Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
49
Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 March 2017
I bought this after losing my original many years ago. I have to admit I was concerned that the passage of so many years and rose coloured tinted memories, that the tracks would not hold the same captivation as previously. I was wrong..... this album is better the second time round! Each track is well crafted and easily could be viewed as stand alone singles (as in "Staring At The Sea"), but the depth a variety of the styles piques and recedes, and provides an all-round spine tingling, hair standing, eye-liner rubbing experience. To (what feels like) an old Goth - this was a very welcome excursion back to my formative years!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2017
Simply a classic. Missing from my collection for far too long. A break of a decade allows for new listening of once overlooked tracks. Back on repeat...again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2017
Beautiful and Dizzy album by The Cure and remastered .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2017
Love it stilll... and fast delivery, thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2017
It's an album, if you like the Cure you should already own this.
If you don't, what can I say to convince you? Try growing your fringe and staring at your feet awkwardly around girls while swaying about on the feet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2005
It can be hard to tell what the main theme is to this album. Love or death. On a lighter note, Robert Smith provides us with some superb, pop rock songs like "Just Like Heaven" and provides us with catchy dance beats to songs like "Hot Hot Hot!!!" displaying muscial genius along the way. On a darker side, Smith portrays the darker side of love with epic and truelly gothic tracks like "the kiss" and "the snakepit". The album plays out like a balanced argument displaying the joy and happiness of love and the pain and torture of rejection when i can not be found. This album is fantastic to buy because it suits two main moods; happiness and depresion. The only downside to the album is perhaps the quality of Robert Smith's vocals on certain songs where he is clearly lacking the quality heard in 1985's "The Head On The Door". Nevertheless, this album is perfect for anyone into pop/alternative rock or someone who wants to see what The Cure have to offer.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2002
This album caused quite a stir within the music media when it was released (1987). Just two years earlier The Cure had finally broken through as a major commercial act, following six years of trying their best not to, and the prospect of a double album (as was the form it's original vinyl release took) from these unexpected megastars got more than a few people quite excited.
All their expectations were fulfilled, the album containing 4 bona fide hit singles and 13 other classics, many of which could have been suitable choices for singles.
The album kicks off with The Kiss, a heavy wah-wah driven track - the full 6:17 of wild guitar (with few repeating phrases) being performed in one take by vocalist Robert Smith rather than guitarist Porl Thompson, which surprised many given Porl's reputation as the "solo" guitarist out of what was a 2-guitar line up (Smith and Thompson). After this, we move into Catch, a mediterranean style piece of pop which is acknowledged by most Cure fans as being one of their greatest singles.
The opening two tracks set the pace for the rest of the album really. The 17 songs pretty much go from rock/sort-of psychedelic to pop back to rock/sort-of psychedelic back to pop, and so on throughout the album.
This is a concept that the band employed years later for Wild Mood Swings (1996), however on that particular album it doesn't really work simply because most of the songs just aren't strong enough to carry it off.
On Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me it works brilliantly though.
Like I said, most of the songs could have been singles, and of the songs that couldn't (i.e. the rockier or sort-of psychedelic stuff) are all absolute classics as well, so there aren't any problems with mixing and matching styles. I think the main reason it works so well is because it was unexpected that they would do this, whereas with Wild Mood Swings they made quite a contrite effort to actively do the same thing, even suggesting in interviews that this was their goal.
A quick run through of the songs reveals rocky stuff such as The Kiss, Torture, All I Want, Shiver And Shake and Fight (heavily inspired by Led Zeppelin's Kashmir - blame Porl Thompson who went on to play with Page and Plant !!), the pure guitar pop of Catch, Why Can't I Be You, How Beautiful You Are, Just Like Heaven, Hot Hot Hot, The Perfect Girl, and psychedelic trancey stuff like One More Time, A Thousand Hours, The Snakepit, and the middle-eastern flavoured If Only Tonight We Could Sleep (very Kula Shaker - except about 10 years before they did it!!)
This is the album where Smith's lyrics really started to become extremely sharp and polished, and his lyrics have been some of the best in the world from this point onwards (although he sings way too much about relationships for my tastes - his subject matter is ocassionally a bit limited). His voice really started to take on a maturity in that his singing here is the best it had ever been up to this point, although he still manages to put on the weirdest interpretation of a soul singer on Hot Hot Hot (don't worry, it actually works - it's not as bad as it sounds, in fact it's quite good !)
