Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
60
4.6 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Special Edition|Change
Price:£8.62 - £19.98
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2016
Microsoft knew should have a game that defined the image of the Xbox and should boost sales to compete with the competition, GOW as here to stay and better than anyone else did and does its role that work.

In the first few minutes you realize that this is an epic masterpiece, is a legend of the game videos with special focus on multiplayer.

A unique and worthy cinematic experience of a great movie with epic characters and fierce enemies both have a diabolical arsenal created many splashes of blood and hours of fun.

A graphic astounding with the unreal engine at its best, a masterpiece mandatory in this fabulous world of video games.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2006
I thought it might be worthwhile to supply a review based more around the Special Edition of 'Gears Of War' for those unsure about shelling out the extra cash. Mostly because everyone knows how great the game is already; the tense atmosphere, the thrilling gun fights, the unapologetic levels of gore, all this has been well documented. It's a killer app, make no mistake.

Secondly, whether or not you should spend the extra cash is important because, well, money's always tight, especially with the strong range of games available on the 360.

What you get is, first up, a pretty if not unfortunately throwaway little hardback artbook, with conceptual artwork and hi-res models that had been knocking around games mags a few months before release date.

The tin itself is pretty nice, though mine came scuffed straight out of the shrink-wrap somehow, but it'd make a pretty nice box for tobacco, rolling papers and...er...lighters. Ahem.

But the DVD is where you'll decide whether the expense was worth it. This is, perhaps surprisingly, really good, and served as a great accompaniment to the game both before and after I palyed it. While "A Look Inside Epic Games" (a short film about the company filmed and starring the team's kids) is a twee oddity, overly saccarine and ill-placed, the "The Road to E3" is a real eye-opener into the workings of the studio, the title, and Microsoft's role and reliance on it.

Interviews with the game's programmers, producers, concept artists and specifically the Lead Designer give a great insight into how the finished product became just that. It's a tense ride, made so by the passion and lustre the team have for 'Gears', and the honesty with which Microsoft's position was shown. While the guys at Epic seem fatigued, they're still relatively relaxed. The Microsoft guys look like their jobs are really on the line; they're at war with PS3, make no mistake. And without titles like 'Gears Of War', come March (if that really is Sony's release date) it's exclusive titles like 'Lost Planet', 'Mass Effect' and 'Halo 3' that will turn the tide...and 'Gears Of War' sits comfortably in such company. This short film is an effective snapshot of the modern games industry, and is almost worth the price of the Collector's Edition alone.

Other extras include some really well presented and unseen concept artwork (with a great mural from E3), some cool trailers and a series of passionate talking heads that sum up why the game works; despite it's serious undertones, this hulking warmonger is built for fun.

Of course, playing the game pretty much tells you all that in itself. So, to summise, it's a great bit of product. Worth another £5? Undeniably. Worth another £10? Depends if you read 'Edge' or not. Worth another £15? Splash it on 'Rockstar Table Tennis' instead. And sorry it took a long time to get round to that. Epic must've spurred my 'Gears of Inspiration'. Arf.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2007
It is very rare when one day you think halo 2 is the best game in the world then this happens.... Gears of War comes out.

Now the most online played game of this year, it has become one of the best games ever played.

The story line you follow is great where you fight Sera, a planet much similar to that of Earth, until emergence day, a day where the creatures that haunt you in your sleep rise from the ground.... the locust, who are hell bent on making human kind extinct.

I recommend the purchase of the limited editon box set as it comes with the extras of how the game was created and it gives a lot of background info.

After you complete the intense 5 acts of non stop shooting, blood, guts and chainsaws, you will surely become addicted to the online matchmaking. Do you have the skill to chainsaw 100 opponents? hard as it sounds but fun to do. If your not online for achievements then its still a generally amazing game to play with friends and people all over the world.

enjoy its not a game that gets boring easily.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2006
I only bought my 360 a couple of weeks ago and Gears Of War looked like the 'must by' game so I duly purchased a copy.

First impressions, well funnily enough average, the first 5-10 minutes not to much happens, then BANG! LETS KILL ALIENS!!

The control system is fantastic, so easy to aim, hide and jump for cover, graphics the type you might get on a £2000 pc, stunning visuals and sound, hook this up to your HD TV, as I have, and the clarity is awesome.

