Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 August 2008
Well, what can I say? They have done it again - and possibly with their best album yet! Don't get me wrong, I love all their albums, but this was the first Lamb Of God album I bought after hearing Redneck on Kerrang, and I've been hooked ever since! If you are a fan of Lamb Of God, then you will love it; if you are new to metal then this album is a very good starting point! I couldn't choose any standout tracks if I tried because they're all amazing - the sound of musicians at the top of their game. Mark Morton and Willie Adler lay down some amazing riffs to rival even the mighty riffs of 'Laid To Rest' and 'Hourglass' from Ashes Of The Wake - 'Redneck' is a favourite of mine, with a riff to die for!
Album opener 'Walk With Me In Hell' has a really dark opening riff, then it goes into headbanging territory, with some outstanding drum work from Chris Adler! This then runs into 'Again We Rise', a song about heresy - again, a truly amazing song. One of my personal favourites 'Redneck' storms in at Track 3 on the album, the riff is a stroke of genius! Then comes the breakneck 'Pathetic' with a breakdown riff so good it'll blow you away! 'Foot To The Throat' has an interesting breakdown to really give the song some variety, and is a very ferocious song, as the title suggests. The machine gun double pedalling of 'Descending' is astounding - this one's a real thrash song! 'Blacken The Cursed Sun' is an absolute stormer and another of my personal favourites, with the band firing on all cylinders. This is closely followed by 'Forgotten (Lost Angels)' and 'Requiem' which run straight into one another with no trouble at all, and both songs are brilliant! Then comes 'More Time To Kill', a song with a really evil and driving riff, and finally comes 'Beating On Death's Door', a huge sounding song that closes a truly epic metal album! As I said earlier, both Mark Morton and Willie Adler churn out some truly amazing riffs, with John Campbell and Chris Adler making a truly formidable rhythm section and a force to be reckoned with! Randy Blythe's vocals are as powerful as ever, although there is some melody added in on some songs, which I think is a great addition to an already great sound! And as always, his lyrics are brilliant and poignant!
Definitely one of my favourite metal albums from possibly the finest metal band on this planet! I recommend this album!!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2007
Virginia metalcore kings Lamb of God get personal on the blistering Sacrament, an 11-track onslaught of machine gun riffs and larynx-shredding vocals filtered through an immaculately mapped-out rhythm section that owes as much to progressive rock as it does traditional heavy metal. Producer Machine, who helped craft 2004's Ashes of the Wake into one of the best metal records of the year, has returned, tightening his wrench and experimenting on Randy Blythe's voice like a fever-mad scientist. Longtime fans will no doubt debate the virtues of Sacrament's commercial bullet, the scathing White Zombie-meets-Megadeth single "Redneck," but the rest of the album is as brutal as anything they've ever done. Melodic opener "Walk with Me in Hell" culls inspiration from Piece of Mind-era Iron Maiden, "Pathetic" wraps itself around a sinewy lead that sounds like a snake swallowing dinner, and "Blacken the Cursed Sun," easily one of the best metal songs of 2006, shows further evidence of the band's potential to become the American version of Opeth. If Sacrament suffers from anything, it's a pounding sense of sameness. They rarely stray from the "Drop D" tuning, resulting in a second half that tends to blur, shake, and sputter out a bit, but there's no denying Lamb of God's almost unnerving power to conjure wind from the tiniest of stereo speakers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2007
Sacrament is Lamb of Gods second major-label studio outing and it's a well needed development of the first. Starting with the sound of `Walk with Me in Hell' the album's production is flawless, even Chris Adlers performance behind the kit sounds better than ever. Randy Blythe has given his vocal chords more range on tracks `Pathetic' & `Blacken the Cursed Sun', and his lyrical content is more personally themed this time round, decidedly steering clear of his political opinions. Guitarists Mark Morton & Wille Adler showoff their skill & songwriting ability throughout and even their newfound melodic edge doesn't in anyway compromise the brutality of the bands overall product. The feel here is that they have concentrated on introductions and in `Descending' this is particularly noticeable. Any fans of previous albums Ashes of the Wake and As the Palaces will really appreciate this record and the bands evolution into a fine modern outfit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
To be honest with you, I accidentally stumbled across this album while searching on amazon at random. Listened to some of the preview tracks and thought I'd give it a go. Simply wow! I can't help but head bang along with some very attractive guitar and drum pieces. I just have to go careful not to injure my fellow passengers on the bus :), although it might knock some sense into people. Anyways if your into this kind of music you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sacrament is Lamb of God's fourth full length studio album and perhaps their best to date. The musicianship is of the highest standard; head and shoulders above many of their peers, their influences and their own earlier albums.
The album is chocked full of career highlights from the brooding opener `Walk with Me in Hell,' or the anthemic chant along `Blacken The Cursed Sun,' to furiously catchy single `Redneck,' nothing is ever short of amazing, the band have never sounded so good. The album is such a step up its really difficult to stop listening to it over and over again when you first hear it.
Everything about this album just clicks, a trend started with 2004's Ashes of the Wake. When its fast and heavy, its fast and heavy in just the right way. When its dark and brooding, its dark and brooding in just the right way and so on.
Even the production is amazing, while the Producer named Machine may be criticized for making Ashes of the Wake a little too safe or overproduced, nothing but compliments are deserved for the dark and very heavy sound on Sacrament.
Every band member ups their game on this album, better bass, greater variety, more guitar solos and unbelievable quality drumming. Chris Adler is a fantastic drummer and brings an energy to the music that would surely be missing without him, as well as being the business brains and motivational focus of the band he is musical backbone and a huge part of what makes any song sound like Lamb of God.
I can't recommend the Sacrament enough; There are no weak songs on this album, there are no performances that feel phoned in and there are no guitar solos that sound anything less than the best solo that could possibly work in any given song. If you have even a passing interest in Lamb of God you really need to check out this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
I quite like this album. LOG are one of the better bands in a strain of the genre
I find it diffucult to get into, where most of the bands come with:

Their long beards
Their tacky concepts
Their heavily lighted full-frontal facial photographs incorporating their thin whispy smiles
Their gratitude to their parents
Both parents!!!
And usually leave music just as ignorant as they found it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2007
I got this album a little after christmas 2006, and it hasn't been off of my playlist since. Every track has that Lamb Of God feel to it, yet each one sounds completely different. I would list some highlights, but honestly, they are all that good. I can just about guarantee if you already liked Lamb Of God, then you won't be hitting the "skip" button. Metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2006
The best Alabum I've listened to in ages and from one of the best bands on the planet. I would say it is a match for ashes of the wake. I've only listened to it all once but I got into straight away if you liked all the other albums then I can say !BUY IT NOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
only got into these when redneck was released. this album is great and grows on you. redneck is class. doesnt let up either, riffs on here make you want to go for your guitar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
I love this album it's one of my favourite LoG albums and perhaps up there as one of my all time favourites. I highly recommend it if you love your metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)