Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
87
4.5 out of 5 stars
Cliff Richard ~ Two's Company: The Duets
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 March 2017
Different and good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2017
This was a gift. Very good price and happy with this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2006
Having been a Cliff fan for many years, when the details of this album were released I have to admit to not being too keen on the idea of a half and half album of new and old duets. Having listened to it, however, I have to say it is much, much better than expected. The new duets compliment the old perfectly. The first, and best track on the album is Move It with Brian May, Brian Bennett and Mo Foster. This song ROCKS and is perfect to play LOUD. A re-recording of Cliff's first hit, he hasn't been this "heavy" for years. Soon to be released as a single, this could quite easily give Cliff that elusive Number One in his sixth consecutive decade!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'Cliff' teams up with some notable fellow artists to deliver a really
good album kicking off with his very first chart number 'Move it'
a easy-rock number with a new-version recorded with 'Queen'
Guitarist and super-star 'Brian May' along with 'Brian Bennett'
The next recording with the classic song 'Anyone Who Had A
Heart' which he sings with the artist that first recorded the song
'Dionne Warwick' A superb Version of a great Song.
'Cliff' links up with G4 to deliver a new version of his brilliant 76'
Smash-Hit 'Miss You Nights' (Perhaps my all-time favourite 'Cliff'
Song)
The next track a re-recording of the 'Carpenters' gem - 'Yesterday
Once More' which 'Cliff' performs with 'Daniel O' Donnell'
The following recording made with 'the late' 'Phil Everly' in the early
eighties 'She Means Nothing To Me' (Love that number)
With the next song he is joined by the fabulous talent 'Sarah Brightman'
with a great rendering of the song -'All I Ask of You'
For the next song he's joined by sixties crooner 'Matt Monro' to sing
the age-old classic - 'Let There Be Love'
'Cliff' is joined by 'Hank Marvin' to sing one of their old favourite tracks
'Throw Down A Line'
For the next song a 'George Michael' and also a 'Eva Cassidy' hit the
beautiful 'Fields Of Gold' -- joining 'Cliff' for that one 'Barry Gibb'
For the next number 'Cliff' is joined by 'Anne Murray' to sing 'Up Where
We Belong' another well known song.
The next song see's Super-Star- 'Elton John' joins 'Cliff' to sing 'Slow Rivers'
Another favourite perhaps remembered for her role in 'Grease' 'Olivia Newton
John' sings the number 'Suddenly' with 'Cliff' (Back in the sixties I saw 'Olivia'
on-stage among the all-star line up that included 'Cliff' and the 'Shadows')
To sing the 'Irish -Classic' song -'Danny Boy' 'Cliff' is joined by 'Helmut Lotti'
For the final track on the album the fabulous 'Lulu' sings the well known song
'Reunited' with 'Cliff'
This is truly an album filled with many beautiful songs that 'Cliff' performs with
a list of well known and much loved fellow 'Artists'
(Have owned this since it's release some eight years back)
44 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 June 2008
It is clear from reading other reviews on Amazon and elsewhere that people have mixed feelings about this collection. Some would have an album of entirely new recordings (and maybe more original songs and fewer covers) while others would have preferred an album comprising entirely re-issues. Perhaps it was decided that this compromise would suit everybody. Certainly, I'd been expecting a compilation of Cliff's duet hits ever since the release of his 6-CD boxed set (Singles collection), which contained every British solo single that Cliff had recorded up to that point, but noticeably avoided all the duets. In my review of that collection, I pointed out that there were enough of those duets to occupy a seventh CD. I was therefore a little disappointed that this duets album, when it was finally released, omitted a lot of the minor hits. However, it contains all the hits that really matter except Cliff's duet with Van Morrison, Whenever God shines his light. Even that only just made the top 20 in the UK chart, so maybe the compiler felt it wasn't essential.

A lot of argument surrounds Throw down a line, which became a UK top ten hit in 1969. I don't think this is a duet but it was omitted from the boxed set so I expected to find it here. When originally released, it was officially listed as being by Cliff and Hank, rather than being credited as a Cliff Richard solo track. We should therefore blame whoever made that decision back in the sixties, if we are to blame anybody for classifying it as a duet. Another hit credited to Cliff and Hank, The joy of living, didn't make this compilation, nor did it make the UK top twenty. It was the theme to a similarly-titled TV series but I don't remember either the song or the TV series.

