Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
82
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2006
At first I didn't purchase one of these thinking that I'd just use a gamecube controller for the virtual console games. However, after attempting to play the SNES game Donkey Kong Country I found using the game cube controller quite difficult due to the layout of the buttons.

This controller is excellent, Nintendeo obviously realised that an ideal gaming controller was required for the virtual console games. I'm very pleased that they didn't compromise the virtual console by making us put up with a controller that isn't a perfect match for the games.

If you're playing the virtual console games I highly recommend this controller.

Plus, for those people saying this isn't a wireless controller, you're wrong. This controller connects to the wii mote in place of the nunchuck and therefore there are no wires leading back to the console.

Additionally, this controller has start and select buttons.
0Comment| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2007
One thing a lot of people don't seem to think about when singing the praises of the Gamecube controllers is the button layout.

If you're only planning on downloading NES/Turbografx16 games from the Virtual Console (that only require the use of 2 buttons and the D-Pad), and you also want something that you can use with Gamecube games, then by all means avoid this and get a wired Gamecube pad or Wavebird instead, especially as the Wii Classic Controller isn't compatible with Gamecube games.

However, if you're planning on downloading some decent SNES games (and there are a lot appearing now), then you MUST get this. The games for Virtual Console have been designed with the Classic Controller in mind, that means that the controls have been mapped to where they are expected to be on the Classic Controller. You might think that this doesn't mean much......but you can't optimise the controls yourself on most games, so that means if you're using a Gamecube controller (where the `X' and `Y' buttons are in strange places), then you're in trouble. This is particularly apparent when trying to play games like Super Mario World with the Gamecube controller.....it's a near impossibility. But playing it with the Wii Classic Controller is simplicity itself. When using a Gamecube controller, there are also noticeable difficulties with the button layouts (in my experience) when playing Zelda: Link To The Past and Mystical Ninja as well, whereas I can manage them just fine with the Classic Controller. And don't even get me started about trying to play Streetfighter 2 with a Gamecube controller!!! It makes getting used to Streetfighter 3 on the Dreamcast seem easy!

Also, hopefully in the coming months as decent multiformat games come out, the Wii won't get crippled with silly unnecessary tacked on motion controls that just make conventional games harder to play (as has happened with a lot of the 'shovelware' launch titles). The Classic Controller should come into it's own then. I can see it being very good for Super Smash Bros. Dojo.

All in all, you just need to think about what you need it for before you buy it.
33 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2007
The classic controller has been made for playing select Wii games(none of these have been released yet) and virtual console games.

Incase you dont know what the virtual console is by clicking on the Wii shop button on the Wii menue you can purchase games from the NES,MegaDrive,TurboGX16,SNES and the N64.

The controller is more or less perfect for playing these games, it fits in to your hand perfectly and uses the SNES button layout with 2 analogue sticks for playing N64 games the controller feels well made and has a very good d-pad (very important for fighting games like street fighter 2). The controller plugs in to your Wiimote making it wireless.

If you are planning on playing virtual console games the classic controller is a must and you will beable to use it in the upcomming super smash brothers brawl.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
I brought this for my Wii as you need a classic controller to play the virtual console games or use an official old gamecube controller (cant use the Wii remotes to play them)

This plugs into and is powered by the Wii remote controller (it doesnt plug into the Wii itself) It works fine but you cant use it if your Wii remotes need charging, thats the only dislike.
I have used it to play old street fighter 2 turbo, super metroid, super mario world, mario 64, Zelda a link to the past just for examples of virtual console games on the Wii :)

It is also an alternative controller to play your Wii games for example Super Smas Bros Brawl :) and other compatible games

This controller is also compatible with the new Wiiu as it has the ability to play Wii games and still play the Wii Virtual console games

Hope my review helped
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2015
I got this instead of the Classic Controller Pro because I thought, well.. it's got the same buttons, it will be fine..
Well, it is fine for lots of games- Snes games on the Virtual console for example, you have the exact same layout as a SNES controller, Mario Kart 8 on Wii U plays well etc.
If you want to play anything that uses the ZL or ZR buttons, avoid this controller as it seems like they were added as an afterthought. Really awkward to use efficiently. It feels like no one ever tested what it would feel like to actually use them.
Its ok for N64 games on virtual console, a little different but ok. I'd recommend the GameCube controller if you're playing on Wii, or the Hori GameCube controller (The Mario/Luigi/Pikachu themed ones that plug into the Wii Remote) for either Wii or WiiU, or the Classic Controller Pro which is like this but more comfortable and improved the ZL ZR locations. GameCube controller isn't ideal for SNES games though, as your thumb rests on the wrong button it is unnatural for games like Super Mario Kart.
I have always thought Nintendo's design with controllers has been unusual but once you get your hands on the controller it makes sense- the N64 controller was ideal for Mario 64 and GoldenEye, GameCube controller was really comfortable. Unfortunately not the case with this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 July 2007
You will need this pad if you are planning on downloading some virtual console games. (Particularly the SNES ones as using a gc pad for them is very arkward)

Nes games: Just use the wii remote on its side.
SNES games: Use the classic controler for best controls
N64 games: Use the trusty Gc pad, wavebirds recommended.
Mega Drive: Any controller works great.
Turbo Graphx: Use Wii-mote for classic controller for best controls.

Have at a fair few of every pad as you will need them for those massive multiplayer bouts. Pretty much nay combination can be used for Vc games, just make sure the pad is compatible first.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2006
The first thing that you most likely will notice about this controller, provided you have it in your hands, is that its really light. The pad obviously looks good, you knew that already. The controller sits in your hands without any discomfort and the button layout is perfect.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 May 2007
The pad is very light and fairly comfortable but could have done with some 'love handles' to support my hands properly. If you've held any contemporary controller (such as the excellent x360 pad or even the gamecube pad) you will miss them and your hands won't be too happy either!

The d-pad is first class as is expected from Nintendo, but the analogues do feel odd - it's like they are trying to 'snap' to the nearest 45* angle which it defies the whole point of having an analogue stick if they try to usher you into one of the eight 'grooves'

Just like the 'cube pads the triggers are analogue but will click right in - I loved that feature - and it features all the button you'd ever need but yet remains uncluttered and classy.

Please note that if you were expecting this to be another controller which you can use while your friend uses the wii-mote, then prepare to be annoyed. The controller is strictly an attachment for the wii-mote and it doesn't look like that will change soon.

All in all - the pad has flaws and is of limited use right now besides as a controller for Virtual Console games but with great build quality and the right price point the Classic Controller may not be essential item but its more than worth a look
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
Great little controller, similar to SNES' only with analogue sticks.

Comfortable, works well however still all these years after Wii's release there's very few Retail games that actually support it as a second playing method which is annoying (check Nintendo's official site for which games are compatiable) - especially considering this was for my 4yo nephew who cannot use Wii-mote and nunchuck.

However, for those it does work on it works great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
Nintendo Wii Classic Controller (Wii)...Now making 007 Goldeneye playable! I don't know about any of you guys but i found the normal controler and nunchuck a bit fiddly to control, and spent ages adjusting the sensitivity settings and just got fed up! This makes it alot better to control not only for the 007 game but also others!
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here