Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
96
4.8 out of 5 stars
The League of Gentlemen - Special Edition [1960] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 May 2017
I notice that a lot of the reviews suggest that this is a 'man's' film. I can't see that. Style and wit abound throughout, with marvellous performances and some fabulous, period shots of London. It is as much about loyalty and charisma as anything. We cannot appreciate how so many men felt in the years immediately after the war, having been trained to serve together in dangerous and exciting conditions, to find themselves in a mundane and unappreciative country. It would have been like expecting a man eating tiger to live on bread and milk. It's true that there are no women characters to speak of, but I am self confident enough about being a woman not to feel that every film has to have some leading female actor to be worth watching. It's an excellent film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
Another film from one of my favourite actors. The plot is excellent, well written and well acted by all. It's just a shame they didn't get away with it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
A great classic film with top actors and a great story line well worth watching thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2017
Excellent film the best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Thank You, Good Film, Good Service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2007
British cinema at its best, with the superb Jack Hawkins as the leader of a bunch of disgruntled ex-army specialists. Colonel Hyde (Hawkins) assembles his 'Dirty Eight' (pre-dating the concept of the Dirty Dozen by six years or so) for a bank heist in 1960 London. There are some great location shots of London for you nostalgia buffs and a winning cast, which includes the much underated Nigel Patrick at his urbane best and good old Dickie Attenborough. Based on the books by John Boland, Brian Forbes's screenplay is amusing, but has some excellent moments of poignancy particularly with Terence Alexander's character. This is British cinema all the way and they weren't even forced to take a down on his luck American actor to boost sales in the US!
11 Comment| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 January 2015
This is is a slightly odd film. Described as a "comedy crime caper", it certainly fulfills the last the two words. What I found odd about it was that, although there's a good deal to laugh at, it didn't feel quite like a comedy. I can't put my finger on why, but allow me assure you that the film is none the worse for that!

A disgruntled redundant Lt-Colonel, played by Jack Hawkins, recruits a group of ne'er-do-well or misfit ex-officers to carry out a bank robbery, planned, and to be executed, with military precision. The plot is as simple as that. As for what happens... Well, watch the film to find out - it really is well worth your time & money. Hawkins is ably supported by a quality cast of star names of the 50's, and the story; invariably king in the days before SFX & crash bang wallop took over too much of Hollywood's output; is excellently told. Absolutely a 5* film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
A lovely old fashioned bank caper. Unfortunately, when it was made it was fashionable to pretend that crooks never prospered. Sad really.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Great classic film it would make a great present for a gentleman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
Great product, great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)