Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
41
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Head On The Door
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 March 2017
As Listed. Great Product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2017
Great purchase and great service, delivered on time just as promised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
Great album even better with free down load
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2017
Just buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2016
Fantastic album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2017
The Cure are really an underestimated band. Robert Smith at his best. A great cd for anyone who wants something a little different. I love Goth and this is a kind of Goth type cd in my view. Excellent.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2007
OK, I confess: despite my admiration for Robert Smith's undoubted talent, I've not been any more than a fair weather fan of the Cure and have only bought a handful of albums over the years. However, `Seventeen Seconds' is one of my all time favourites so perhaps I'll be forgiven. Nevertheless, I did buy `Head on the Door' on glorious vinyl in 1985 and quite liked it but like so many other vinyl albums, it fell into non-use when CD came along and I have not played it for at least 10 years. So when this newly remastered version hit my CD player, I was astounded to be reminded what a good album it is.

Kicking off with the bubbling `In Between Days', the album bursts into life and unlike some other Cure albums, this energy hardly drops through most of the first half until you reach the truly great stuff starting with the semi-instrumental `Push'. What follows is perhaps one of the best consecutive runs in Bob's cannon and comprises `A Baby Screams', `Close to You' and the monumental `A Night Like This', the latter now being my favourite Cure track ever. Never has Smith created such a melt-in-the-mouth melody and backed it up with a massively passionate vocal. The swaying, insistent beat just adds the icing to the cake and despite the cheesy drum fills and dreaded sax solo, nothing can diminish the sheer bittersweet joy this song elicits - how on earth did I forget about it?

All this and the beautiful closer, `Sinking' - what more do you need from a Cure album? Go buy!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2005
I have to agree with the other reviewers that this is the best Cure album to start with. It's very accessible but also shows the darker side of the band on "Kyoto Song" and "Sinking". But stick on "Inbetween Days", "Push" and "Close To Me" and you'll have your uninitiated friends dancing around like idiots. If you are a fan of the band already then buy now! I regard this as one of their top three albums along with "Disintegration" and "Pornography". "Boys Don't Cry" and 2004's "The Cure" are also well worth buying if you like "The Head On The Door."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)