to all who are repulsed by war of any kind and take hope from its message. And - thank God for movies that are made outside of the Hollywood studio system!
Ray - The Dorian
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
I saw this film when it first came out and have seen it tens of times since. The film gives you a good image of the everyday life in El Salvador during the war that went on for too long.
It is moving to see how the children have grown up to accept the war as a part of their everyday lives, how they have to choose between becoming a child soldier or a guerilla fighter, what sacrifices the mother has to do to provide her children a 'normal' life. . .
This is a beautiful film that doesn't preach nor point fingers but will make you think.
I have seen this film tens of times and will watch it again and never get bored of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
I watched this movie without reading any of the blurb on the back of the case. I really wasn't prepared for the emotional rollercoaster that this film was. The acting was superb. Leonor Varela shows that she is not just a pretty face, she was brilliant, completely beleivable as a mother struggling to make ends meet and raise small children. Her facial expression during one particular scene with Chava made me cry! As for Carlos Padilla - amazing!
This movie is a true account and some of the content is disturbing. Top marks from the directors for capturing the 'essence of innocence' and how easily that is destroyed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)