This is an absolute classic album and at 17 songs in length (72 minutes running time) is a great value purchase that any self-respecting guitar music fan (of the indie/alternative variety of course) must have in his or her collection.
I cannot recommend this album any higher.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2003
Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me is one of my favorite Cure albums. It’s packed with great music and has a discernible atmosphere that distinguishes it from most other alternative music. The Cure was a big part of my teenaged years, and this music sounds as good today as it did back then. Just Like Heaven and Hot Hot Hot!!! are the two tracks most likely to be familiar to the uninitiated, the first song catching the group at one of their more mainstream (yet unique) moments and the latter proving that The Cure could appeal to a wider audience while remaining perfectly and distinctively themselves. My nod for best song on the album, though, would go to Why Can’t I Be You? which is actually quite upbeat and danceable (if you’re so inclined). This song is one of several that deliver a virtual cacophony of sound, including prominent horns against the familiar background sounds of the band. Catch, How Beautiful You Are, and The Perfect Girl have an infectious, ditty-like quality to them, breaking the music free from the clinging maudlin environment one expects to find front man Robert Smith in much of the time. Of course, melancholia exists among these tracks as well. If Only Tonight We Could Sleep is a slow, sentimental song which sounds wonderful until you get to One More Time, which outdoes it in poignancy. And then you get to A Thousand Hours; if ever a Cure song could be called beautiful, this is the one. Robert Smith says more in a few words than most singers do over the course of an entire album. When Smith sings “For how much longer can I howl into this wind, for how much longer can I cry like this?” I find myself quite moved every time; the vocals are raw and impassioned and seem to incorporate so much anxiety and angst into them that the overall effect is incredible. I don’t want you to think that the guys went soft on this album, though: Torture is a release of pent-up feelings, Shiver and Shake tells it like it is, and the final track Fight energizes each past, former, or future Cure addict to be who you are and who you want to be regardless of what others may think of you.
You may actually want to look for the tape rather than the CD of this particular album. While the CD is quite long, extending well over an hour, the tape contains one track not included on the CD: Hey You. It’s actually one of my favorite songs on the album, full of bounce and inspiration, even though it isn’t very long in duration. There is really more variety to be found on this album than on most other Cure releases, and I think this is the best selection with which to introduce today’s generation to the music we thirtysomethings indulged in during our youth. I would still have to name Disintegration as the group’s best album, but I really believe Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me is their most appealing offering.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2005
The much anticipated follow up to 1985's The Head On The Door sees Robert Smith writing about the joys of love when you have it and contrastingly the pain, heartbreak and torture of rejection.
The album opens with a gothic masterpiece in its own right. The Kiss is a gloomy, moody, gory tale of self-rehabilitation. Smith sings "you nail me to the floor and push my guts all inside out" as he is trying to get a past flame out of his head by demonising her. He slurs, "I wish you were dead" repeatedly as if to re-emphasise his hatred and feelings towards her. The song is only lyrical for the last two of the six-minute epic that allows the listener a stunning, instrumental opening to the album thanks to the remaining members of the group. Further tracks such as Torture and Snakepit reassure listeners that The Cure have not lost the post-punk goth rock that wowed fans back in the early 80's.
The more optimistic side of the album proves that The Cure are not a one-trick pony with only one style. Just Like Heaven provides us with a beautiful piece of alternative rock with absolutely fantastic keyboard work from Porl Thompson. The piece contains brilliantly crafted music that nearly equals Smith's tear jerking lyrics. "found myself alone alone alone above the raging sea, that stole the only girl I loved and drowned her deep inside of me". The heartbreaking, metaphorical verses displays Smith's poetic side and show that there is more to him than black hair dye and red lipstick. Continuing the optimistic feel, the album produces some superbly catchy dance tracks like Hot Hot Hot !!! and Why Can't I Be You? that do not quite match the previous success of hits such as Close To Me but still give us some cheerful kicks.
For an album originally containing eighteen tracks, most would not think that the phrase all killer no filler would apply. But it does. The album contains eighteen well-crafted songs that are only partially let down by the repetitiveness of a few tracks. Nevertheless, Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me is a near perfect piece with something that will always match your mood.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)