Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 5 June 2008
This would have made an excellent EP. When Bob knocks out a good song it's really worth listening to. But truly great tracks such as 'How Beautiful You Are' and 'Just Like Heaven' drown in a horrible porridge of musical indulgence. There are simply too many bad tracks here.

The good ones stand out gleaming like carrots in Saturday night pavement sick. But tricky to pick out without getting slime on your fingers.

But now you can buy individual tracks as mp3 files so all you have do is find out is which are the good ones and which are the bad. Clue: There are 12 horrible tracks and five good ones.
55 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2013
First things first. I love this album and have done for 25 years. It has some of the Cure's best tracks. But it feels bloated and unnecessary in parts, and I've always felt that it would have worked better as a single album akin to either Head on the Door or Disintegration, running somthing like:

Why Can't I Be You
If Only Tonight...
How Beautiful You Are
All I Want

Hey You!
Just Like Heaven
One More Time
Perfect Girl
Thousand Hours

Just like Heaven and Catch are two of the best and most accessible Cure tracks, while Perfect Girl, How Beautiful You Are and A Thousand Hours follow in a similar vein and offer a core of beautiful pop songs to anchor the album around. Why Can't I Be You? has an iconic quality, even if I wouldn't put it up with their best singles. If Only Tonight ... offers a lazy,drugged out groove inflected with a vague Eastern edge. I'd chuck in Hey You!, All I Want and One More Time as the more interesting of the remaining tracks.

The less interesting in my view are the dirge like throwbacks that offer a pale imitation of the dark masterpieces of Faith and Pornography. Porl Thompson had listened to a bit too much Led Zep when putting together some of the guitar parts and we'd all be better off without The Kiss, Torture and the Snake Pit. Icing Sugar is real filler b-side stuff and though Like Cockatoos is OK, it's really no more than that. Shiver and Shake is interesting once or twice to get a listen of Smith's invective against his former bandmate, but otherwise jars, while Fight feels like an inferior version of Push from HotD. Last of all, I'm not sure if Hot, Hot, Hot existed before pizza adverts or if pizza adverts existed before Hot, Hot, Hot, but I'm thinking melting mozzarella from the first bar, which is unhealthy on a number of levels!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2014
The Cure's follow-up to 1985's 'The Head On The Door', sees them expand their sound & lyrical content. There are songs of doomy romanticism, obsessive love & pure venom. Long intro's abound, as Robert Smith allows the music to create its own atmosphere before he sings his songs of love & lust. There is also remarkably little filler for a double album. So, if you wish to purchase this fine album, here's what you can expect:-