Of the other tracks here, She means nothing to me (with Phil Everly), All I ask of you (with Sarah Brightman) and Suddenly (with Olivia Newton-John) were all top ten hits in Britain. Slow rivers (with Elton John) is also included although it was a very modest hit in Britain. It originally appeared on Elton John's album, Leather jackets. Reunited (with Lulu) first appeared on Lulu's duets collection, Together. Miss you nights (with G4) originally appeared on G4's album, G4 and friends. The duet with Matt Monro must have been produced by technological wizardry, because Matt Monro had already been dead for twenty years by the time this recording was made.

The remaining recordings were newly recorded for the album although there are no original songs among them. I'm not entirely convinced by the new recording of Move it (and it's the only track on the album that I say that about). Perhaps Cliff wanted to prove that he could still rock, but his own original version is a hard act to follow nearly half a century later. Like Throw down a line, this is not a genuine duet as Cliff is the only singer on the track. I was amused at one reviewer's puzzlement regarding Cliff's duet with Dionne Warwick. As Dionne was the original singer of Anyone who had a heart (and she was very disappointed that Cilla had the big British hit with the song) it is perfectly reasonable that Cliff should record this song with Dionne, although nobody would have been surprised if he'd chosen to record it with Cilla instead. Cliff's duets with Daniel O'Donnell (Yesterday once more), Barry Gibb (Fields of gold), Anne Murray (Up where we belong) and Helmut Lotti (Danny boy) all work well and complete a mainly excellent album.

If EMI had released an album exclusively compiled from previously released material, they could have included Cliff's remaining duet hits. Apart from the two I've mentioned (Whenever God shines his light, The joy of living), they include Drifting (with Sheila Walsh), his Comic Relief version of Living doll (with the Young Ones), All I have to do is dream (with Phil Everly), Had to be (with Olivia Newton-John) and The wedding (with Helen Hobson). They could also have included other duets that didn't chart and maybe weren't released as singles, featuring singers such as Tammy Wynette, Jackie Lee and Cilla Black. Some of these tracks can be found elsewhere but others may be very hard to find.

These days, Cliff has plenty of critics but his longevity shows that he still has plenty of fans who appreciate his music - and not just the old stuff. I suspect that most of Cliff's long-standing fans will love this album. Even despite my reservations about the new version of Move it, I am among Cliff's long-standing fans who love the album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2007
I love this album. It hasnt been out of my cd player since I got it.

Cliff's voice sounds beautiful on all the songs and artists like Barry Gibb, Dione Warwick, G4 and many others are great duet partners.

The new version of Move It with Brian May is brilliant - I love the original but love this just as much.

Anyone who had a heart with Dionne Warwick is beautifully sung as is Miss You Nights with G4 - their voices compliment Cliff's beautifully and the harmonies are lovely.

Another favourite of mine is Fields of Gold a stand out track on the album having a lovely arrangement and Cliff and Barry Gibbs voices are beautifully harmonious together.

The version of Danny Boy with Helmut Lotti is a real treat as is Up Where We belong with Anne Murray.

Yesterday Once More and She Means Nothing to Me are also fabulous.

The only duet I would have changed would be Had to Be (with Olivia) in place of Suddenly. But that's just a personal wish as Had to Be is my favourite Cliff duet ever.

Two's Company is a really beautiful album and I'd love to have another similarly done in the future.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
14 tracks with different artists accompanying Cliff. We have 6 new recordings and 8 recordings issued earlier.

Particularly impressive are those which feature Phil Everly (She Means Nothing To Me), Brian May and Brian Bennett (Move It), Sarah Brightman (All I Ask Of You), Olivia Newton-John (Suddenly), Barry Gibb (Fields Of Gold) and Hank Marvin (Throw Down A Line).

There are also contributions from Dionne Warwick, G4, Daniel O`Donnell, Matt Monro, Anne Murray, Elton John, Helmut Lotti and Lulu.

A fine CD well produced with Cliff and his "Friends" at their best. Very good value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
A great album from the master himself...Cliff is always enjoyable to listen to but even better duetting with others. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Great product. Would recommend to others. Delivery was quick and item well packaged.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)