I also bought four other games for my 360, put it this way, G.O.W hasn't been ejected from the machine for nigh on a fortnight.Also a quick mention for Xbox live, easy to get online for a game, great fun, though if you're as mediocre as me then you'll spend most of the time getting a chainsaw up your jacksy!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
Another cheap buy at a far later date than release to add to my Gears of War collection and provide a cool ornament for my shelf. The art book is great and the game itself is an absolute classic. One of my favourite games of all time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Gears of War is one of the biggest Xbox 360 franchises and the first entry is a stand-out title in this generation for cinematic gaming & 3rd person gameplay.
You play as Marcus Fenix, leader of Delta Squad who are fighting a losing war against the Locust Horde. You must deliver the lightmass bomb to its destination & detonate it in hope of putting a stop to the Locust and ending the war.

This edition comes in a metal tin & card case, it also includes a Making of DVD & Art Book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
comes in a lovely tin with a nice little hardback book that fills you in on the history of whats gone down in gears its a must have for any gears fan i would recommend this even if you already own a copy for how cheap it can be picked up now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2006
This game is the reason i left the world of Playstations to move on to the better planes of Xbox-dom!! This game was hyped up so much before it's release and even the most hardcore playstation player could ignore it capabilities. I was one of them and having missed out on Halo throughout the Xbox series i was desperate to play it. First time i played it, it blew my mind. The graphics on it are phenomenal and the gameplay is better than anything i've ever touched. The fact that you have to use the cover in this game is a great addition to the RPG style. HOWEVER the best thing of all is you get the best weapon ever invented, i machinegun with a chainsaw on the end....Need i say more?????????
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2007
Put simply I loved this game.

summary

--->great for first time console shooters (i.e. people who were solely PC gamers before)

---> graphics and gameplay are amazing

---> AI is a bit dumb

---> not enough weapons

4 things i want to say:

---> it is great if you are a first time console user. this was my first console from the hundreds of PC games I have (have played) and its quite a lot harder to aim and such (the mouse enables precise and fast aiming) however with this game it does give you the option to take cover and get used to aiming with the stick, so now i am fairly proficient (mouse is still better tho)

---> the graphics and gameplay are top notch, def a next gen game, cant wait for GOW 2, gotta love the blood splatters

---> the AI is a bit dumb, they are rather predictable. e.g. they duck behind cover to avoid your bullets, all you have to do is point the crosshair above their heads and wait. they come up, you shoot, grub dead. i would like to see them trying to flank me as apposed to the usual gung ho that is usually displayed (tho this doesnt detract too much from the game to be honest)

---> there arent really enough weapons or weapon choices. u can get rid of the lancer (the machine gun with the chainsaw) but there is no real alternative for it (except the locust gun that isnt nearly as good) and then you make do with the shot gun (instant kill if you are close) so u dont get rid of that. the sniper takes too long to reload and you only get one shot. the bow is ok but too late in the game and you cant carry enough ammo.

but still overall bloody great.!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2006
Ok, you've already seen how cool the game graphics is and how those running and taking cover gonna be during the online play. I have to say that again that this is the killer xbox360 game for this Christmas as Epic Games promised and probably carrying the rumor of overtaking any upcoming PS3 game within 1-2 years.

YOU HAVE TO HAVE THIS GAME...and for me Gears is the reason for my box finally... Sorry Billy, 360 is cool but not so cool until Gears came up and showed us what this white box is capable of rendering those pixels :p

If you want this special edition I'll advise you to view the dvd after you've walked through the CASUAL level and got all the 30 cog tags. You then will have a nice cup of tea or coffee and enjoy yourself with all the behind scene stuff including additional trailers and game concepts underlaying every single piece of the game play both single & multi

Downside:

After finishing the game in all the 3 level and with the 30 tags with no briliant DOM act as co-op on my side, please allow me to share some game glitches here...

1.wretches are idiots...(might not be a glitch...)

2.the mighty RAAM becomes really a nice gentle "pale" horse after you managed to stuck him around the first row of barriers on the train.

3.some enemies could be eliminated before triggering the fighting scene just because they are preloaded there... and some could be killed in 100% safe way using the "corner of the window" and that just not the way the fight is designed for.

And, 1 complain about the online play:

Still feels like some twisted version of CS...maps are a little bit dull after playing for a while.

In a word, this is THE xbox360 game, very well worth the money, make sure you don't miss it. Have fun and enjoy your way of beating the insane level :)

Best wishes to all the viewers of this review.

Merry Christmas & Have a good new year~
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)