1. The Kiss - Great opener, with a four minute assault of spiralling music before Smith cries out.
2. Catch - Short & poppy. One of three singles from the album.
3. Torture - A heavier track in which Smith's very skin is screaming out his torment!
4. If Only Tonight We Could Sleep - A beautiful song of Gothic splendour but with an Eastern flavour. A favourite.
5. & 6. Why Can't I Be You? & How Beautiful You Are... - Two up tempo tracks, with plenty of brass on the former.
7. The Snakepit - A more menacing vibe, as Smith writhes in the snakepit.
8. Hey You! - Short & delirious.
9. Just Like Heaven - With its chiming guitars, this has to be the archetypal Cure song. Should have gone higher in the charts.
10. & 11. All I Want & Hot Hot Hot!!! - Lust takes hold in these two tracks.
12. One More Time - A beautiful, slower paced song, with Smith pleading to be held. The music is glorious.
13. Like Cockatoos - Another wonderful song, with a tune that worms its way into your brain.
14. Icing Sugar - Great drums & bass on this one.
15. The Perfect Girl - Probably my least favourite but it's still a decent track.
16. A Thousand Hours - Smith howls into the wind just to feel his heart for a second.
17. Shiver & Shake - An urgent & angry number.
18. Fight - On the closing track, Smith urges us not to give in to despair but to put all the pain & hurt behind us & move on.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2005
It can be hard to tell what the main theme is to this album. Love or death. On a lighter note, Robert Smith provides us with some superb, pop rock songs like "Just Like Heaven" and provides us with catchy dance beats to songs like "Hot Hot Hot!!!" displaying muscial genius along the way. On a darker side, Smith portrays the darker side of love with epic and truelly gothic tracks like "the kiss" and "the snakepit". The album plays out like a balanced argument displaying the joy and happiness of love and the pain and torture of rejection when i can not be found. This album is fantastic to buy because it suits two main moods; happiness and depresion. The only downside to the album is perhaps the quality of Robert Smith's vocals on certain songs where he is clearly lacking the quality heard in 1985's "The Head On The Door". Nevertheless, this album is perfect for anyone into pop/alternative rock or someone who wants to see what The Cure have to offer.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2006
1985's 'The Head on the Door' & the following year's 'Standing on a Beach/Staring at the Sea'-compilation began to put The Cure on the path to stadium appeal. The Smith-Tolhurst-Gallup-Thompson-Williams line-up one of the key versions of The Cure (even if Tolhurst was a poor keyboard player!) featuring four prinicpal members who would be in the band up to the best-selling 'Wish' in 1992 (following which Thompson & Williams would bow out - the former has since rejoined, which is as well as he's the best guitarist the band ever had!). Following a headlining slot at Glastonbury and the 'Cure in Orange' concert, the band relocated to the South of France to record this double album. I'm sure Smith was picturing it as The Cure's 'Electric Ladyland' or 'White Album', while Thompson nodded to 'Physical Graffiti.' Essentially 'Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me', released in Spring 1987, was an expanded take on the eclectic directions of 'The Head on the Door', an album that seemed to sum up the different ways Smith went...

As with many double albums, it suffers by having some so-so material - though fans of box-set 'Join the Dots' will note some fine songs were banished to b-sides, e.g. 'Chain of Flowers', 'A Japanese Dream.' The album would be a lot sharper without 'Icing Sugar', the 'Night Like This'-retread 'All I Want', the obvious b-side 'Hey You!!!' (which wasn't on the prior cd version), or the irritating initial single 'Why Can't I Be You???' Smith had become more democratic with the songwriting, letting other members contribute whereas Cure albums from 'Seventeen Seconds' on had been very much his vision. Then again, hard to gripe when the results of this collaboration fuelled by masses of wine created such joys as the psychedelic wonder 'If Only Tonight We Could Sleep', the otherworldly 'Like Cockatoos' (a return to the territory of 'The Top'), or the single that should have been, 'How Beautiful You Are' - a song up there with such rococo Prince-joys as 'Raspberry Beret' & 'Starfish & Coffee' (1987 to me was one centred around double albums, 'Kiss Me...' and Prince's 'Sign'O'the Times', as well as the 'Substance 1987' compilation by New Order - perhaps this accounts for my eclectic taste?). Three of the four singles here were fantastic, 'Catch' as perfect a popsong as can be, 'Hot Hot Hot!!!' a blend of Chic & Talking Heads, & 'Just Like Heaven' a sequel to 'In Between Days' that nods to Rilkean angels and would be covered by Dinosaur Jr. and Katie Melua (...fortunately not at the same time!!!).

There are a few songs that suffer by having synths of the time, notably 'Fight' and 'Torture', which make you think of such average records from 1987 such as 'Midnight to Midnight' & 'Outland.' Smith & co still managed to emit classic dream pop songs, as well as the sublime 'Catch' there is the lovely 'The Perfect Girl', while the dreamy wonder of 'Disintegration' would be predicted by 'One More Time' and 'A Thousand Hours.' To cover all bases, Smith & co nod back to the darker, earlier work of The Cure - songs like 'The Kiss', the spiteful Tolhurst-gripe 'Shiver & Shake' and the epic dirge 'The Snakepit' could have been on 1982's bleak bilefest 'Pornography.'

