Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
9
Lil Chris
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 26 January 2016
LIL CHRIS bough back memories seeing him on TMI Dani's House and on CBBC generally in 2006,7 so buying the album was like seeing that and i enjoy it even though it wsnt for everyone :P great stuff back then and its a shame and sad to hear about his death :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2015
great item great service thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2017
Love this CD its briliant, i cant stop listening to it in the car
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2014
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2008
I'll be honest from the start. I have only heard the two singles, which as bubble gummy pop rock go are not half bad, whilst not being my bag per see.
However, I have this week had the pleasure of meeting this young ( and he is very young in this industry )man, and he seems polite , well grounded, has a good head on his young shoulders, has a good knowledge of the music business for his young age, is not up his own wotzit, and is doing his driving lessons at the same driving school as me this week.
He seems prepared to go with the flow, whichever way the music trend takes him. Whilst this is not necessarily honest to one genre exactly, it shows he may be business minded. I wish him good luck, and that he will need in a business that is cut throat and changing so fast.
Good luck Lil Chris.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2015
R.I.P Chris gone but never forgotten your music and legacy will live on forever 😢😭
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2014
item as described,thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 February 2007
Lil' Chris should by all rights rubbish. The "star" of some godforsaken reality show (Gene Simmons' Rock School) who has not long hit 16 puts out a record after unceremoniously parting with the band set up for said show...it doesn't offer up much hope does it? Especially when one considers the album bears the hallmarks of writer/producer Ray Hedges. Sure his acts have racked up the hits over the years (Westlife, Ronan Keating, B*Witched, Emma Bunton to name but a few) but he's hardly up there with, say, Xenomania for producing any-one's idea of cutting edge 21st Century Pop. But check in your prejudices at the door and you will find a lot to enjoy here.

Yes it could be said that a lot of this album is derivative (which in a way proves my point about Hedges) but to be honest half the fun of the album is listening out for these "reference points". A little of the Buzzcocks here, some Sex Pistols over there, a dash of Elvis Costello over here....

It is fair to say though that whilst the two lead singles, Checkin It Out and Getting Enough??, were something special the rest of the album does tend to drift into "ordinary" a touch too often. Songs like Is There Anybody Out There and I've Been Had lack the manic charm of the singles and whilst they are catchy enough they are just a little too ordinary, musically, to stand out from the pack. Having said that though, the likes of Is She Ready? and Rachel (his paean to the former S-Club star, which is worth it for the mad lyrics alone) jump out of the stereo and lodge in your brain with great speed.

Yes, Lil' Chris' voice isn't the most soothing you'll ever hear, to be honest at times he sounds a LOT younger than 16, and over a prolonged period of time it does begin to grate. There is also a little too much here that seems to have been done by the numbers. But what the album lacks in the musical "merit" stakes, is more than made up for by the quality it has in the entertainment stakes. Frankly if listening to this doesn't bring a smile to your face somebody better check your pulse!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 November 2009
Lil' Chris might not be the best singer BUT for sure one with outstanding presence.

You'll always have the impression the songs are very honestly written - of course guided and inspired a lot by producer Ray Hedges.

Listen to "I've Been Had" and the very deep though minimalistic song "I Never Noticed" - OMG !

I hope this helps amazon customers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)