Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
465
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2017
What an excellent set this is.

Arrow have surpassed themselves, everything the Donnie Darko fan could want is here.

It is about time that someone did justice to this excellent, thought-provoking piece of art commited to film. The box set is very well made and sturdy in construction, the new artwork is wonderful and could not be better in my opinion.

The Blu-ray transfer itself has very slight grain and softness to it, but I find that it works well with the overall tone of the film (being set in the 80's). I have not watched the bonus features yet, but I expect they will not be disappointing.

Too long had Donnie Darko languished in the bargain bin of DVD/ Blu-ray releases, this one finally did the job that Donnie always deserved.

The only small gripe I have is that the book included basically re-hashes much of "The Donnie Darko Book", which I already own.

But I will still give 5 stars as the film is one of the best ever and it finally got some recognition.

Well done Arrow.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2017
thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
All time favourite film!! Watch more than once, you'll notice something new each time
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Re watched for the first time since its original release. Still holds up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Amazing box!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2003
My boss saw this film at the cinema, raved on and on about it, then gave me the DVD for Christmas! She knows I am not a horror fan and, for the opening two thirds of my first viewing, I cursed her loudly everytime I jumped out of my skin when 'Frank' appeared. Then, I watched the final third without turning away at all and was enraptured. I'm so glad it wasn't a video so that I didn't have to sit through a rewind!
Is it so deep that you have to discuss it with your intelectual friends? Is there some hidden meaning? Or, is it just a film about a disturbed boy with delusions? Who cares.......it's a great watch, everbody has their own opinions about it so that you can have a good chat. It's a film that the boys and girls can watch together...............and it won't end up gathering dust in your film collection!
For any other 'girlies' (like me), it's really not scary when 'Frank' pops up and if you hide behind the cushions you'll miss a damned good film!
One more thing, the soundtrack is amazing!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2017
What can i say about Arrow Video!! First, i've never seen this movie before, but bought this set and watched it a few days ago..........i will be watching it again, more than once! It's one of those films that you have to watch more than once because there's alot going on under the surface, and most people seem to have tfeir own theory about the meaning of it al. I have my theory, but i won't divulge in case it might spoil it for those who haven't seen it yet. Some will call it pretentious, others will love it.........i loved it. Alot of ideas are thrown into this story, so make of it what you will. It has, for the most part, are dark edge to it, and a forboding undercurrent, which really add to the whole feel of the movie.
Anyway, let's get to the packaging: WOW!! When Arrow put out digipaks like this, they are at the top of their game. Kind of similar to the videodrome limited edition, this has 4 discs - 2 blu ray, 2 dvd, of both the theatrical and longer directors cut. Comes with a hardback book and some art cards, very nice, and the outer box is hard card. Also heavy in-hand weight, a substantial purchase.
A BEAUTIFUL package again, top marks Arrow!!10/10!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2016
I remember being utterly stunned when I first saw this enigmatic film on a USA R1 DVD. I did not know then that the film had bombed in the States and was saved by the rapturous reception it got from a more enlightened audience in the UK. This clearly illustrates the main problem in the USA and Hollywood products: unwillingness to think and expecting everything lobotomised for easy access. ‘Donnie Darko’ kicked this in the face with the most amazing puzzle that offers no simple solution. It reminds me of a very different puzzle film in Peter Greenaway’s ‘The Draftsman’s Contract’. If you haven’t seen ‘Donnie Darko’ you need to give it a try and come to your own conclusion what the film is about. It is wonderfully made with a superb central performance by Jake Gyllenhaal. Even the choice of UK music from the 1980s is inspired.

The presentation by Arrow is superb and re-enforces my belief that Arrow is the best video company operating in the UK at the moment. They consistently put to shame the big Hollywood players who have cut back and back on their blu ray and DVD packages made as cheaply as possible. This comes laden with special features including a new full length documentary that is very good: just a pity that only one of the actors could be bothered to participate! It also includes all previous extras. The packaging is fantastic with beautiful artwork and design. It comes in a very study box with three separate sections: two digipacks for the discs and a hardback 94 page book. Even the enclosed two sided poster is really good quality.

This is an exemplary release.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)