This album signified The Cure meant business, several peers' recent releases (The Banshees' 'Tinderbox', The Furs' 'Midnight to Midnight', The Bunnymen's eponymous letdown, New Order's 'Brotherhood', The Mary Chain's 'Darklands', PIL's 'Happy?' & The Damned's 'Anything') paled against this, only The Smiths, who would shortly split up, seemed able to keep up. To be fair, New Order returned a year or so later with the best album of their career 'Technique', but not many could hold their own with this globally conquering version of The Cure. Next stop, 1989's bleak masterpiece 'Disintegration'!!!
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2001
'Kiss Me...' was one of the three-lovely double-albums of 1987 (the others being Prince's 'Sign'o'the Times' & Husker Du's 'Warehouse (Songs & Stories)'). Must have been something they were putting in the water!
There are some moments that would sit easily on 'Pornography'- notably 'The Kiss', 'The Snakepit' & 'Shiver & Shake' (the latter about Lol Tolhurst, who would be ejected from the band the following year). There are tracks that could have fitted on 'Faith': 'A Thousand Hours' & 'One More Time' being such songs (the latter was leading to the sound of 'Disitergration'). There are poppy songs that could have fitted on 'The Head on The Door': 'The Perfect Girl',the 'A Night Like This'-sounding 'All I Want' & the seminal 'Just Like Heaven' (another take on 'In-Between Days', memorably covered by Dinosaur Jr.). There are psychedelic-moments that are better realised than those on the patchy 'The Top': 'If Only Tonight We Could Sleep' & 'Like Cockatoos'. There is chuff: 'Icing Sugar' & 'Hey You' (not included on the cd-version). Shame that b-sides like 'A Japanese Dream' & 'Snow in Summer' would be passed over!...There are moments of pop-genius, Smith & co. at the height of their powers (as good at it as XTC around this period. Forget the Beatles!): 'Catch' and 'How Beautiful You Are' being those magical-moments...We have stadium-friendly Psychedlic Furs circa 'Midnight to Midnight' style rock in the form of 'Torture' & 'Fight'. And we have the irritaing pop-songs: 'The Lovecats' re-write 'Why Can't I Be You?' (which is less charming without its Cure do Five Star video) and the 'Hot Hot Hot!!!'- which sounds like something off 'Stop Making Sense'. Whatever, despite lapses in quality this album is an eclectic blend of styles- capturing the period in which Smith would move from punky-Buzzcockian pop to doomy guitars to psychedelic madness to the best pop songs ever. Sadly, after 'Disintergration' Smith & Co. would tread water until 'Blood Flowers'. This is a great collection of songs and as good as The Beatles 'White Album', Fleetwood Mac's 'Tusk' and Todd Rundgren's 'Something?/Anything?'. And let's face it, any album with 'How Beautiful You Are' on just has to be owned!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2017
I bought this after losing my original many years ago. I have to admit I was concerned that the passage of so many years and rose coloured tinted memories, that the tracks would not hold the same captivation as previously. I was wrong..... this album is better the second time round! Each track is well crafted and easily could be viewed as stand alone singles (as in "Staring At The Sea"), but the depth a variety of the styles piques and recedes, and provides an all-round spine tingling, hair standing, eye-liner rubbing experience. To (what feels like) an old Goth - this was a very welcome excursion back to my formative years!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 August 2006
This release should make a lot of people very happy. Not just because it is a very fine album but because it rectifies a glaring oversight that occurred when the album was originally released on the C.D. format, namely the omission of the track "Hey You".Apparantly it was absent for reasons of space which made no sense what so ever. There are tracks off the album far more susceptible to the chop but as this was a decision made by some record company executive with museli for brains and a platinum disc for a soul so that's no surprise.

"Kiss me Kiss Me Kiss Me" is my favourite Cure album .It sort of encapsulates their many strengths and oeuvres within its 18 tracks. There are truly great songs, a bewildering range of styles and textures and though it is often on the surface as light and breezy as daytime TV magazine show there is a constant undercurrent of darkness, despair and disaffection. It sums up their career in one rather large enjoyable bite sized listen without the relentless misery associated with some of their other works.

