Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 October 2009
Watching Amazing Stories as a youngster and now again reminded me of why I like certain genres of films and amazing stories packs them all in from horror, mystery, magical, Indian magic, thriller, WW2, ghost stories, comedy... and just great, no, Amazing Stories.

If, like me, you want to buy for old times sake, it's well worth it with the high quality picture and cracking acting. Or if you want to purchase something 'old school' these stories will get you into a wide range and test your genre of movie type - for the better.

Go on do something amazing, buy Amazing Stories!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2007
'Amazing Stories' was an anthology series developed by Steven Spielberg in the 1980s. The Spielberg name attracted a multitude of big stars both in front and behind the camera to the program- (Actors) Kevin Costner, Tim Robins, John Lithgow, Bronson Pinchot, Harvey Kietel, Charlie Sheen, Kiefer Sutherland, (Directors) Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorcese, Irvin Kershner, Joe Dante, Clint Eastwood, (Composers) Danny Elfman, John Williams and many more, aswell as budgets to match (1 million an episode). As a result the program was released to almost unheard of anticipation, and perhaps inevitably it failed to live up to its 'potential'. It was criticised for just not being 'amazing' enough and also in many cases because the of some slightly bizarre endings that ruin otherwise strong stories such as Scorcese's 'Mirror, Mirror' and to a lesser extent Spielbergs hour long 'The Mission'. The show only managed a second series on the basis of the contract rather than its success as a show.

I personally wasnt around when this was released, back in 1985, and whilst I agree that the show suffers from the problems mentioned, I still very much enjoyed it. The tone ranges from drama to comedy to sci-fi to horror, with a completely new story every week. Its true that a few episodes were fairly missable but thats only probably about 6 of the 24 really, the rest ranged from good to occasionally superb. Highlights include 'The Doll'- a lonely John Lithgow finds love when he buys a doll for his niece (for which he won an Emmy), 'Mummy Daddy'- an actor playing a mummy tries to make it to the hospital for the birth of his son in costume and 'The Mission'- Kevin Costner captaining a WW2 bomber. Id really recommend this series if you enjoy anthology shows or the short stories of writers such as Paul Jennings or Roald Dahl. Hopefully Universal will release the second series if this one sells well, it certainly deserves to anyway.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
Can anyone tell me if this DVD has subtitles in English or for Hard of Hearing please? I really enjoyed these stories when they were aired, favourite is The Mission. I'd love to watch them all over again but need subtitles now. Thanks for any help you can give

I've had to give a rating so gave it 5 stars on the strength of the tv airing!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2010
Good picture and sound quality, a number of stories are intriguing and gripping. However, how come a dvd is released without subtitles in English??!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2009
I found it truely amazing that there were 24 episodes in this first season because I could only recall seeing two or three. After watching the DVD I had infact seen all but one.
The good ones are good....The Mission(Costner and Sutherland and fantastic dialogue)...Mummy, Daddy(Bloody amusing)....The Doll(Great turn from John Lithgoe) and....Vanessa in the Garden(Brilliant Harvey Keitel and Sondra Locke). The rest are pretty much utter dross, difficult to believe Scorsese was responsible for Mirror, Mirror.
The only other episode of note is Bad Day at the Beach, Steven Spielberg practicing for Saving Private Ryan.
Some great, some awful.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2008
Took a chance on this because I didn't really remember the show to well. The gamble paid off as most of the stories are pretty entertaining and although a few are weak that's to be expected from even the best shows i.e. The Twilight Zone.

The only word of caution I would mention is "dated" as there is a slight clunky 80's American feel to some of episodes which may grate on a few people! Of course some people may love the 80's vibe but it often distracts from the story.

Anyways not bad and worth three and a half stars but as I'm in a good mode and the suns out I'll give it four stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2010
This looks so dated now and the stories are predictable, but for the low price it is a good little bit of entertainment as on the scale from dreadful to brilliant it is just ok -- I would play as background noise whilst working as they do not need a lot of concentration.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I bought this solely on the childhood memory of watching 'The Mission' episode.
Watching episodes now with my kids, they go from
'slightly dis-interested to totally drawn in and fascinated in the blink of and eye'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
This show brings back a lot of childhood memories for me and at £10 is a complete bargain! I love shows like this and the 80's twilight zone and the episodes are overall very family friendly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I watch this a couple of years ago and thought it was great.
I seen it on Amazon and bought it, and i loved watching it again.
it was well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse