Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2006
Doctor in The House has finally come to DVD and its about bloody time !
It seemed only natural after its initial success through the books and the films that it would eventuate to the small screen.
Strong medical foundations were formulated once two duo writing teams were recruited.
Dr Graham Chapman & John Cleese wrote several episodes (including the pilot) but as they were busy creating Python asked future Goodies stars Dr Graeme Garden & Bill Oddie to handle the bulk of the writing and they were only too happy to oblige.
The series centres on new Medical Students Micheal Upton (Barry Evans) & Duncan Waring (Robin Nedwell), whose character would go on to take over the lead role.
The Newly interned Medical Students bumble their way through many many Medical Mishaps, an Appendix Drama, A Mascot War, a 'West-Side' Ward Show, spiced-up with Love & Drama finally culminating into end of year Exams.
The Writers gave a somewhat exaggerated view as to what life as a Medical Student was really like based on their own personal experiences injecting alot of fun into each story.

The episodes from Series #1 originally screened between July-Oct 1969 and are as follows -

Episode #1 - Why Do You Want To Be A Doctor ?
Episode #2 - Settling In
Episode #3 - It's All Go
Episode #4 - Peace And Quiet
Episode #5 - The Students Are Revolting
Episode #6 - Rallying Round
Episode #7 - If In Doubt,Cut It Out
Episode #8 - War Of The Mascots
Episode #9 - Getting The Bird
Episode #10 - The Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever Casino
Episode #11 - Keep It Clean
Episode #12 - All For Love
Episode #13 - Pass Or Fail

What followed was an amazing series of sequels enduring some 22 years between 1969 and 1991.
Doctor in the House, Doctor at Large, Doctor in Charge, Doctor at Sea, Doctor on the Go, Doctor Down Under and the short lived Doctor at the Top.
The entire Series has remained very popular to this day and is still being aired regularly on Pay TV in Australia.
You'll soon warm to the characters in this timeless comedy as Mike Upton arrives at St Swithins to begin his medical career.
Starring regulars Micheal Upton (Barry Evans), Duncan Waring (Robin Nedwell), Professor Loftus (Ernest Clark), Huw Evans (Martin Shaw), Dick Stuart-Clark (Geoffrey Davies), The Dean (Ralph Micheal), Paul Collier (George Layton), Dave Briddock (Simon Cuff), Helga (Yutte Stensgaard) and Terry Upton (Barry Justice).
This new DVD release states that it is "UNCUT" but after viewing it beg to differ, having seen the uncut version of War Of The Mascots in Australia I know that this is definately not it.
But don't be put off by this as it is still a fantastic little treasure to be savoured again and again.
22 Comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2009
I first saw series 1 on a local (US) station back in the early 70's. Fortunately the humor holds up after nearly 40 years.

College students drinking, getting drunk,smoking (and it being shown as fun) - this would almost have to be cable nowdays.

Region coding can usually be dealt with by a few minutes with Mr. Google. It could be worse - at least we don't have to find a PAL VHS player and TV!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2009
I think I had seen one or two episodes of this series back in the 1970's. I didn't remember much about it, but I decided to buy it and try it out. I enjoyed the series, but it is a product of it's time. The series reflects the chauvinistic attitudes of the times. It relies on dialogue and character development to carry the series, along with the excellent writing. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys television programs of that era.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
im watch this at the moment its so funny it crack me up all night, its a good comedy and im glad i found it here barry even was a really good actor RIP barry
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
I am staggered...I really find it almost impossible to believe the positive reviews for this infantile junk...the fact that they were written by G. Chapman, J Cleese etc is even more bewildering...when did they write them? During a tea-break?...My wife was a huge fan when they first aired...but she was only nine years old then and now sees them for what they are...badly written, badly directed, badly acted dross.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2009
doctor in the house is a good as advertised. Really good reliving laughs from the past. I live in North America and purchased a 0 rated dvd player that plays pal. I recommend that to the other reviewer that could not play pal. Search the internet for 0 rated dvd players that read pal to north american format. It is great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2009
This series provides much-needed enjoyment in today's fast-paced life. The extremely funny one-liners are brilliant. We thoroughly enjoy it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
I caught a few of these in repeats when I was 14 and never forgot the huge laughs I was served. Would the show hold up years later? No worries; I had a great time with this set.

Where it's dated it's interesting for being dated, especially since London Weekend Television used colour video outdoors years before the BBC stopped doing film on location. Film feels far off as soon as it's developed; video feels live, even forty years on.

That live feeling always suits comedy. These shows were written by Cleese, Chapman, Garden and Oddie before their Monty Python and Goodies days - as such they're certainly rough around the edges. For a sixties show about rowdy medical students it's more kind hearted than I expected, particularly in an era when women weren't allowed to wear clothes. At least the lads' failings are also laid bare; this yields some hilarious discomfort that doesn't surface in the shows that these writers went on to.

The worst of the episodes could have all been titled 'Upton and Waring get drunk.' I sat silently whilst the studio audience died laughing at inebriated incompetence. Ten years after this series, shows like M*A*S*H were still trotting out drunkenness as comedy but it's a dead art now.

Memorable successes include a casino episode with Pythonesque gangsters and another called 'If in Doubt, Cut it Out!' The gravitas of the medical establishment is fertile comedy soil and plays just as well in 1968 as it must have when the original 'Doctor' books were written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2007
Glad the Doctor series are on dvd was a great series when it was on tv just finshed watching Doctor in the House series 1 and just about to start series 2.

Mike Upton, Duncan Waring, Paul Collier, Dick Stuart Clark great characters and the rest of the guys as well this programme very very funny and well acted by the actors.

buy the dvds highly recommended
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2010
Seeing it offered on Amazon and at a good price was enough to make Me Buy it. Upon watching I must have moved on as it's seem's quite dated and rather bland. What was funny in the 70's doesn't do it for Me now. It does have it's funny moments But the action regarding SHOCK HORROR "sex" is very tame with lot's of hinting with very little follow up. I guess for the time it must have been rather out there but not now, cheers.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)