Of the songs on here everyone must be familiar with the wondrous "Just Like Heaven" (covered memorably by Dinosaur Jr) which is one of those effortless pop gems The Cure would churn out in between (days) and the more morose introspective material. "Catch" is as lightweight and airy as the band ever got with its breezy guitars and buoyant strings. "Why Can't I Be You" is exuberant and vivacious with a pepped up horn arrangement and glowing keyboards unlike album opener "The Kiss" which tremble with tension and pent up aggression mirroring the songs central dysfunctional violent relationship. This song is leaving a marker that despite some of the albums pop gems it is no way going to be an easy ride. "Torture" is a magnificent broiling landscape of monumental keyboards, percussion that slaps against the songs structure like a Grizzly trying to break down a cabin door. Smith's vocals are teetering on the verge of collapse. Its torture but he's almost there to paraphrase the vocals.

Showcasing the albums diversity and melange of stylistic flourishes is "If Only Tonight We Could Sleep" which integrates Eastern sounding strings whose exotic strains sit uneasily against the torpid sorrowful vocals. Contrast this with the brief concentrated "Icing Sugar", all screeching saxophones and panting vocals or the furious insistent "Shiver And Shake". "Hot Hot Hot" is an audacious and not entirely successful sidestep into funk and may have influenced the Red Hot Chili Peppers in which case I damm it to hell. "Fight" attempts epiphany via rock music and though it's central theme and message is unusually positive and assertive it smacks of a stadium filling exhortation that sits uneasily with this band who were never about grand gestures, more about personal ones. "How Beautiful You Are" is just such a moment , a song about falling out of love with perky violins, sharp stabs of brass and whirling accordions , it is one of the albums strongest tracks and should certainly have been a single ahead of tracks like "Hot Hot Hot". I love the orchestral work on "A Thousand Hours" and the acid tinged feedback of "The Snakepit" while finding "Like Cockatoos" a little too bizarre and stubbornly discordant. "The Perfect Girl" is welcome due to the twinkling motes of piano and fragrant harpsichord.

Released on vinyl as a double album it follows the path laid down by so many double albums by being an intoxicating mixture of the baffling, brilliant and sometimes just plain indulgent but "Kiss Me Kiss me Kiss Me" happily has far more of the good stuff than the extraneous nonsense. Lots more. Unusually it is credited to the whole band on a writing level which gives a tantalising hint that this was a period of harmony and mutual appreciation within the group. The extra disc is the usual mixture of alternative versions and mixes and will only be off interest to real Cure aficionados and leads to a question. Why aren't songs like "Breathe" or "A Chain Of Flowers" that were on B-sides of singles off the album included? They are extras worth having. That said this is a splendidly diverse and intoxicating album, especially in this re-mastered and fully up-dated form. Pucker up and give it a good smooching.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2013
I've been a fan of The Cure for two years now and have been desperate to get hold of this album for ages after first hearing the fantastic Why Can't I Be You and it didn't dissapoint. It features 18 tracks which was a treat with a heavy rock opening- The Kiss, followed by the slow and loveable Catch with a nice Spanish theme to it, contrasting most of the other tracks- it also features the famous single Just Like Heaven and Hot Hot Hot which is a funky pop song, again contrasting with their other heavy stuff.
Though, most of the songs are quite long and they do spread out sometimes over four minutes- I still feel Disintegration was their greatest album along with The Top, even though not the most popular, being more Psychodelic than the rest.

I still feel this is a gem to any other Cure fans even if it isn't their greatest- some of the songs are still 'Catch'y and fun to listen to with quirky songs like 'Strange Girl' and the sad 'Thousand Hours' which seems to be a taster for Disintegtration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2017
It's an album, if you like the Cure you should already own this.
If you don't, what can I say to convince you? Try growing your fringe and staring at your feet awkwardly around girls while swaying about on the feet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)