Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
122
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 27 October 2006
People know Paul Carrack primarily as a member of various bands; Ace (How Long), Squeeze (Tempted) and Mike & The Mechanics (The Living Years, Over My Shoulder, Silent Running etc.). Either that or they know his work as a 'hired gun' appearing on albums from artists as diverse as The Smiths to Elton John, Roxy Music to Simply Red. But for over 4 decades Paul Carrack has been carving out a highly successful solo career, the highlights of which are included in this 19 track compilation.* All the hits with the bands are there but his solo material is more than worthy of investigation. Love Will Keep Us Alive, Beautiful World, Satisfy My Soul and Anyday Now are fine examples of what he does best. 'Groovin' is a faithful cover version but of the songs I didn't previously know, Eyes Of Blue is a real beauty. The booklet is packed with detailled info on Paul's career and includes his personal recollections of the 19 songs.
*amazon have listed this album as a 20 track compilation, in fact it has 19 tracks as What A Wonderful World only appears once.
0Comment| 122 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2015
Bought as a gift...this is Paul at his best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2010
When you say you're going to see Paul Carrack live most people say: who? Still they don't realise how familiar his voice is. This album opens with the Ace hit How Long followed by the Squeeze hit Tempted: two very iconic songs. Throughout the album Paul's songs are impressive and the covers: When you walk in the room - how good is that? And the harmonies are amazing; the rerecorded The Living Years - just fantastic; the Mike and the Mechanics songs - just so good. Paul's self penned Love Will Keep Us Alive that became such a hit for The Eagles is an amazing soul version here that I love just as much as the other version, and don't forget to listen to Eyes of Blue - what a fab song. Start to listen to this album and you will be hooked. Paul Carrack is an amazing talent who is a pleasure to listen to.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2010
Bought this for my hubby, he phoned me and said its the best CD he's heard, said it gave him goose bumps! Did the same to me when i listened, we defy anyone to listen to "The living years" without being affected!This mans got a great voice. =]
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2010
IF YOU ARE A FOLLOWER OF PAUL CARRICK OVER THE YEARS AND ENJOY ALL THE GROUPS HE HAS SUNG WITH, YOU WILL LOVE THIS CD. EVERY ONE OF THE TRACKS EITHER TAKES YOU BACK OR ALLOWS YOU, FOR THE FIRST TIME, TO WONDER AT THE GENIUS OF THIS MAN. I WOULD THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO EVEN SOMEONE WHO HAS NOT LISTENED OR HEARD OF PAUL CARRICK (UNBELIEVABLE BUT THERE ARE A FEW AMONG MY FRIENDS)BECAUSE ONCE HEARD, NEVER FORGOTTEN. A GREAT BUY.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2009
This is a lovely CD with all the greats on. Terrific sing along stuff and yes you'll know just about every word.
Go and see him in concert he's brilliant and even better live, a real romantic with fabulous lyrics and wonderful tunes. An absolute must have......ok I'm a bit of a fan but that doesn't make me a bad person!!!!!!!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2015
multi-dimensional artist, portrayed through all facets of his decorated career!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2012
Absolutely fabulous. Never realised his ability until seeing a BBC TV programme. This prompted me to buy the CD and it was worth it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2014
Paul Carrack is a very underrated singer. Many people know Mike and the Mechanics, but many do not know that the lead vocals behind some of their biggest hits are Paul Carrack (Living Years; Over my shoulder; Silent running; Another cup of coffee). Paul's early days were with the groups Ace and Squeeze. He also spent time with Roxy Music. His solo career truly took off in 1987 with his brilliant cover of "When you walk in the room", better than the original! I first became aware of his solo work in 1982 with his song "I Need You".

This outstanding compilation gives you a true career perspective, and the remastering is well done. I particularly like his cover of Bacharach's "Any day now". Also a great cover of "Groovin'. While the album sleeve boasts that the compilation is a complete career album of hits, it does not include the 1987 single "One Good Reason" which was a hit in some regions. Ive deducted a star for that omission, as it should be here.

Paul Carrack has a voice that I never tire of hearing. Something very special about it. It's great to know this British singer is still performing in his 70s.

This album is a must own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2010
Great album, easy on the old ear and Paul Carrack is just a superb singer. First saw him with ACE on the 'Old Grey Whistle Test' early 70's. An old mate from school was on bass...Tex! Loved Paul's music ever since.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)